Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 902 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 902 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jun 2017
6.0

Spacious rooms, good location. The host was lovely and helpful

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
7.1

Mapamundo hostel is located in the gotic region near the center of Barcelona,Barcelonetta,Las Ramplas.The metro station is near too.The hostel was familiar,the personell helpful.The neibourhood was very noisy and the room quite dirty.It`s not worth absolutely it`s money!The internet collapsed one of our 4 days.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2017
4.9

Very poorly run hostel. The location is amazing, right in the center of the gothic quarter, however it wasn't that close to the metro, and it was always loud when trying to sleep. The lack of reception hours was inconvenient. The hostel atmosphere is non-existent... We payed a little less than other hostels available in the city, and we quickly saw why. The whole hostel felt dirty, our sheets were also stained. The shower was really bad, water temp changed and nothing to hold up the shower head.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank for your comments. We are in the middle of the Barri Gotic, an area full of life...and noisy. because of that we provide ear-plugs. You did a very late check in and we are always available for you, as is explained we don't have a recepcion desk and this is part of the espirit of Mapamundo.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
9.7

Our host was so friendly and took time to explain everything very clearly. He even gave us advice about where to eat and site-see. My friend got sick and he alowed her to stay in the living room even after we checked out until she felt better. We are very satisfied and would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th May 2017
8.0

Excellent location, within walking distance to most famous sights, Jaume metro and loads of cheap and trendy restaurants, bars and shop. Javardo was the kindest and most helpful host. Free wifi, clean shared bathroom and an equipped kitchen. Overall excellent value for money and it worked out at approx. €20-€25 per person a night. Would highly recommend for budget travellers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
10.0

Excellent place. Family friendly. We have a 3 yr old, and it was a great place to stay at. Jandro was an amazing host, and very helpful when an issue came up with our booking before our trip. I would definitely stay here again. Very close to hop on hop off bus stops, and walking distance to several restaurants/bars. If you want piece and quiet at night this may not be your kind of place. You do have the younger crowd in this area so at night it does get a bit noisy, but nothing we minded.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

This place feels like your own home in Barcelona. We stayed for 4 nights in DB room with balconies (#8)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
9.4

The room and location were great. Alejandro was extremely kind and welcoming and showed us all of the important places on a map of the city. It was easy to get around and close to the beach, restaurants, and easy to get to the important places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments! We always try to do our best :)!!

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
5.7

Too noisy... the building smells bad and it is too old

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.0

Lovely staff made checkin easy and pleasant. Great location in the Gothic Quarter. Good security, excellent kitchen. Strong WiFi. Hairdryer available. The door is a bit difficult to find and you have to go up several flights of stairs in a very grubby and smelly stairwell to get to the rooms. Inside the place is light and airy (no smells here) and the basics are clean but the walls are dirty and the floor stained. The cleaner does a good job but the place needs a spring clean. Otherwise great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.