Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2017
6.6

Thought breakfast was included when I booked but was told it wasn't. Fine but then I was told I couldn't use the kitchen until 11.30am everyday. So we're forced into paying for a 15R breakfast (doesn't include eggs etc) or go hungry until almost lunch time. People come here because they're travellers on a budget so I think it's a disgrace. There wasn't much atmosphere in the hostel and we had to move inside from 10pm. The bar closed at 9pm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your visit and review. We are glad you extended your stay, our dormitory prices are very economic and the breakfast is included for the deluxe privates. You are able to use the kitchen in the morning no problem, it's just busy. Also there are other options in Ipanema but ours is for sure the best value for the money in such a prime location. You came when we had a big group but we usually have a very cozy atmosphere. Safe travels! Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema Staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.7

I booked 3 nights here with a friend in a private room. We originally booked a twin room but upon arrival found that there was an issue with the booking due to hostel world. However, the manager at reception was great and apologised even though it wasn't their fault or ours and put us in an upgraded room. Travelling with a friend this place is great but I didn't try the shared rooms. It is clean, has a great location and the staff are all so friendly and helpful. Thanks for the stay Mango!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review. We are glad you had a good time we want the best satisfaction and for our guests to have a great experience. Safe travels! Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema Staff

  • meggie2231066
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.7

A little gem in ipanema, so close to the beach. Lovely old building, spacious. Great staff who help you with info etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review. We are glad you had a nice time and enjoyed our little beach colonial house gem 1 block from the beach. Hope to see you back anytime soon! Safe travels, Mango tree staff.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
5.7

No dedicated locked luggage storage. Last minute, because we kept on insisting, the staff offered us that we could store our bags in a weird locked room. Location is great. Very close to Ipanema beach. Some of the staff is very helpful others not so much. The kitchen is not very clean. As an example the sponge that is used to clean all the dishes and everything seemed months old and very disgusting. Our AC was dripping a lot of water all over the floor, it was replaced after a couple of days.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review. We do not have a locked luggage storage, but we have a space under the stairs free of charge with small lockers for the valuables. We are going to renovate the kitchen soon (it was ok for the chef's from the Norwegian Olympic team though) but although it looks a little old we guarantee it is cleaned twice daily, and we substitute the sponge weekly, sorry if we left the old sponge there as well, it should have been thrown out. During weekends it is hard to get A/C maintenance, but we made it happen asap. Safe travels! Mango Tree staff

  • devonseanferguson
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Mar 2017
5.7

The staff was the dealbreaker. Amanda is cool and helpful but the other staff members gave no greeting to me while I walked by, glued to the computer screen. No customer service or feeling of hospitality. I booked the room for 4 nights and ended up leaving early regardless of paying because I was ready to leave.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and we are sorry for your experience, but some of our staff that is not as motivated will be substituted. We hope to see you back anytime soon and we assure you will have a totally different experience. Our management is there and open for conversation in case you have that feeling, please come talk to us, we will do our best to improve it. Safe travels, Mango tree staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Mar 2017
7.4

Pretty average hostel with good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review. We are in the best location in Rio, 50 meters from the bar where Girl from Ipanema was composed! Our small hostel is going through upgrades as it has just recently changed management, so hope to see you back anytime soon to check out our improvements! Safe travels, Mango tree staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

I stayed in a private room w shared bathroom for 6 nights during Carnaval 2017. The location was great and the new owner was friendly and accomodating. The hostel itself was awesome- good atmosphere, plenty of common space, friendly staff and perfect location! The room itself could be made a lot better with some simple improvements; some more storage/shelves, a mirror (for when bathrooms are full), just little touches!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review, we are glad you had a good carnival at our hostel. Thanks for the ideas, we will start working on this little improvements. Safe travels, Mango tree staff

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2017
4.9

dirty, bad smell, not enough space, felt not confortable in the hostel because of too many strange people

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit. We are sorry you had that feeling, but we clean every room everyday. Next time please report to the reception if you are not comfortable so that they can do something about it. We had a group of samba dancers the period you were in the hostel, so perhaps they were more closed for socializing. Safe travels! Mango Tree staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel, rooms weren't cramped, kitchen has everything you need, wasn't too much atmosphere but depends on the guests there. Staff really helpful, would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review. During the week it is usually calmer than on weekends, but in our brilliant location you are walking distance to the best bars in Ipanema, so many guests don't hang out in the hostel as much due to so many great options nearby. Safe travels, Mango tree staff

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Mango tree is very nice hostel, the location is great just one block from the Ipanema beach close to the metro busses stops almost in front of the building, by the way a beautiful building from the '40 with beutiful authentic wooden floor of original tiles, european we love those things. High selings spacious rooms and a lots of bathrooms. And the best beds in South America: solid and big. The place is running with profetionals stuff,management even the cleaners are very dedicated workers.Great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review! We hope to see you back anytime soon for more fun! Safe travels, Mango tree staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.