Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
Mapamundo Located at Calle Milans, , Barcelona.
Mapamundo
Spain
Barcelona Calle Milans
86% 813
41.3805761 2.1791982
Mapamundo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.1

The hostel was in a great location. It was right by supermarkets, bars, the beach, and the metro. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. It felt more like you are renting a room in a bigger house than your typical "party hostel". The major downfall is that there is no air conditioning, so you have to keep the window/door open. It can get loud at night because of the bar right across the street and there is a yappy dog. The owner does give you earplugs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
9.1

Excellent location, right next to lots of bars and shops, ~10 minute walk to the beach and the metro. Staff were lovely and helpful, common area with a balcony, kitchen and water cooler is really nice. Our room had no window, and although it did have a fan, it was quite hot and dark. There is only one toilet and shower room between four rooms, so sometimes we had to wait to use it. Also, we saw a cockroach in the bathroom, although I hear this is relatively normal for this area of Barcelona!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.3

Good basic hostel. Good value for money. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Not a lot of atmosphere to meet other travellers, but may have just been our experience. Only main complaint is that there is only one bathroom, which can be a pain when people take a long time in the shower and you need the toilet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
10.0

Had a great stay at this hostel. The staff were very helpful, initially showing me a map of the city and helping me create a plan for the journey. The room and facilities were perfect, clean and tidy. The location is ideal, within walking distance to La Rambla, the beach, and lots of museums. I would recommend this hostel 100% to anyone who plans to visit Barcelona.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2016
8.6

Location was perfect, we walked everywhere. Staff was really nice, bathroom was clean. Our room was tiny and hot but the location was worth it. We didn't see any other guests in the hostel so if you want to party, there's a couple bars outside or you have to walk 4 minutes placa reial.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2016
8.9

Brilliant location and excellent for the price -- Mapamundo is cheap and cheerful and Jandro the owner goes out of his way to make you feel at home and comfortable. The location is incredibly central and walkable to all the key places to see, but the downside to this is the noisy nightlife which goes on all night! The only other downside to the hostel is that the bathroom is a bit damp & smells of mould, but it is cleaned daily and shared between a max of 8 people. A perfect hostel on a budget!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lucocinn714
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th May 2016
9.7

Ideal location and extremely reasonably priced. I stayed here with my mother and sister. Jandro was waiting at the hostel on our arrival and gave us a fantastic crash course about the accommodation and the city when we checked in. He was very communicative and was at the other end of the phone if we needed him. Would happily return here next time I'm in Barcelona.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
8.3

Right in the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona this hostel's location is on the money. A 15 minute walk to the beach and close to the lively El Born section of the city. The main staffer is also a friendly and helpful person while you stay. However, during my stay the facilities of the hostel were subpar at best. There was no hot water one day and the bathroom itself was somewhat decrepit - ie ceiling plaster fell to the floor 2-3 times creating a mess. I would recommend for local, mainly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
6.0

Mapamundo is in the perfect location right in the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona which is probably why it's a little pricey. It wasn't the cleanest because you share one bathroom (shower/toilet/sink) with 4 or 5 other rooms. If you're a light sleeper, it's pretty difficult to get sleep because you can hear everything out on the street below you because there are a few bars in the area. Would recommend because of the location but not entirely sure it was worth the money.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
7.7

Jandro is quite helpful & friendly. Location is great. I almost had no problems during my 5 day stay. Only problem is that the shared bathroom is only one space, so if someone is taking a shower, others don't have access to toilets and need to wait. Internet is fast, no security issues at all, the kitchen & bathrooms are being cleaned every day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.