Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Manor House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
Manor House Backpackers Located at 28 Manor Place, Dunedin, , Dunedin.
Manor House Backpackers
New Zealand
Dunedin Otago 9016 28 Manor Place, Dunedin,
82% 346
-45.8824802 170.4979848
Manor House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.6

Staf has been awesome, helpful all the time, prices are good bargain and beds were comfy. Definitelly would recommand !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What a fantastic review - thanks so much I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Good to hear you will recommend us to your friends. Safe travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
7th Aug 2016
7.4

Nice hostel good kitchen facilities and staff very friendly. Super comfy beds and only a 10 minute walk to town. Only thing is lots of long term people there in their tight nit groups so not the most sociable place but wasn't really a problem as we were in a group of people anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for your very positive comments - hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around NZ

7th Aug 2016
9.1

Price wise this was the cheapest hostel I stayed in in New Zealand but quality wise this was up there with the best with completely free and fast wifi and every general facility I could want. Location is also quite good with the octagon a mere five or ten minutes walk away but the best thing about the place is just the lovely homely atmosphere created by this beautiful old building and the people who run the place with a constant smile on their faces!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for this fantastic review - this sort of feedback makes all our efforts worthwhile! Much appreciated

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2016
6.9

Arrived mid afternoon for a 2 night stay, staff were very friendly and willing to provide information about nearby amenities and city sights. The room was quite small and a bit run down, beds didn't have bed frames, sheets/pillows were clean. Washroom was ok, showers were clean but hot water not consistent. Overall I think this is a middle of the road hostel, ok value for money but not the best place around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review - glad to hear that everything was clean and the staff were friendly & helpful.

21st Jul 2016
9.4

Awesome place, has a lot of character!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks for the fantastic review - we love the character of Manor House Backpackers as well and we are glad you appreciated that - save travels

28th May 2016
7.7

Plenty of space, no lockers/ not great security. The hostel is a little far from CBD. Nice bathrooms/well stocked Kitchens, about 15 min walk to a grocery store.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great to get your feedback - we do offer a secure location for any valuables in the office safe. Thanks so much for your positive comments - much appreciated.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd May 2016
5.4

The bathrooms and kitchen were so dirty and grubby. No one paid attention to the "wash your own dishes" sign nor did the staff push for that. The garbage bins were always overflowing and their were piles of dishes all the time. The front desk woman who was there during the day was amazing but the guy in the evenings was just there to party. The rooms were freezing on arrival as was the bathroom and I realize that this is an old house but come on! The internet was constantly dropping out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am so sorry that things were not up to standard during your stay. It is an ongoing battle to get people to do the dishes and I will have to get the other staff trying harder to make this happen. The bathrooms and kitchens are cleaned thoroughly every day. We have heaters in every room and try to keep the house as warm as we can - but it's winter!! Thanks so much for your comments - I will discuss this with the staff and make the necessary improvements.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.4

Super good value for money. Fast wifi and top bunker beds have places to put special belonging, really useful. Not exactly in the center of town, but is walkable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are not in the centre of town we do have other benefits, it's quiet, great street parking, buses to everywhere pass on Princess Street, free taxi service if you are coming to stay for more than 2 nights (from the intercity bus terminal) Enjoy the rest of your trip - Carolyn

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
6.9

We were two 26 year old girls and felt old here! Not particularly clean in the kitchen and the beds had plastic on them - uncomfortable. It was a basic hostel which you couldn't complain much about and very cheap, think we were looking for something a little nicer though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.6

A good place to spend a night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review - enjoy your travels

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.