Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Manena Hostel

  • Vico alla Chiesa della Maddalena 9/1, Genoa, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1042 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1042 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
8.3

Amazing staff, small hostal but perfect to have the real atmosphere of a hostal, interact with international people and spend few nights there, the breakfast is included and I shared a room with other 10 people but they were all nice people and I slept very well that night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Aug 2017
6.9

Not bad, the room was a little hot but good for a night. Breakfast is free so can't complain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Aug 2017
7.1

Check in was great & informative for the 1 night we stayed there. Breakfast included. Free walking tour. made sure there was A/C before booking, we got to our room in the middle of the heat wave and THERE WAS NO A/C!!!!! It was off!!! On the hottest nights all summer! WHY Only one room key to the room? It was just always in the door and anyone could come in. Strange bathrooms, the showers shared the floor and made a mess. Basically just sweat the whole time we were there in our cramped room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • svjetlanovicmilos7312
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.9

Recommended!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
9.1

The hostel is really good. First of all all the staff members are really educated and kind. The hostel might be a little small but its facilities are enough and works fine. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and good. The only thing to mention is that they obly kept the AC on during the day... the nights were really hot and would have been nice to have the AC on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
10.0

It was great, a little hot but you can blame a heat wave for that one. Great informative walking tour I would highly recommend. Staff was friendly with great tips. Definitely would go to genoa again and stay there again. Great city great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
10.0

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. I loved the walking tour with Spyros, it was probably the highlight of the trip, he taught us so much about the city. The facilities here were great, I appreciated the lockers, the kitchen, the bathrooms, internet etc. The hostel has a really great vibe and I'd be happy to stay there again and I'd recommend it to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Jul 2017
9.4

Brilliant location in the historic town. Great facilities, lots of plugs, a light for each bed and curtains for bottom bunks (not too though). Full kitchen with hobs to cook your own food and free breakfast. The walking tour with the group was fantastic. The guy was very passionate and it was very interesting all the way round. He gave lots of tips and I would defo recommend his tours to anyone going!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Jul 2017
6.6

The hostel was a bit shabby and small although really good location right in the centre of the old town. Staff were really helpful with giving info on where to go and what to do. They had to turn off the air con at 11pm every night which made the room really stuffy and warm as it was quite small for 8 people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We're glad that you appreciated our friendly staff, unfortunately defining our hostel "shabby" sounds pretty offensive for all of us. We know this kind of little hostel is not for everyone - next time read the reviews and description before you book your next hostel, it'll be better for both parts! - but this does not give you the right to be unrespectful. Words matter. The restriction of using the A.C. is due to our neighbourhood policy, not our choice, sorry. Enjoy the rest of your trip, Giulio Talamanca Manena Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jul 2017
9.7

The hostel was wonderful, fantastic location in the heart of the city. Both train stations are approximately 15-20 minutes away on either side though. The walking tour with Spyros is an absolute must, you'll try some scrumptious local treats, find out the best places to go, and learn a ton about the history of Genova and Italy! One of our favourite hostels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.