Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Manena Hostel

  • Vico alla Chiesa della Maddalena 9/1, Genoa, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 905 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 905 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Apr 2017
8.9

More than a hostel... Thanks

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
8.9

Great staff very friendly and helpful giving off a great atmosphere throughout. Nice communal area, great to talk to new people. Walking tour was fantastic done by Spyros!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.7

Lovely little hostel, super cute with a friendly atmosphere. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. They gave me great advice on things to do that helped me make the most of my short stay. Well located, clean, and offered activities like walking tours and bike rentals. Would definitely recommend this hostel and stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

I can't commend this hostel higher. The staff members made sure that we settled in well and were accustomed to the city by showing us a map, recommending cheap restaurants and offering us a free walking tour. The hostel is really quaint, so everyone is friendly and considerate. The wifi is free and so fast, and the (free) breakfast is much better than other hostels that I've stayed at, considering I was backpacking through France prior to reaching Genova. Truly is excellent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Best hostel ever!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
7.1

This hostel is very well located, in the middle of old town and close to museums, to the old port, etc. The staff is really kind as well, and the breakfast is worthy​. However the building is old and the facilities are not the best (thin mattress, few and small bathrooms). But still being a fair accommodation, probably I would book it again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review! We'll take your comment as an extra motivation to improve our facilities. Yes, we are a tiny hostel and that's what most of our guests like! :D Just let me add a little note about our building: of course it's "old": this hostel is located inside a former house of servant, used during the 17th, 18th and (probably) 19th century jointly with one of the glorious "Palazzi dei Rolli". Somehow you spent a night in a "old" piece of history... So we'll be waiting to see you next time in Genova! Best regards, Giulio Talamanca Manena Hostel Manager

8th Apr 2017
10.0

One of best hostels I've stayed, great location, super friendly staff, highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • monerick
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Mar 2017
10.0

Was a great place in the middle of the old city a small walk away from the port and station the co-owner was very nice and was very helpful with great recommendations the place was clean and had a very nice cosy atmosphere i would really like to come back some day

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We really appreciate your comment, thank you so much! Hope you'll have a longer stay next time! :) All the best, Giulio Talamanca Manena Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
8.9

I stayed for one night in the 12 bed shared dorm which was lovely. The breakfast was a nice spread covering everything that people could want. The staff were very informative, kind and welcoming, there was always someone around in case you ever needed anybody. I feel that it was a little expensive at £14ish per person for a night, but then the hostel is very clean and fully equipped. I am not sure if it is the best value for money for a couple travelling together.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
9.7

Great location, comfortable stay, clean, and helpful staff. Excellent walking tour by Spyros! Would recommend and would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.