X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Mar e Iguana Hostel Reviews

Playa Ismito, Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro, Panama

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
138 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Very good hostel to stay at if you are not that fond of partying and being close to town. Nice 20-25 minutes walk to Bocas town, which we did not mind at all. Great atmosphere!


74%

Its an ok hostel. Outside of town, so nice if you dont like the party atmosphere. Staff is very friendly and there is a supermarket nearby. They dont have lockers though


86%

If your looking for a quite out of town kind of place, about 15 min to walk. Its right across from a beach, close to a couple supermarkets and very chilled out... Rooms have AC which was nice but they are small.... Kitchen shuts early which was a bummer. but cool place to chil out on the hammocks.


63%

The dorms were not that comfortable nor that clean.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We clean the dorm every day , we do the same with toilets and the shower... Mattress are brand new and semi ortophedic..!!!

51%

Here's a list of the issues I had with the hostel: 1. The A/C was very noisy and constantly dripped water into pool in the corner of the room. 2. The room smelled damp and mouldy 3. The wifi was patchy and unreliable 4. One cold outside shower for use of people staying in the dorm (was frequently filled with wasps) 5. Quite far from town and surrounded by a fairly dirty area 6. Electricity was gone for almost a full day (whole island affected), this also meant that there was no water.


89%

Really nice staff, Ricardo and Carolina were really friendly.


86%

Relaxed atmospere, very friendly staff. 15 min walk or 0,60 cent taxi to town. We liked it!

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice, friendly staff, cheap drinks. I would totally recommend this hostel.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A bit too far away from downtown! About 20 minute walk, approx 15 blocks. Otherwise very nice, big room, private bathroom, ac, friendly staff! Also beware the water supply is scarce sometimes, it is a problem of the islands, but it affects some hostels more than others.


77%

cool little hostel, good cheap bikes for rent. about 15-20 min walk from town. could possibly use a couple more toilets and showers for the dorms and bar area


89%

I loved this place! It was just far away enough from the party downtown to provide some respite. It had a nice relaxing ambiance and good vibe all around. Ricardo and all the bartenders and staff were super friendly and down to earth. Right across from the beach with a deck overlooking the ocean. Perfect spot!

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel it's even not so bad...the location is really poor as well as the entire Bocas Del Toro City.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU... We will take this as a Good and positive comment!!!... .-)

63%

We had a cramped single sized room with a bunk bed. The ladder was vertical, rickety and had nails sticking out. The door lock was broken and was replaced with a padlock. The hostal is set in a pretty garden but was far from the towns restaurants, bars and shops and the docks where all the boats leave from. The nearby beach is dirty so you have to get a boat to decent beaches. In town there are loads of hostals and hotels that are not advertised on websites and are cheaper and much better.


100%

Been traveling through Costa Rica and Panama for almost three months now, and Mar E Iguana was by far the best hostel I've stayed in thus far. The air conditioning was a life saver on those 100% humidity days, the kitchen was stocked with appliances, and the bar had good cheap drinks. But the atmosphere the staff creates is really what makes this place an incredible experience.


80%

We enjoyed our stay here, as many mention it is a bit out of town but the walk in was nice each day. The tower & the hammocks where you could look out at the sea was a great place to relax. Rooms were small but with everything you need.




View all Bocas del Toro Hostels

Please give us your feedback