Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Maria Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
Maria Hostel Located at Maria utca 7, , Budapest.
Maria Hostel
Hungary
Budapest 1083 Maria utca 7
72% 477
47.4927835 19.0691757
Maria Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
2.0

Possibly the worst place I have ever stayed in. Resembled more a post-apocalyptic refugee shelter than a hostel. The building is unfinished, dirty and ugly. The staff is rude and there is no organization or planned activities. Do yourself a big favor and DO NOT BOOK HERE.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
7.7

Interesting place to stay, more space in the room than expected. Quiet street, walking distance to everywhere. Would stay there again. Showers separate from toilet and no towels, but not a big deal. Hot water and inner yard. Wifi didn't work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
6.6

Everything perfect except: -No courtins in the bedroom so intense su from 7AM -No wifi from my bedroom -No electricity on my bedroom (on the upper floor) The rest is fine (price, location, bed, staff, ...)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • inter-rail3976
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.7

This hostel is a boarding school in the off-season, so all the rooms are equipped like school dorms: desks, enough plugs, wardrobes and bookshelves. They aren't that big, but feature an ingenious bunk bed thing, which means you have essentially two floors: one for storing your stuff and one for sleeping. The facilities are big, clean and very well maintained, wifi was decent. Staff were very friendly, but you have to leave your key at reception when you leave the hostel, which was a bit weird.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.7

It was unique staying in a boarding school. The staff we excellent remebered my name. Had a problem with key but not their fault but gave me another bed till sorted. Great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
2.0

Do not stay here! We showed up after a long day of travelling to find that they had made a mistake with our booking and tried to blame us for it despite is having the correct booking comfirmatoin, as a result we had two people sleeping on the hard wooden floor. We had to pay for these 'beds' too. The room was cramped, filled with unnecessary objecs, for example: a large freezer, and the sleeping area was on top of a few planks of wood goig across the top of the room. It was also really unclean.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2016
6.0

If you don't expect so much from your hostel but rather just want a central place to sleep this hostel will do the job. However, it is in dire need of renovations, everything except for the bathrooms was really old and dilapitating. Also, we did not really get beds but rather two madrasses on the floor of a temporary and not very reassuringly buildt loft. However, it was cheap and fairly clean and close to walk into the city. Staff was helpful but not so caring about safety and who was let in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.3

This hostel is very rundown, the place is really old, but it's being renovated. Despite this, it has everything needed, toilets are cleaned very often, rooms are given well cleaned and showers are brand new and awesome. Staff is friendly. This is NOT a party hostel, it's a good place for resting. Good price and location, as it's near many public transports and the ruin pubs area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.0

Good hostel, very close to many of the clubs and bars, easy walk/ metro into city centre, kitchen had all basic facilities to cook, bathrooms were newly redone on top floor and kept clean, room was old but in process of renovation, staff were all lovely and really helpful, balcony right by window which can make it noisy/ low security when window open

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
6.9

Would've preferred to have had the option to pay by card but for the cheap price for two nights, paying by cash wasn't too bad. The rooms were very basic and could do with some new furniture as one of the bunkbeds in the room was very unstable. The staff were so helpful when we needed advice! Its very close to a metro station which was handy. The room was a bit cramped but it was manageable for a short stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.