Hostelworld.com

Manga Hostel Lapa – Rio

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Manga Hostel Lapa – Rio Located at Rua do Lavradio 186, Lapa, RJ, , Rio de Janeiro.
Manga Hostel Lapa – Rio
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20230-070 Rua do Lavradio 186, Lapa, RJ
84% 190
-22.9124679 -43.1821059
Manga Hostel Lapa – Rio
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.1

No wifi in bedroom but other than that was a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
9th Jun 2016
9.7

My 2nd time in this hostel. This is the place to stay if you've already stayed in the beach area (either Copacabana, Ipanema or Barra) and want to visit the more cultural spots of the city. It's considerably cheaper than Ipanema and it's right in the middle bar scene in Lapa. Breakfast was a bit underwhelming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st May 2016
7.7

Great location in the middle of Lapa, only a few meters walk from where all the action is on weekend nights. I loved that the lockers in the rooms were big enough to store my whole bag. Breakfast was great and staff really friendly. I thought the showers were quite dirty and didn't have any hot water. But all in all I would recommend to stay here, especially if you're planning to party in Lapa while you're in Rio.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th May 2016
8.6

Only stayed the one night but it was a cool hostel. Right in the mix of the street night life of a Friday and only 10 min walk to the steps

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
8.3

Nice location in the nightlife district. The bed was comfortable and the room had aircon. The hostel was pretty quiet when I was there - not sure what it is like in busier periods.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2016
8.0

Fantastic location right next to all the bars/clubs in lapa. 20/30min bus ride to copacabana. Really cool decor and cleanish rooms. Not a particularly social hostel but perhaps that was just our experience of it. Staff are helpful but don't speak English that well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2016
8.3

Great location in a not-so-touristy part of town with lots of night life!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2016
9.1

- Washing facilities for clothes would have been useful - the staff are great! all friendly, enthusiastic and keen to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2016
10.0

Had an amazing time at Manga Hostel! Everything was perfect, definitely I would stay there again. The hostel has a great atmosphere, the staff is very very helpful, and is very well located (close to the best of Rio's nightlife). Also the beds are really good hahaha Thanks, Manga!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2016
5.4

The hostel is in a good location and the staff is very helpful except that they didn't have a map to give when i asked for another one cuz the 1st one got wet in the rain. The loud compressors of AC outside all the windows will not u sleep. NO wifi in the room or the open area or anywhere except the near the reception downstairs. The breakfast was not hygenic at all. Not an environment to meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.