Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Manor House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3
Manor House Backpackers Located at 28 Manor Place, Dunedin, , Dunedin.
Manor House Backpackers
New Zealand
Dunedin Otago 9016 28 Manor Place, Dunedin,
83% 339
-45.8824802 170.4979848
Manor House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th May 2016
7.7

Plenty of space, no lockers/ not great security. The hostel is a little far from CBD. Nice bathrooms/well stocked Kitchens, about 15 min walk to a grocery store.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great to get your feedback - we do offer a secure location for any valuables in the office safe. Thanks so much for your positive comments - much appreciated.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd May 2016
5.4

The bathrooms and kitchen were so dirty and grubby. No one paid attention to the "wash your own dishes" sign nor did the staff push for that. The garbage bins were always overflowing and their were piles of dishes all the time. The front desk woman who was there during the day was amazing but the guy in the evenings was just there to party. The rooms were freezing on arrival as was the bathroom and I realize that this is an old house but come on! The internet was constantly dropping out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am so sorry that things were not up to standard during your stay. It is an ongoing battle to get people to do the dishes and I will have to get the other staff trying harder to make this happen. The bathrooms and kitchens are cleaned thoroughly every day. We have heaters in every room and try to keep the house as warm as we can - but it's winter!! Thanks so much for your comments - I will discuss this with the staff and make the necessary improvements.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.4

Super good value for money. Fast wifi and top bunker beds have places to put special belonging, really useful. Not exactly in the center of town, but is walkable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are not in the centre of town we do have other benefits, it's quiet, great street parking, buses to everywhere pass on Princess Street, free taxi service if you are coming to stay for more than 2 nights (from the intercity bus terminal) Enjoy the rest of your trip - Carolyn

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
6.9

We were two 26 year old girls and felt old here! Not particularly clean in the kitchen and the beds had plastic on them - uncomfortable. It was a basic hostel which you couldn't complain much about and very cheap, think we were looking for something a little nicer though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.6

A good place to spend a night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review - enjoy your travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2016
9.4

I had a lovely, if brief, stay at Manor House. A quiet, out of the way backpackers, with a homely vibe. I love to explore but I equally love to come back to somewhere chilled out where you can go through the day and sort out tomorrow without having 'party vibes' thrown in your face... Manor House was perfect for me!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What a fantastic review - thanks so much. I think it feels like home too. We hope to see you back another time

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Apr 2016
9.1

Can't fault this place, lovely homely house, cool vibrant but only thing that was a shame is that there wasn't a lot of showers for the amount of people who were in the outter house. But, the place felt too much like home to care!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Some awesome comments - thanks so much. We do have another shower block in Manor House for everyone to use - we do plan to upgrade the bathroom facilities in Tonkinson House over the winter. I'm so glad you felt at home here!

24th Feb 2016
9.7

Clean and personable staff! Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Fantastic review - thanks so much - glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us

24th Feb 2016
7.1

big spacious dorm. not enough kitchen space or bathroom facilities for the amount of guests. helpful and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review - feedback is always appreciated. Don't forget we have more kitchen and bathroom facilities over in Manor House for all guests to use

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
8.6

Nice place, tidy, good beds, all you need if you want to stay a little longer than a few nights. Its a place youd stay at. Kitchen has good equipment. Enough space. Nice tv room with comfy chairs. Staff is nice and wants you to enjoy your stay, they are kind and try to help at all time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for the fantastic review - much appreciated. Enjoy the rest of your travels

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.