X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mara House Reviews

Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi, Luxor, Egypt

Reviews & Ratings Explained

No Rating
44 Total Reviews
  • 0%Value For Money
  • 0%Security
  • 0%Location
  • 0%Staff
  • 0%Atmosphere
  • 0%Cleanliness
  • 0%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

We loved the special nature of Mara's hospitality. Her guesthouse is a quiet retreat. She provides sound advice on Luxor and is able to arrange very good drivers, guides and other help. We only regret that international tourist numbers are -because of media propaganda- so low that the guesthouse lacked others to interact with. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • 16th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Mara House is a treasure, quiet and wonderfully appointed, with beautiful rooms and furniture, lots of useful information, and friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the 15-course special meal on Sunday in particular. It's small and tucked into a back area of Luxor, intimate and personal, the antithesis of the crowded hotel scene. Highly recommended.

  • 23rd Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Super stay here. Clean, large room. Friendly staff. Excellent dinner and tasty breakfast. Superb value for money and 100% recommended.

  • 4th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The biggest deterrent for this location is the location. However with pick up and standard taxi prices this is not as large of an issue. The rooms are amazing with amazingly low prices for the drinks in each rooms fridge (3EGP for 1L water). The reason I chose this place was the reviews of the tours, and I was not disappointed. My entire trip I had done hostels except at Mara and her tours through the Luxor area where the definitely worth staying for.


97%

We had a great stay, staff were excellent hosts, helpful and friendly. Only slight complaint was the air-conditioning in the second bedroom didn't work properly.

  • 16th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hotel we've ever stayed in, gorgeous rooms and a great location. Hotel staff very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay perfect for us.

  • 23rd Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

No taxi driver or hotel on the Nile knew the address of Mara house. Must rely on Mara house staff to arrange for Transportation.

  • 11th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Mara and staff are very helpful.

  • 3rd Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Mara House is an absolutely wonderful place in which to stay.

  • 1st Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a great value for someone who wants to experience life in a local neighborhood, especially in a city that caters to tourism. However, real Egypt may be a bit overwhelming for those used to a more sanitized ambience. The room was huge and very clean. Mara was not on site, and I gather from reviews that one feels more supported when she is. The staff was very helpful, though. Our only gripe was the lack of heat. It was freezing this week, and the heat in our a/c unit didn't work.

  • 17th Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

went there believing it to be a hotel, which is what it is advertised as on the internet. if i had known it was a hostel i would not have gone any where near it, and not at £60 per night

  • 21st Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This gentleman booked Mara House on HOSTELworld so to say he did not know what it was...........and Mara House is much, much more than a hostel as reviews elsewhere on the internet testify to! On arrival late at night they got a complimentary snack and thereafter refused all help other than the house information booklet. Had they taken our usual taxi on their first trip out he would have told them much to help them in town. Had they contacted me via email or phone which they were told they could do......had they told my Manager, Amr that they were having problems we could have done much to teach them how to avoid the hassle - this is what we do when we are allowed to help and advise. Had they checked out the many hints on tips on the internet they would have known about the terrible hassle in Luxor. Had they read my own travel tips they would have understood and been better prepared for what they found along the tourist strip. Their negative experience in Luxor was not due to Mara House where we do our utmost to help everyone experience the best of Luxor. To do this our guests have to first accept our offers of help!

100%

Everything about our stay here was excellent. I would recommend the Mara house to any other traveller.

  • 27th Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent boutique hotel in a quiet residential area well away from the crowded tourist scene by the Nile. Very helpful staff. Only potential problem is finding the hotel so always call ahead before arrival for directions.


100%

Mara house is an excellent hotel it’s clean, the staff are friendly and tours were excellent. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Luxor.


97%

We enjoyed the 3 brief days we stayed at Mara, even though they were at the beginning of the popular uprising against the Mubarak regime. Mara is a friendly lady, well versed in Egyptian politic and has a good understanding of its people. We loved our spacious, and clean room. We enjoyed meeting fellow travellers staying at Mara. Had the political situation been better, our Egyptian trip would have been all what we could ever hope for.

  • 29th Jan 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

My stay at Mara House (January 2010) was very enjoyable and I would highly recommend this establishment. I was seeking a more traditional experience during my visit to Luxor and Mara House easily met my expectations. Mara (the owner) has built a top quality experience understanding the needs and expectations of most western travelers and mixing that with the more traditional Egyptian style accommodation.

  • 20th Jan 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


93%

Mara is a fund of practical knowledge and support. She is up to solving any difficulty for her guests. The rooms are large, comfortable and full of Egyptian character. Highly recommend!


60%

It is quite far from the sightseeing points - if you want to come to know " real egyptian life and to accept the poverty of them " it s the right location for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Poverty is relative to one's personal experience and things/people are not always what they seem on the outside The people in the Mara House area are mostly craftsmen ie plumbers, carpenters etc. They have food, clothing and nice homes inside - no mortgages or loans. The area is being built up not falling down and since most of Luxor is being demolished it is pretty much the only place for a tourist to experience real modern day Egypt.

93%

Mara is an excellent host. She considers you as a part of a family and not as a customer. She will help you with whatever problem.


83%

Mara is an amazing hostess and will organise the best tours in and around Luxor for you. The hotel is charming in every way but not in a great part of town.


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Luxor Hotels

Please give us your feedback