X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mapamundo Reviews

Calle Milans, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
712 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Perfect Location, very friendly staff. Our room was very small though and didnt have a window, which definitely was a minus.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location and staff. Go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and entertainment and major transportation is walking distance.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a great hostel! The location is ideal in the small streets of Barri Gothic with loads of restaurants and bars around. The staff was very helpful and the even though the kitchen and living room was small it was enough since there are never so many people living there. No 24H reception but the area feels safe to around in the nights (and early mornings). A bit noisy at nights but with the provided ear plugs you sleep well enough. I would definetely cone back!


83%

Our two-night stay in Mapamundo was very good - the small hostel in the gothic quarters has a very nice, homely feel. Guests live like roommates, since the staff is not around all the time; it might sound troublesome for some, but it really wasn't, since the staff was within reach around the clock incase needed. The hostel is quite hard to find due to the VERY anonymous door, but the staff did an excellent job at providing sufficient information for finding the place, and a phone number to call.


100%

Great location in the Gothic Quarter. Very safe, clean, close to bars, restaurants and a 15 minute walk to the beach/ 3 minutes to Las Ramblas. The manager- Jandro - is extremely friendly and helpful. He'll do whatever he can for you.


94%

The staff here are super friendly and the location is excellent in the Gotic area. Close to lots of places to eat and bars. The room was spacious, and clean. The kitchen is good and there is a dining/lounge area. Our only negative is that it was quite noisy outside at nighttime which wouldn't be a problem if we could have the balcony doors shut but it was really hot and no A/C. We used earplugs though and it was fine. We would stay here again.


74%

air conditioning in the summer months

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Juan and Jandro were super helpful and would recommend the stay to anyone !! Little bit noisy and hot at night !!

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Good location, there is no sign but we were sent an email with clear directions so it was easy to find. Clean, friendly and great price!


86%

Holla Handro! Ben and Sophie (Australian Couple) here, just wanted to say we really loved our stay and we had a great time in Barcelona. Thanks for the warm introduction and giving us some great tips on where to go and what to do. We will definitely recommend you guys to any friends visiting Barcelona! Thanks, Ben and Sophie.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I would have liked to know that the room my friend and I were staying did not have a window before I arrived.


86%

Friendly, welcoming service. The room of good size and included amenities such as a kitchen. The padlock to secure bedroom doors could be considered unsafe. The lock on the apartment door was extremely temperamental.


83%

Very good location at the gothic area,at reasonable price the ppl running it was very helpful Everyday the public places was cleaned so hostel was kept in good contition The building and facilities was bit old

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent location. Jandro is an amazing host and he keeps a hostel clean. We loved it! Great value for money.

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is very central, smack in the middle of the Gothic Quarter. Jandro (the host) was very friendly and welcoming. Always helpful. The hostel is also pretty comfortable, at least for a young traveler. A bit noisy because of the streets, but given the location, what can you expect? Overall, a good experience!


94%

Awesome Location. With Mapamundo you are in the middle of the Gothic Quarter and close to everything. Nice and clean Rooms, nice kitchen and bathroom and Jandro is very friendly and helpful for any kind of questions you might have. We had a fun stay in Barcelona =) I would go again any time.


94%

I agree with all the good things others have said about this hostel. It really is an excellent place. Jandro is a wonderful host, the room is clean and cozy, the location excellent. It's perfect for budget travellers who prefer a quiet, private setting.


86%

Excellent location, but sometimes it is hard to find the hostel, streets look the same. Jandro is a very helpful and nice guy . Place is nice and it has everything you need, but sometimes it is loud at night, lot of bars are around. We had an excellent week in Barcelona, and really glad that we picked Mapamundo. We would highly recommended to everyone.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Barcelona Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback