Hostelworld.com

Manly Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 139 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 139 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.5
Manly Backpackers Located at 24-28 Raglan Street, Manly, Sydney.
Manly Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2095 24-28 Raglan Street, Manly
72% 139
-33.7954472 151.2853431
Manly Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
2.9

The only good thing was the front desk and the other backpackers. The hostel was dirty, The Rooms dirty, the bathrooms were filthy dirty and old. Terrible facility!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
3.4

On arrival to manly backpackers we were told although we had booked 4 beds in a 6 bedroom dorm we were going to split. We were then given bedding to make our own bed. The room was covered in sand and boiling hot. The curtains also did not cover the windows so we were often woken by headlights or by the construction site. Staff were rude and unhelpful. This is the most expensive hostel we stayed in and by far the worse. Save your money and sleep on the beach (they have better showers too).

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • pricecate3631
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Feb 2016
8.6

Location is a huge draw for manly backpackers! Big party hostel, super easy to meet people and isn't a quiet hostel. One drawback is it doesn't seem clean. Staff is mostly super helpful and nice, especially Andre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Feb 2016
8.9

Had a great time here! The staff were one of the nicest we've met up the east coast, the hostel had a great atmosphere- friendly people, good stereo system, pool table, basement cinema room, computer room, spacious kitchen (could have done with more cutlery, plates, bowls, mugs etc. but when I asked at reception for a mug it was provided with ease), stayed here on bolognaise night which was great and $3 for a more than decent helping!), body boards and snorkels provided for free hire. Recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2016
6.6

Sartre was right. Hell IS other people. This is nowhere demonstrated as well as at Manly Backpackers, where poor behavior by other guests heavily spoils what otherwise might have been an accommodation paradise. Long stayers scatter their rubbish around the place, making it a minefield to find one's bed in the night; children in their early 20s show the poorness of their upbringing by failing to clean up after themselves or wash their dishes. Such a pity for an otherwise inspired hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2016
7.7

There was 2 of us and we got told on arrival that we wouldn't be in the same room until we said that we weren't happy with that as we booked together but they did fix the situation and got us in the same room. We were allowed to keep our car in the car park for a couple of hours after we checked out which was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2015
8.9

The manager was just outstanding. We had a bad first night because of a very disrespectful girl in our room and also some heavy roadwork outside. None of these things were the hostels fault but still the manager moved us to a private room and made us get our 2 nights for free. Just awesome service! Thanks for giving us a great stay in manly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2015
6.9

It would have been good to have lockers in the room and also extra charging space for our devices.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.