Hostelworld.com

Manena Hostel

  • Vico alla Chiesa della Maddalena 9/1, Genoa, Italy
Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 863 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 863 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Hostel is in a really great location- just off of Via Garibaldi in Genova, within easy walking distance of most of the main attractions in the city. The staff here was incredibly helpful and welcoming; they offer a walking tour of the city and are quick to offer suggestions for things to do, places to eat, etc. Overall, the hostel was very clean, and the fact that breakfast is included is a bonus. Be aware that there is no age limit here; I shared a room with two middle-aged men during my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
10.0

Just stopped here for one night but I know it would've been a great place to stay longer! Very friendly staff, perfect location in Genoa and good facilities. Take the walking tour with Spiro; you'll be blown away with Genovese history!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Made Genova even better. They offer laundry service and towel rentals so no need to search for places in town. The guide they have, Spyro, has incredible knowledge and insight about the town, you will be blown away. Also he helps point out some great eating spots. Best hostel I've been to in Italy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks! Yes it's true, our walking tour is one of the best way to get through such a unique place as the historical center of Genova! All the best, Giulio Talamanca Manena Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jan 2017
8.3

Manena Hostel had a lovely vibe. The people who i stayed with were friendly and the staff were really helpful. Good value for money and the facilities were pretty clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Jan 2017
10.0

amazing experience, extremely friendly, helpfull and well informed stuff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tahliakite
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.1

really great! only stayed 2 nights but the beds were super comfortable and had hot water, great wifi connection, friendly staff and easy to talk to other guests. good time all round.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
10.0

Great atmosphere and the staff was fabulous. I'd definitely stay there again. One thing the hostel wasn't too full when I was there so I don't really know how it is when it's closer to capacity.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • juvanni_lazza
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 55 reviews
5th Dec 2016
10.0

Just perfect. Clean new and has all you need. The owners are very hospitable. I highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
8.0

A little weird that you can't lock the door to your room, but there are lockers you can stow your things. Can't even say it's a bad area of town because all of Genova is a bad area of town... but the place had a cozy feel and the staff are really nice!! The walking tour is especially good and I would HIGHLY recommend to everyone who stays there as a must.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your nice words and for staying at Manena Hostel! It's sad taht you didn't like Genova; I have to say there are only a few guests leaving the city with such a bad feeling, but of course it can happen and at least you enjoyed our hostel! :) We wish you all the best, Giulio Talamanca Manena Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Nov 2016
6.6

For any solo travellers planning to walk to this hostel from the bus/train stations, I'd recommend sticking to main roads because the hostel is very close to the red light district of Genova.Need a key in order to lock lockers.Hostel staff were very helpful, good restaurant recommendations. Curtains on the bunks are nice and kitchen is full with everything you'd need. I would HIGHLY recommend the free walking tour with Spiro, he was EXCELLENT and really changed my outlook on the city of Genova.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Honestly your review comment and rating don't look like you had a really "positive" outlook on Genova. It seems that the main problem was the so called "red light district" which doesn't exist. Like many other historical centers there are some not so nice streets, that's why we run the walking tour that you liked so much... Thanks anyway for staying at our hostel. Best regards, Giulio Talamanca Manena Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.