Hostelworld.com

Marco Polo Top Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Marco Polo Top Hostel Located at Nyar Utca. 6, 1072 Budapest, Budapest.
Marco Polo Top Hostel
Hungary
Budapest Nyar Utca. 6, 1072 Budapest
87% 308
47.4968212 19.0661716
Marco Polo Top Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Apr 2016
8.0

Great location. However, I've found two problems: 1) I didn't feel it was secure with the system of leaving the key at the reception. They should definitely invest in an electronic system (card or something like that). 2) The internet only works at the man lobby, which could be good if it helped on interaction with other guests. However, the main lobby is so small that it barely fit more than 5 people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
8.0

The hostel was located very close to the Jewish quarter, and everything you'd want to see is right off the subway (a 5 minute walk away). The location is not super-central, the staff is not super friendly, and the facilities are not super fantastic. But overall, a good base for exploring Budapest at a good price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
8.6

Friendly English Speaking Staff. Great Location and great Value for the money. Me and my girl-friend stayed in the 12-bed-dorm where everybody had a cabin, closable with a curtain, lot's of space and a own locker-brilliant. Two showers in the ensuite-bathroom which are in sight of everybody who goes in and out to toilets and sinks, only closable by a plastic curtain. No kitchen in the hostel. One old and slow computer free of use downstairs in the bar.Great Value for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2016
9.1

Stayed for one night, nice and clean. WiFi only works on the ground floor which is awkward when trying to organise buses/next hostel, and the way the rooms are set out does make it difficult to talk to different guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

It is suitable located - in the city center, near to a metro station. With a lovely atmosphere and an option for private rooms. The staff is really kind and helpful. During my stay there I had a felling that I am in a hotel, not a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2016
7.4

All was right, beside that there's no kitchen or even Electric Kettle in common area or something. The staff is very helpful and nice, also the localisation is good :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
6.3

The staff at the front desk did not make us feel welcome at all. In particular, one of the young ladies working was not friendly in the slightest. When asking for directions we were lead astray twice. No map was provided upon arrival, and after asking for one we weren't shown where basic things (like the hostel itself) were. Can't complain about the rooms, as you get what you pay for there. Overall incredibly disappointed by the staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.1

The staff we very lovely and super helpful Location was perfect, walking distance to most of the main things to see in Budapest Security was good and I felt safe leaving my stuff in the room It was a bit annoying there was not wifi in the rooms but this just meant that I had to go downstairs to the bar area to use it, and it was such s fun atmosphere and I met some great people there that it didn't really matter Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
9.1

Helpful, polite staff, no problems. Someone were smoking in the bathroom - too bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
9.1

For sure it is the best located and value for money of my trip. Near Blaha Lujza station, (Possible to walk form Keleti train station so you can save som money). The price I paid for the room I would never pay anywhere else. it is near a lot of the nicest clubs in Budapest you can do basically everything walking. despite they have a huge club just underneath, the place is literally dead so this place is definitely good for a nice rest ( go hang out at Szimpla Kert 2 blocks way from the hostel)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.