Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Manor House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Mar 2017
5.7

seemed nice at first - two big old manor houses with some nice sitting areas. But that there are only five toilets and a few showers for all the people staying there - maybe 40 people in the big house and 10 in the small one, plus another 6 camped out on the lawn. There are only two lounge areas for all those people, which were mostly taken over by big groups of drunk teenagers all three nights we stayed. The kitchen, toilet, etc were wrecked in the am. Staff cleaned up, but felt too crowded..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Maybe it was a weekend when the local rugby team the Highlanders were playing - we do have groups that stay for the rugby. We do have bathroom, lounge and kitchen facilities in both of our houses which are cleaned and checked in the morning and in the evening.

  • emmawatts
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.4

Nice place, cosy rooms, staff very helpful! I think people will have mentioned it before has only two toilets (old house!) but that never seemed to be a problem for while I was there :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Mar 2017
9.7

Lovely little hostel! Would recommend. Lots of charm and character. Good location- could walk to the octagon where all the bars/restaurants were. We also hired the bikes available in the hostel for $10 to have a cycle around the town (lots of cool Art Deco architecture and nice churches) and loved it! A very nice option. There weren't lockers available to secure your belongings but the hostel felt very safe. The staff were friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere with lovely people. Great value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the fantastic review - it is so wonderful to have positive comments about the Hostel and is much appreciated. We do try hard!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
6.3

Staff lovely, but the hostel we stayed in (second building) was filthy. Kitchens were tiny and very dirty. Seems like the place is in urgent need of a refurbishment and deep clean! Showers were good but wifi was dodgy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The showers are being updated in the winter months and we clean bathrooms and kitchens daily - it is very hard to monitor people keeping the kitchen tidy but the night managers check the facilities at night as well. Our wifi had an update at the weekend as well.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
27th Feb 2017
6.9

No lockers or lock on dorm rooms, also 1 code on the entrance that clearly hasn't been updated for ages. Bit far from the centre so having a car helps. Ok showers but could do with more. Comfy beds and really nice communal area. Decent kitchen but gets very busy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
8.0

Lovely comfortable single beds (not bunks). Very helpful staff. It was really good to have computers for guests' use; not everyone has their own device with them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the great review - I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.0

Good location and staff were really friendly. Could do with more toilets /showers with the amount of beds they have and also there are no locker or lock on the dorms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Jan 2017
6.9

The hostel was nice enough, beds comfy and clean enough, but wasn't a fan of the fact that none of the doors had their own locks, the only security is a keypad on the main front door which is only locked at night. But that was the only main issue, bit out of town but not a crazy walk in to the centre. WiFi wasn't great but is free.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us - I'm glad you liked the Hostel and our location. We are only a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and the pluses are it's nice and quiet and we have free parking. We offer a lock service for any valuables in the office and our private rooms do have key locks.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Jan 2017
4.3

Had a great stay here. This hostel has a great home vibe with many kitchens and the rooms were quite spacious. The kitchen lacked a lot of the basics, and the rooms don't lock. Luckily it's a safe neighbourhood and we had great roommates so it didn't bother us. We forgot a jacket in our room after checking out and the staff was nice enough to ship it to us. Overall a great stay and would stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Well thanks very much for the very positive comments, it seems that you loved your stay and had great customer service I did go out of my way to find your jacket and post it to you.

  • kiwijax
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.7

Good location, clean and comfortable but I think the staff are what seals the deal. Super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the fantastic review it is very much appreciated - we try hard!! Hope to see you back soon

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.