Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 797 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 797 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Mapamundo Located at Calle Milans, , Barcelona.
Mapamundo
Spain
Barcelona Calle Milans
89% 797
41.3805761 2.1791982
Mapamundo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
8.6

Location was perfect, we walked everywhere. Staff was really nice, bathroom was clean. Our room was tiny and hot but the location was worth it. We didn't see any other guests in the hostel so if you want to party, there's a couple bars outside or you have to walk 4 minutes placa reial.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2016
8.9

Brilliant location and excellent for the price -- Mapamundo is cheap and cheerful and Jandro the owner goes out of his way to make you feel at home and comfortable. The location is incredibly central and walkable to all the key places to see, but the downside to this is the noisy nightlife which goes on all night! The only other downside to the hostel is that the bathroom is a bit damp & smells of mould, but it is cleaned daily and shared between a max of 8 people. A perfect hostel on a budget!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lucocinn714
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th May 2016
9.7

Ideal location and extremely reasonably priced. I stayed here with my mother and sister. Jandro was waiting at the hostel on our arrival and gave us a fantastic crash course about the accommodation and the city when we checked in. He was very communicative and was at the other end of the phone if we needed him. Would happily return here next time I'm in Barcelona.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
8.3

Right in the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona this hostel's location is on the money. A 15 minute walk to the beach and close to the lively El Born section of the city. The main staffer is also a friendly and helpful person while you stay. However, during my stay the facilities of the hostel were subpar at best. There was no hot water one day and the bathroom itself was somewhat decrepit - ie ceiling plaster fell to the floor 2-3 times creating a mess. I would recommend for local, mainly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
6.0

Mapamundo is in the perfect location right in the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona which is probably why it's a little pricey. It wasn't the cleanest because you share one bathroom (shower/toilet/sink) with 4 or 5 other rooms. If you're a light sleeper, it's pretty difficult to get sleep because you can hear everything out on the street below you because there are a few bars in the area. Would recommend because of the location but not entirely sure it was worth the money.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
7.7

Jandro is quite helpful & friendly. Location is great. I almost had no problems during my 5 day stay. Only problem is that the shared bathroom is only one space, so if someone is taking a shower, others don't have access to toilets and need to wait. Internet is fast, no security issues at all, the kitchen & bathrooms are being cleaned every day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th May 2016
9.7

We had a great stay at Mapamundo, lovely guest house and a great kitchen which had everything you needed in it! The appartment was really well located and we weren't disturbed at all by noise overnight although I'm sure it's a bit different at weekends! One little thing - the bathroom door is quite stiff and you have to slam it shut which can be quite disturbing for others.. I'm sure we will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel, fantastic location. The staff were amazing and on arrival gave is a run through of the city, a map and where and how to do everything and what we should see. It was a really good experience over all, could not recommend Mapamundo enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
9.7

Amazing value for the location! We had a wonderful time and were in the middle of everything. Upon arriving, we were greeted and given a breakdown of the city and what to do. I 100% recommend Mapamundo and I will be coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
10.0

Fantastic stay and I will definitely look to stay here again when I visit Barcelona in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.