Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Maria Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
2.0

Possibly the worst place I have ever stayed in. Resembled more a post-apocalyptic refugee shelter than a hostel. The building is unfinished, dirty and ugly. The staff is rude and there is no organization or planned activities. Do yourself a big favor and DO NOT BOOK HERE.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
7.7

Interesting place to stay, more space in the room than expected. Quiet street, walking distance to everywhere. Would stay there again. Showers separate from toilet and no towels, but not a big deal. Hot water and inner yard. Wifi didn't work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
6.6

Everything perfect except: -No courtins in the bedroom so intense su from 7AM -No wifi from my bedroom -No electricity on my bedroom (on the upper floor) The rest is fine (price, location, bed, staff, ...)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.7

This hostel is a boarding school in the off-season, so all the rooms are equipped like school dorms: desks, enough plugs, wardrobes and bookshelves. They aren't that big, but feature an ingenious bunk bed thing, which means you have essentially two floors: one for storing your stuff and one for sleeping. The facilities are big, clean and very well maintained, wifi was decent. Staff were very friendly, but you have to leave your key at reception when you leave the hostel, which was a bit weird.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Aug 2016
10.0

This is a regular dorm student residence during the school year. I stayed here during Sziget fest and enjoyed my stay. They were in the process of renovating so the bathrooms very really new and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
4.0

Horrible, ramshackle place. Check photos and reviews before booking! This place is not from this century and haven't been renovated since 1950's. The lady in the reception was super nice! Unfortunately that's the only good thing.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.7

It was unique staying in a boarding school. The staff we excellent remebered my name. Had a problem with key but not their fault but gave me another bed till sorted. Great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
2.0

Do not stay here! We showed up after a long day of travelling to find that they had made a mistake with our booking and tried to blame us for it despite is having the correct booking comfirmatoin, as a result we had two people sleeping on the hard wooden floor. We had to pay for these 'beds' too. The room was cramped, filled with unnecessary objecs, for example: a large freezer, and the sleeping area was on top of a few planks of wood goig across the top of the room. It was also really unclean.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • olivialarmond
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Aug 2016
5.7

As two young woman, we didn't feel safe in the area nor the hostel is self. Not particularly clean or comfortable. Although very cheap I couldn't wait to get out of there and would of happily paid more for personal security. You get what you pay for

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2016
6.0

If you don't expect so much from your hostel but rather just want a central place to sleep this hostel will do the job. However, it is in dire need of renovations, everything except for the bathrooms was really old and dilapitating. Also, we did not really get beds but rather two madrasses on the floor of a temporary and not very reassuringly buildt loft. However, it was cheap and fairly clean and close to walk into the city. Staff was helpful but not so caring about safety and who was let in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.