X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mapamundo Reviews

Calle Milans, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
639 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The location was just perfect. The staff was very helpful and willing to help. Even though, it seems like not all of the staff members know the area well enough to give accurate recommendations. The shower was a bit tricky (weak stream, flow of hot water unstable) but besides that everything was great. Kitchen facilities, high speed wifi, free ear plugs, sitting area, and balcony were a great plus. Generally a great value for money for those looking for a central place to sleep.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We had such a lovely time in Barcelona, partly. Because the people and Mapamundos went the extra mile. From running out in the street to greet us when we were lost to letting us store our bags and lots of other handy facitilies our stay was a lovely one at a very affordable price. Thankyou! .

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location, near plenty of bars and restaurants but never got noisy at night during our stay. Staff were fantastic, really welcoming. Kitchen facilities were great (water cooler in the kitchen!) but the room could really have done with air-con or a better fan and the bathrooms need a lot of work. If you're not fussy/only there a night or two its ok but some people would be very put off it.


86%

Booked one night and ended up staying for 3. Location is awesome and the staff is super helpful and kind. Balconies are nice to relax and enjoy a few of the street. Only problem was the difficulty getting the shower hot and lousy water pressure. If you aren't in a hurry it's fine. Overall a good experience.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Jandro (the host) is a very welcoming and helpful person. It felt like a home-stay. The location is perfect and the facilities are cleaned every day. It's only a bit noisy at night but that belongs to the neighbourhood. I'd definitely recommend this place!

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Wasnt the flashest place to stay but I thought it was great, and really nice staff.


66%

Terrible bathroom. WC ok though, shower booth disgusting.


97%

It was amazing hostel!!! Mr. Jandro met us with great hospitality, and we was happy to stay in Mapamundo!!!


91%

The hostel is a great place to stay when in Barcelona

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I have nothing to complain about Mapamundo hostel: actually It was an amazing experience thanks to the quality of the services, the nice host, the facilities, the position and the neighborhood. Sometimes you had to open the veranda's door and you could hear people yelling all night long, but this was a problem of all Barri Gotik because of the drunk people that were hosted there! I highly recommend It! Thank you guys, ¡hasta la vista!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A great hostel located in the center of Barri Gotic - a bit noisy at night, but we were so tired from visiting the city that this was no problem. Very helpfull and friendly staff, a nice room with a balcony, the bathroom was unfortunately overflooded sometimes - but this may depend on the other guests (who - sadly to say- weren't that cleanly at all...) A nice kitchen with a frigde where you have your own depot. There is a hairdryer and towels for common use - very helpful.


100%

We both had an amazing time at Mapamundo, the staff there were very friendly and helpful for things to do around Barcelona. If I ever come back to Barcelona I will definitely stay there again. Perfect location and lovely rooms.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic location in the heart of the gothic quarter, a bit noisy being so central but totally worth it. A lovely welcome and local tips from Jandro. Very clean, spacious and homely, we would not hesitate to come back or recommend. Emma

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Beautiful flat in the middle of el Bario Gotico. Jandro took care of us and everything was perfect for the week we stay there. The street might be a bit noisy at night, but it's Barcelona nightlife . I will probably book again there If I need to be back on town !

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This was a great find in a great location. It was a bit difficult to find but if you follow the directions provided, you will have no problems. All of the staff were very friendly, provided excellent advice on where to go and what to do, and answered all of our questions. We were only there for two nights but a full kitchen, fridge space and living area were available. Everything was cleaned well daily. I would definitely recommend to someone looking for a private room and a quieter hostel.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

great staff and location. a little louder than I expected at night - the neighborhood is deceptively not so residential at night ;)


49%

We stayed two people in a twin bed room. To our surprise, the room was only 6m2 and the beds were bunk beds, Ikea quality. There were no windows in the room and it was noisy as you could hear everything from the common room. Another room was right next to the common room and another right next to the toilet. The shower drain was constantly clogged and there was only one toilet/shower for 10 people. Staff was only around sometimes, and you never knew when. Location is perfect though.


91%

The location was perfect and the hostel was clean and nice. It wasn't even hard to find due to good guidance provided before our trip. Only downside would be its thin walls, thus all the noise from the streets can be heard. The hostel provides guests with earplugs though :) The hostel is perfect for couples or people who want a place to sleep, not for people who enjoy mingling with other hostel guests.


77%

After a few days it did feel like home, very pleasant to come back to after a long day. Jandro is a really friendly host, providing maps, information, kitchen, good ear plugs (necessary ;) ), free access to computers and wifi with a fine internet connection (10mpbs+ in the rooms). The shared space is nice, usually pretty quiet, there was never much contention for the shared bathroom. Only one thing would have made our stay better - thicker pillows! (or 2 pillows per person). Cheers - Matt+Mia

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Hostel Mapamundo was awesome! As soon as we arrived we were met by an employee (maybe owner? Sorry I dont remember his name) who was super friendly and showed us lots of stuff to do on the map. The room was huge with our own balcony. The location in the old city was great proximity to lots of sites. Its easy to get lost around the Hostel but thats to be expected. Only complaints: Low water pressure, variable water temp, and small padlock to lock our room which could easily be cut off.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Barcelona Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback