X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mapamundo Reviews

Calle Milans, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
653 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great location, Great staff who where really helpful. Really noisy spot as you are right in the heart of Gothic centre but ear plugs supplied. Had to climb into empty top bunk due to bed bugs. Loved Barcelona :)


57%

Jandro is a very good and helpful guy, but the building is very old and not well keeped. Even though they clean regularly, you have the impression that's still dirty. Our room had to be closed with an improvised lock and you could easilly go in through the balcon anyway. If you're used to travel low cost and you're not very sensitive it's a pratical place to stay,otherwise keep looking!


100%

Spent 3 amazing days in this rustic hostel with my girlfriend. Jandro, your host, is very friendly and informative. Very relaxed atmosphere. No curfew. Located in Gotic area, the hostel is fantastically located for your exploration of the city. People have apparently had issues with the showers...This was not our experience! Highly recommended.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff were lovely and very very helpful. We aren't super organized so their flexibility and help was much appreciated. Location is PERFECT! The place is nice and has everything you need, in our opinion it was quite expensive for what you get. regardless if we have the money we will stay here again :)

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Mapamundo is a fantastic place to stay. Jandro is incredibly helpful, the location is fantastic, there's a kitchen and a shelf on the fridge for you and the rooms are spacious. The only issue is the shower is a bit difficult to use but it does the job. Would definitely stay here again!


94%

Great hostel in a brilliant location with really helpful and informative staff....really glad we picked this place to stay in barcelona. Highly recommended.


77%

Everything you'd need during your stay was provided. The shower was very poor, with a gross shower curtain that didn't work properly so the whole bathroom floor got flooded each time. Also had to keep the shower head up with a tube of toothpaste so it needed fixing. All in all though it was good for what we wanted which was easy location and some sleep!

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The location was just perfect. The staff was very helpful and willing to help. Even though, it seems like not all of the staff members know the area well enough to give accurate recommendations. The shower was a bit tricky (weak stream, flow of hot water unstable) but besides that everything was great. Kitchen facilities, high speed wifi, free ear plugs, sitting area, and balcony were a great plus. Generally a great value for money for those looking for a central place to sleep.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a great time!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We had such a lovely time in Barcelona, partly. Because the people and Mapamundos went the extra mile. From running out in the street to greet us when we were lost to letting us store our bags and lots of other handy facitilies our stay was a lovely one at a very affordable price. Thankyou! .

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location, near plenty of bars and restaurants but never got noisy at night during our stay. Staff were fantastic, really welcoming. Kitchen facilities were great (water cooler in the kitchen!) but the room could really have done with air-con or a better fan and the bathrooms need a lot of work. If you're not fussy/only there a night or two its ok but some people would be very put off it.


86%

Booked one night and ended up staying for 3. Location is awesome and the staff is super helpful and kind. Balconies are nice to relax and enjoy a few of the street. Only problem was the difficulty getting the shower hot and lousy water pressure. If you aren't in a hurry it's fine. Overall a good experience.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Jandro (the host) is a very welcoming and helpful person. It felt like a home-stay. The location is perfect and the facilities are cleaned every day. It's only a bit noisy at night but that belongs to the neighbourhood. I'd definitely recommend this place!


86%

Wasnt the flashest place to stay but I thought it was great, and really nice staff.


66%

Terrible bathroom. WC ok though, shower booth disgusting.


97%

It was amazing hostel!!! Mr. Jandro met us with great hospitality, and we was happy to stay in Mapamundo!!!


91%

The hostel is a great place to stay when in Barcelona

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I have nothing to complain about Mapamundo hostel: actually It was an amazing experience thanks to the quality of the services, the nice host, the facilities, the position and the neighborhood. Sometimes you had to open the veranda's door and you could hear people yelling all night long, but this was a problem of all Barri Gotik because of the drunk people that were hosted there! I highly recommend It! Thank you guys, ¡hasta la vista!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A great hostel located in the center of Barri Gotic - a bit noisy at night, but we were so tired from visiting the city that this was no problem. Very helpfull and friendly staff, a nice room with a balcony, the bathroom was unfortunately overflooded sometimes - but this may depend on the other guests (who - sadly to say- weren't that cleanly at all...) A nice kitchen with a frigde where you have your own depot. There is a hairdryer and towels for common use - very helpful.


100%

We both had an amazing time at Mapamundo, the staff there were very friendly and helpful for things to do around Barcelona. If I ever come back to Barcelona I will definitely stay there again. Perfect location and lovely rooms.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Barcelona Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback