Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mango Chill

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Jun 2017
5.4

We stayed in the largest dorm. There didn't appear to be any security whatsoever. At the far end of the room, I think staff had segregated an area for themselves. The room smelt damp, and there was no light switch inside the room, it was in the bar area, which was annoying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2017
5.1

Unexpectedly average stay. The Location is good as it is a short walk from the Bus Terminal although you are unable to check in until 4 pm??. Security is pretty much non existent, there is no gate or closed front door, no lock on the room we were in and as check is quite late your bags are left in the common room as there is no baggage storage. Background music is good to have although at MC it was turned up way to loud and played constantly (8am-2am) Not a party Hostel but also Not Chill.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
8.9

It's a nice hostel, with a perfect location (1 block away from the bus station). Staff is really nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2017
9.4

Loved the hostel - great location, staff were really friendly and the facilities were amazing - 2 different bars and really cool pool area. Loved playing with the hostel pet kittens! Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bonniehumphrey2445
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
8.9

Chill, beautiful hostel with trees and hammocks around, 5 minute walk to Ipanema beach, bus stops, main streets for food etc. Staff are helpful and there's lots of really good tours on offer in the lobby. Good party balance, has a bar and social areas but quiet by 10 pm so you can sleep easily. Was a bit quiet when we stayed but that was low season. Good wifi. Clean. Comfy beds and linen. Really accessible kitchen with a decent stove top. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
3.1

Filthy party hostel. Showed up they lost our reservation and put us in a random room. Didn't apologize. Then went full on night club at 1 am. When we asked them to turn it down, they yelled and cursed at us. Literally couldn't pay me to stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
2.6

Really not great. We stayed in a much nicer hostel called Tetris on the Brazilian side of the falls. It cost the same amount and we got a really nice free breakfast there (this hostel doesn't have breakfast) and it was a lot cleaner!! There was dead cockroaches and stray cats everywhere that would come in to the room. The room was meant to sleep 12 but there was actually 16 beds - the other 4 were seperated by a curtain (this was supposed to be another room?!?) The pool was filthy also!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
3.7

My friend got those dreadful bed critters here which is to be expected while traveling in South America. I was appalled by how the staff treated her though. They didn't offer her a free night or free laundry services, and they barely cleaned her bed after she switched rooms. When she confronted the staff about this, they threatened to call the police. Hostile atmosphere and unclean. Avoid!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
8.0

Great location, one block away from the bus terminal. The staff is very nice and fun. They organize daily dinners if enough people join, which an awesome way to meet fellow travelers! Swimming pool is cool but isn't clean, so count on taking a shower after that. The hostel looks run down, many things were broken, and one of the bathrooms did stink very badly. Bearable for a short stay. The 4 beds bedroom had AC which was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Mar 2017
8.0

Great location, close to the main bus terminals to the falls on both sides. They were helpful about giving tips about visiting the falls. We stayed 4 nights in the 5 bed female dorm. The hostel asado night with dessert & wine or beer- was great way to meet other guests. It was 250ARS. Also bar out the back which was fun(away from rooms). Pool was bit dirty. Downside was no kitchen facilties or breakfast. There's a bakery down the road open from0600-0000 for breakfast/lunch for falls.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.