Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Manor House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
Manor House Backpackers Located at 28 Manor Place, Dunedin, , Dunedin.
Manor House Backpackers
New Zealand
Dunedin Otago 9016 28 Manor Place, Dunedin,
79% 386
-45.8824802 170.4979848
Manor House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kiwijax
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.7

Good location, clean and comfortable but I think the staff are what seals the deal. Super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the fantastic review it is very much appreciated - we try hard!! Hope to see you back soon

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
7.4

In order to access the hostel you just need one security code which accesses all buildings. The rooms do not have locks on them so anyone who knows the one code can enter. I would be concerned about this if I was staying for longer than just one night. Other than that the hostel was great, tidy, nice staff and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for the nice review - we do have locks on all our private rooms but the very honest nature of backpackers means we very seldom ever have a problem with our security.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Dec 2016
5.1

The hostel was in a great location and the staff were super helpful. Our room was comfy and spacious. Unfortunately the communal facilities were dreadful. Nowhere near enough bathrooms and showers - had to wait over an hour to go to the toilet at one point (all in our building and the annexe were full). Kitchen was in a terrible state - old and dirty - and other travellers seemed to have entirely missed the 'clean after use' memo. Our nearest kitchen stank of pot the entire time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We have plans to renovate our bathrooms over winter. We are glad you found the room comfy and spacious. we clean the kitchens daily but cant check every guest has done their dishes. we hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip around new Zealand and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Dec 2016
9.4

Had a great stay, the staff were really friendly and our room was nice. Easy walk into town only 20 minutes to the centre and isite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the wonderful review - I'm so glad you loved your stay with us. Safe travels and Merry Xmas

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.7

Amazing, like home, the atmosphere is the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Dec 2016
7.7

Free parking was what drew us to this hostel as we drove down from Queenstown, which was brilliant however the hostel felt a little dated and didn't have a very good atmosphere. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable so overall the stay was positive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review the Hostel and I'm pleased your overall stay was positive. The two houses here at Manor Place are almost 100 years old and we think the houses are beautiful (but yes dated due to their age) and usually our guests rave about the homely feel and the friendly atmosphere. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

  • AndyMills94
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
7.1

Pretty easy going hostel, old school feeling rooms though! A little walk from town, not too far to go.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel! Didn't exept it to be such a great hostel for this prize. Such a nice beautiful hostel with really nice and helpfull stuff. Love staying there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
7.1

Basic clean rooms, however not enough space in the kitchen. Bathroom, shower room and bedrooms were a bit cold. Wi-fi reception not so good.. Location is quite ok, close to the otago peninsula.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
3.7

I'm not sure why this hostel received a good rating for cleanliness. It was like a frat house that hadn't been cleaned for years. Dust bunnies everywhere, weird filminess on all the surfaces. Showers/bathrooms were too gross to even look at. We were relieved to leave and take showers at our next hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.