Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mar-Mar

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 778 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 778 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.2
Mar-Mar Located at via Malborghetto, 4, Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre.
Mar-Mar
Italy
Cinque Terre 19017 via Malborghetto, 4, Riomaggiore
79% 778
44.0991818 9.7379207
Mar-Mar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Nov 2016
7.7

The location i must say- you cannot beat! So close to the train station- none of this climbing up plenty stairs and hills PLUS you still get a good view. If you are still up in arms with whether you have picked the right 1/5 spots in Cinque Terre. Riomaggiore was definitely my favourite. I enjoyed my stay at the hostel- probably because it was quiet. There is no wifi in the hostel itself but the bar only which is downstairs on the main drag. The staff were friendly too and accommodating.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
7.4

It's an ok place to stay, no wifi even at the bar, it didn't work the day I arrived and they didn't care. No maps were given, no introduction to the places around. But there are info points on cinque terre at every station so that works fine. The room is huge and spacious to sort your things, two showers where one didn't have light and the curtain was partly broken, but then there is warm nice shower. Close to train station. WiFi tip: go up to the church for free WiFi spot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Oct 2016
7.1

Basic hostel. Clean and tidy. Only one other guest staying when I was which made life easy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2016
8.9

It's a little apartment that has a room with bunk beds in it, but it has a fridge, a kitchen area, a small living room and two bathrooms. It's right in the center of Riomaggiore with shops and markets and restaurants. And very close to the train station, that will take you to all the towns. You also get a free pastry and coffee (or juice for 1.5 euro extra) at the bar on the street each morning! Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
5.7

no kitchen facilities to use. staff are not accessible. we ran out of toilet paper at one point and had no one to ask for more. also on check out day we needed somewhere to store our bags. waited around to see if anyone would come check us out but nothing. we weren't told what to do with the keys so gave them to the bar staff and they also stored our bags for us. good location for the limited choices just make sure you don't have much to carry.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
7.7

This place was great location-wise. A short walk to the beach and not far from the train station. The shared bathrooms were a little rundown, but the overall room was relatively clean. Breakfast was a pastry and a coffee of your choice, so it was small but filling. There isn't Wifi in the room upstairs, only in the bar, but it was nice to unplug for a few days. Overall, my group had a wonderful stay and met some awesome people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Sep 2016
7.1

Difficult to communicate with staff No wifi, have to go to the bar for it No kitchen facilities Beds and cleanliness were fine

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Sep 2016
6.3

Make sure you memorize the route first time you're brought up to the rooms from the bar. The only major problem was a no wifi in the rooms, only in the bar. Facilities are good, you can cook if you want to.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Sep 2016
6.0

Stayed here 2 nights. Great location close to the station, and very clean. Breakfast is just coffee and a croissant, but quite good. Don't expect much of a hostel environment because it's essentially just a couple of beds in one large room. Worth the price though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
6.3

it was a clean hostel in a great location-right on the Main Street. however, the staff was incredibly rude which really took away from the experience. there is no wifi so you have to go to the bar downstairs in which the owner of the hostel owns as well. but whenever my friend and I would go do down there to use it the bartenders (which were the owners kids) would stare at us the whole time, make us move tables even if no one was in the bar and give us comments on the fact we're not ordering

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.