Hostelworld.com

Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 844 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 844 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel, rooms weren't cramped, kitchen has everything you need, wasn't too much atmosphere but depends on the guests there. Staff really helpful, would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Mango tree is very nice hostel, the location is great just one block from the Ipanema beach close to the metro busses stops almost in front of the building, by the way a beautiful building from the '40 with beutiful authentic wooden floor of original tiles, european we love those things. High selings spacious rooms and a lots of bathrooms. And the best beds in South America: solid and big. The place is running with profetionals stuff,management even the cleaners are very dedicated workers.Great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Perfectly located a street away from Ipanema beach, it has a cosy atmosphere. The 6-bed dorm was quite small with two 3-storey bunkbeds but all else was good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
9.4

Excellent hostel just 1 block away from Ipanema beach and 5 min walk to the subway, best location I could have asked for. Staff was very friendly and assisted with all my questions about places to see and how to get there. Kitchen closes at 10pm which is quite early but they were flexible when we were using it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

The place has a great vibe i made lots of friends there and we made unforgettable memories. Henry who works there is a great guy helping out with everything and makes you feel like a friend. And the bartender is a surfer and a cool dude. The breakfast is awesome and comparable to a hotel. The only minus is that i stayed there for 5 nights and asked for clean bedsheets but there was no more and i didnt get it the day after as promised. And after 11 pm we cant make noise bcs of the neighbours

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.6

Good breakfast. No recycling even they did have bins for different rubbish.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
4.9

Actually I really didn't like staying at this hostel. From the moment I arrived It felt like I was there to make the owners rich, not to be welcomed in a place where they love to host people. The rooms are no more than 3-high bunk beds and lockers, in the weekends the prices double and if you ask for a discount because you're staying quite a lot of days the answer is no. When the whole city was out of water, the managers let the staff fix everything, they didn't show their faces.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for your visit and review. The prices change automatically in our system according to availability just like in airlines, so you need to book in advance to get the best price, we cannot give discounts in the last minute for the last beds. Discounts are given automatically when availability is high, so the sooner you book the best rate you get. Also weekends in January are the highest season of the year, but you managed to find a very cheap bed for the 2nd and 3rd of January, when everywhere else in the area was 3x the price. Our prices are very fair due if you know the property costs of being 1 block from Ipanema beach in the best location in Rio. Neither us or the staff could fix a water problem in the whole city as you said it yourself, sorry. Safe travels! Mango Tree staff

18th Dec 2016
7.7

Friendly hostel in an excellent situation, covenient for Ipanema and Copacabana beaches. My only disappointmnt was the bicycles they had for hire were in such a poor condition.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review. We are sorry if your bike wasn't in the best condition, but the service is provided by another company that leaves the bikes in the hostel. We will get in touch with them to do a better maintenance. Safe travels! Mango Tree staff

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Nov 2016
7.7

one of the best located hostels in rio/ipanema, especially for beach-lovers!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review! We love our location as well, come back for some more beach fun! Safe travels, Mango Tree staff

8th Oct 2016
9.1

Very well located in Ipanema. Close to the beach and many bars and restaurants. Close to the subway (Line 4 - Nossa Seniora de la Paz station). Enough space in the bed dorm I had. Good size locker and padlock provided.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and reviewing the hostel! Hope to see you back someday! Safe travels, Mango Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.