Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 926 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 926 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
2.0

I was traveling around Europe around 44 days , and this was the worst hostel ever. German cockroaches everywhere- in our room, the kitchen... we even found cockroaches inside the freezer!! The shower drain was clogged, the shower curtain was moldy. Besides the problems inside, this is a noisy neighborhood at every hour; people out all night, then early in the morning people sorting trash outside, construction, motorcycles... they provide earplugs, otherwise you won't sleep at any hour.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
9.4

My boyfriend and I had a great weekend at Mapamundo. The hostel was calm and chilled, just as expected and exactly what we needed. Jandro was lovely and helpful, yet discreet. The location is perfect. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
7.4

Lovely and welcoming staff but hostel was not very clean. There were bugs all over the kitchen and first day we were there the bathroom was very dirty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
7.7

Very happy with Mapamundo staff. Disappointed in the facilities: only 1 bathroom for 4 bedrooms (overwhelmed at times); curtains on the bedroom windows would be appreciated to have more privacy (shutters only close from the inside: no way to sleep with the windows open and in sufficient darkness); lack of some useful ustensils in kitchen. Quaint Gotic neighborhood, easy access, close to beach. Still a little too expensive for service provided. Good experience, though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2017
10.0

Good value for money in the Gothic Quarter. Keep in mind that this is a busy and noisy part of the city so if you put a premium on peace and quiet this won't be a good fit for you. The hosts were very helpful and gave us great tips for making the most of our time in Barcelona.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
10.0

Greatest apartment location in Barcelona hands down. Make sure to eat at Sensi on the corner (gourmet tapas) and Bar Celta Pulperia nearby (traditional tapas). For breakfast get coffee and bread at Pastisseria La Mercè (now Forneria Tiana). Jandro is the coolest host ever, we felt at home immediately. Beds so comfy. Miss you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Grisell79
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2017
10.0

It was great. Noisy at night but that didn't bother. Very good location, easy to get everywhere. Close to beach and to other attractions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
8.9

Location is top. Would book again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
9.4

Great stay at Mapamundo, super helpful staff that made us feel very welcome and a kitchen with all necessarities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • antjeoconnell3703
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
17th Jun 2017
9.1

super friendly staff, very helpful and responsive. the room was basic but clean and sunny with a little balcony. a couple of cool pubs around the corner and generally a great location. great value for money. would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.