X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mandarin Hostel Budapest Reviews

Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30., Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1570 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I was very glad to stay there. The owner is great: very helpful, always ready to explain what I needed. The location is very good, there is a shopping mall nearby, and metro station and tram stop.


71%

great value for the money, not too far from the sites if you do not mind walking. very friendly but eclectic grouo of guests. fscilities a bit ratchet but usable.


83%

The staff were nice. A socket for each bed, big lockers, and great showers. I really like the common room with comfortable sofas, pool table, Foosball and board games. The kitchen seemed nice and well equipped, but I didn't use it. It's near the metro and trams, but is in a bit dodgy area of district 8. The room is small for a 6 bed dorm, and soundproof can be improved. Couldn't connect to WiFi 80% of the time, and had no connection in our room. The reception closes at 11pm.


69%

Basic hostel. Just a place to rest your head. Not too far nor too close to main attractions - expect a decent 25-30min walk. Security lockers are good a massive size so packs fit easily. Poor shower/bathroom facilities. Wifi very sporadic in the rooms. Very little atmosphere when we were there, but not sure if this is the norm. You can probably find similar accomodation for lower price in the city.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice hostel with pleasant staff. We have good time there. Next trip to Budapest we will definitely stay there again.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

No real atmosphere and it seemed to just be locals maybe living in he hostel? I'm not sure, but there wasn't another traveller in my room over he 3 days I was there.


100%

It is very good hostel, rooms were clean and common areas as well. Location was great and staff was very helpful and friendly. I spend there nice week. I can recommend that place some other travelers;-)

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The man who in charge to run the hostel is very capable and nice

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I enjoyed a pleasant stay. The good thing is they've a kitchen to cook and some decent indoor game facilities to chill out.


51%

Not like the photos, especially the rooms. We expected something more than those woods beds. Also, it says that they have coffee and tea, which they don't. The bathroom was poor in Cleanliness and the shower were really bad.


80%

I like to the Mandarin hostel .

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A nice, clean, comfortable hostel with friendly staff. Couldn't really fault it, and the price was excellent.


51%

They need be more kindly.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff barely speaks english. 2 km from city center 300 mt from metro. kitchen is Good. Atmosphere was not so Good Maybe because it was Winter if you are looking budget hostel Choose it ! :) but if money is not so important you can find better ones check out hostels in Astoria

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

No heating during the night and no extra sheets,the water was half hot and you have to keep your payement receipt till the end of your stay not to be bothered.But for the price, it-s really ok!The kitchen is wide and functionnal, the living room is great and well furnished, the rooms are wide, the wifi is working and the staff is nice!A good deal in the end!

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel was great, because I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm and it was only $6 per night. The location isn't fantastic, it takes a bit of time to walk to sights like the bridge and fishermans baptist, but there's a nice mall literally 10 seconds from the hostel. The bathrooms weren't great. There was really good security. For $6 a night this place is a steal though!


94%

compared with the one I lived, this is a very good one. the price is cheap, the living room is spacious, and they have a very good kitchen.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel with quite new furniture, clean and nice rooms. Beds are not so comfortable, but I stay there only one night so it wasnt problem for me. The kitchen is realy big and all staff is there so you can cook without doubts. :) Next to the hostel is shopping centre and also metro station is very close. Bathroom is OK, even is only one for girls and one for boys in all floor. But for this price it is very goood quality :)

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(38 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback