Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 906 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 906 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • fennsf9048
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Sep 2017
7.7

Room was lovely & the location is fantastic, just one block back from the beach, 50m from a bus stop, lots of shops & bars close by too but the hostel is quiet after 10, so sleep came easily. Kitchen is the problem. Not open until 11.00 unless you buy your breakfast and there is not enough equipment for a hostel of this size. No mugs at all, so drank tea out of a jam jar! Comedy cutlery, rubbish pans, sink blocked and dirty fridge. Easily fixed, but management don't seem to care! Beware beer tax

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
6.9

Great location and extremely safe, But very expensive for what we got. Kitchen was very dirty and didn't seem to be cleaned often. Similar to the toilets. We had to ask 5 times for some loo roll and still it was not replaced for a whole day. Needs a little updating. Rooms are very basic as very difficult to swing into the top bed. No air con.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2017
8.6

Great hostel very close to the beach,transportation and some bars around the corner.Very friendly and helpful! staff. Hostel is very clean and staff accommodating.Great place to meet others if your are traveling solo. Beware if you get the private room just over the bar. The staff turn off the music at 10pm and ask people to quiet down, but there was a large group that stayed hanging out after the bartender went home. Waited a few times to use shared bathrooms.Only 3 available for many people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2017
9.4

Best Hostel in Rio De Janeiro Perfect location. Nice staff. Cool atmosphere. Not so crowded. So if you want to chill, tou can and if you want to share good moments with other travelers, you also can. Nice bikes for trips. Good bathrooms. TOTALLY RECOMMENDED

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2017
9.4

Excellent location (Ipanema is one block away), really big hostel, friendly staff, and I met really cool travellers here! Everything was very clean as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
10.0

Amazing location, breakfast and staff. Great advice on how to get around. Thanks for recommending the big dude tour - it was epic!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Aug 2017
10.0

Best hostel we stayed in over the 6 months we travelled. Very professional staff team. Great location and kitchen facilities. I can't tell you about how perfect this hostel was. Communication friendly spaces, the hostel manages to attract and retain a good quality of customers as people are happy to be there it just makes the atmosphere lovely. Travelled as a single mum with 3 kids and found a great balance between safety and socialization. Loved the hostel. Don't usually write review

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Aug 2017
8.0

Good communal area to chat away to people. Clean rooms but the beds were very close together. Friendly, helpful staff. Would recommend this hostel. We ennoyed our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
9.7

Perfect hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
8.6

Great hostel! Only one block away from the beach. Bars and the subway are really close, Good staff and nice people staying at the hostel. We only had problems with our shower, we had to take cold baths on the first day, but they fix it right away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×