Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 880 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 880 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
7.1

The owner was very friendly and helpful at our arrival. The room itself was very minimal, as you would expect for the low price. However, the shower wasn't in good condition and the room could only be locked with a shabby little key lock (However, the front door of the building and the apartment could also be locked). The hostel is located in the middle of the old Gothic centre with La Rambla, cathedrals, bars, and the beach at walking distances. Overall, pretty good value for money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. Perfect location. Would defiantly recommend it to a friend and stay there again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
9.1

Smooth check-in, friendly travelers, and excellent facilities. Jandro was very helpful in orienting us to explore Barcelona since we only had a day. He was really easy to reach as well with any last minute questions after checking in. There's even a locker to leave your stuff in case you're leaving the city later in the day. We'd stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
6.9

Overall the place was very centrally located and walkable to almost everything we wanted to see. A little louder but that's more due to the fact that we were there on a weekend and we were facing a street where there was a festival going on until late at night. Facilities were okay. It was the cheapest spot in Barcelona that had a good location and felt it a bit. The staff are also only really there when someone needs them ahead of time (check-in or check-out).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
2.0

Mapa Mundo was in a very scary side ally and was extremely dirty. There were drunk men outside coming up to us and asking for drugs. A piece of the ceiling literally fell on me in the shower. Needless to say, we had to switch hostels immediately the next day. The manager at Mapa Mundo made us pay for two nights instead of one because we did not cancel 24 hours in advance (we could not have because we did not know it would be that gross).

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • davidbracken8375
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.0

Nice ambiance, nice area, pretty chilled out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
2.9

No window in the room, no aeration. Would'nt call this a decent room, it was a closed (not even sure it is legal). Furniture old and used, minimum cleaning (dust in all corners), minimum maintenance (lock to bath roon did not work properly). Host very nice though. I would not recommand Mapanumdo, it is cheap, but not worth the price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The Basic Twin Room is cheaper because it have no window, but it's on the description of the room, just for 5€ extra you have a beatiful balcony. The bathroom lock it works fine, they never told me about a problem with that, it could be arranged very easy. Thanks for your comment anyway, it's useful for us to do it better every day.

  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.0

Great location. Nice apartment with good kitchen. Good WiFi. Drinking water. Friendly staff. Very noisy due to location (could here people talking, bins getting emptied late at night in the street). Place cleaned every day. Would recommend unless you want piece and quiet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We are located in the core of the city, so it's easy to visit everything, but it's true that it's noisy in the night. We prefer to say that the area is full of life ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

We had a great time here. It's a very simple, secure guest house in the best location. Jandro and the staff are very friendly and helpful, providing you with maps and recommendations, available if you have questions, but have set it up so you can come and go as you like. Perfect place if you're ok with a really simple place to sleep, shower and make some tea or coffee before a day of exploring:) great neighbourhood. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Dec 2016
9.4

Good place to stay, in a great location. Had the whole place for our self,.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.