X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mar e Iguana Hostel Reviews

Playa Ismito, Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro, Panama

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
174 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great staff, great facilities, close to the beach. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean, with air conditioning! No lockers, but the staff are more than glad to hold your valuables for you no problem. Was about a 10 min walk from the Main Street in town, but it made the location a lot quieter and a taxi was only $1.00. Overall great experience!

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The vibe of the place, the food, and the staff were all great. However, the "Iguana" single room that my girlfriend and i stayed in was just disgusting. Lines of ants, a leaking toilet that became a full on puddle in the bathroom, no hot water, and COCKROACHES. We stayed one night then got the hell out of there. They offered us a "nicer room" when i complained, but no way we were staying there any longer. If you can afford a real hotel, do it. Our experience in the room was not fun.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Staying at a 'hippie' place we understand that things are not going to spotless but the lanai smelled like toilet and there was mold everywhere. We could have lived with that if it were not the bed springs which poked into us & squeaked loudly with every move. When we asked for a refund after after getting no sleep the manager politely assured us that the bed was 'fine' and then proceeded to stare me down as if willing me to agree. We could leave but with no refund unless he found another guest.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Firstly, starting with the good comments, the beds were very comfortable, the staff were friendly. Nice deck area. Bad points. Only one toilet, one urinal and one shower between 18 people. Stupid things but sink outside (ok) but nowhere to put toiletries or clothes if you'd got changed. So brush your teeth and clothes on the floor. 6 bed dorm was pretty snug (think shed) so no space for bags and no lockers. I couldn't get the room to lock. Personally didn't like it, surprised about good reviews.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well Thank you for mention the good point on your review... we apreciate it... I don't know where you got the number of 18 people for only one shower / 2 toilets when you share this services only with 6 person becouse all the others rooms has a private bathroom .. And bet you never had to queue for use both services!!! plus our shower is really big and has lot of space. We do not have lockers but we offer our guest to give us the valuable things as We think is even more secure that lockers.

66%

The bar/common area here is awesome, however the dorm room i stayed in could use some work - it would be great if they just took out 2 of the bunk beds and used the space for some lockers instead. The bathroom also got dirty quickly because it is situated outside and is used by the 6 dorm rm occupants plus the patrons of the bar/restaurant - though it was cleaned daily. The staff are AWESOME though and do a good job of cleaning, so that was a plus. Great beachside location also


91%

I love this hostel, great atmosphere súper Cold beer and the best food ever! Not far from town... Nice to chill and meet nice people! Just Love it*

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias Amigo... esperamo verlos pronto!!!

100%

I spend excellent holiday hosted here, has pretty good service and attention, plus it is located front of a beautiful beach.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

If you want a place with a chilled vibe during the day, close to the beach and still only a $1 taxi to downtown this is the place


83%

Great vibe, a little removed from the hustle and bustle of town. Dorms small but cozy, ac a great plus. Cheap happy hour, friendly staff, nothing above and beyond but worth checking out.


100%

If you're looking for a memorable experience and not just an affordable hostel stay, then look no further! Mar e Iguana's great beachfront location along with their positive and outgoing staff offers individuals and groups a chance to really experience the magic that Bocos del Toro has to offer.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Perfect place for reggae music fans! Located 20meters from the beach, and close to a supermarket. A bit isolated from bocas, but not really much ( 20min walking ). Only one toilet and one shower for all the beds!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment.. i just want to mention that we do have 1 toilet for men , one for women and 1 shower... that you share only with the 6 bed dorm...

83%

We only staid 1night.Everything was really fine.


100%

Great place¡¡¡¡ the two girls at the reception are really nice, they provide good information about the activities and places to visit, the hostel has a big garden and a tower where you can relax looking at the ocean, the hostel has also a very well equiped kitchen and bikes for rent which makes it easy to get to town. The location is great because you are not right in the chaos of the main street but your are not far, it took me about 5 minutes cycling to get to the main street, love Bocas

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Bocas del Toro Hostels

Please give us your feedback