Hostelworld.com

Manor House Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
8.0

Lovely comfortable single beds (not bunks). Very helpful staff. It was really good to have computers for guests' use; not everyone has their own device with them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the great review - I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.0

Good location and staff were really friendly. Could do with more toilets /showers with the amount of beds they have and also there are no locker or lock on the dorms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Jan 2017
6.9

The hostel was nice enough, beds comfy and clean enough, but wasn't a fan of the fact that none of the doors had their own locks, the only security is a keypad on the main front door which is only locked at night. But that was the only main issue, bit out of town but not a crazy walk in to the centre. WiFi wasn't great but is free.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us - I'm glad you liked the Hostel and our location. We are only a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and the pluses are it's nice and quiet and we have free parking. We offer a lock service for any valuables in the office and our private rooms do have key locks.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Jan 2017
4.3

Had a great stay here. This hostel has a great home vibe with many kitchens and the rooms were quite spacious. The kitchen lacked a lot of the basics, and the rooms don't lock. Luckily it's a safe neighbourhood and we had great roommates so it didn't bother us. We forgot a jacket in our room after checking out and the staff was nice enough to ship it to us. Overall a great stay and would stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Well thanks very much for the very positive comments, it seems that you loved your stay and had great customer service I did go out of my way to find your jacket and post it to you.

  • kiwijax
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.7

Good location, clean and comfortable but I think the staff are what seals the deal. Super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the fantastic review it is very much appreciated - we try hard!! Hope to see you back soon

4th Jan 2017
8.9

Beautiful old houses! Enjoyed staying in the "Love Shack", it was removed from any noise from the main building and easy to get a good nights sleep. Internet wasn't reliable... We weren't able to connect at any point in our stay. Room was a bit cold when we got there, but plugging in the heater warmed it up nicely. Kitchen was spacious and had everything that we needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
7.4

In order to access the hostel you just need one security code which accesses all buildings. The rooms do not have locks on them so anyone who knows the one code can enter. I would be concerned about this if I was staying for longer than just one night. Other than that the hostel was great, tidy, nice staff and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for the nice review - we do have locks on all our private rooms but the very honest nature of backpackers means we very seldom ever have a problem with our security.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Dec 2016
5.1

The hostel was in a great location and the staff were super helpful. Our room was comfy and spacious. Unfortunately the communal facilities were dreadful. Nowhere near enough bathrooms and showers - had to wait over an hour to go to the toilet at one point (all in our building and the annexe were full). Kitchen was in a terrible state - old and dirty - and other travellers seemed to have entirely missed the 'clean after use' memo. Our nearest kitchen stank of pot the entire time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We have plans to renovate our bathrooms over winter. We are glad you found the room comfy and spacious. we clean the kitchens daily but cant check every guest has done their dishes. we hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip around new Zealand and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Dec 2016
9.4

Had a great stay, the staff were really friendly and our room was nice. Easy walk into town only 20 minutes to the centre and isite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the wonderful review - I'm so glad you loved your stay with us. Safe travels and Merry Xmas

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.7

Amazing, like home, the atmosphere is the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.