Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Maria Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 534 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 534 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Aug 2017
7.7

Neither of the internet options worked so there was only WiFi right in the center on the ground floor only... Also a dorm for students, but not loud surprisingly. Not much an atmosphere for some travelers, but fine if you're okay with chilling...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
8.3

Great value for money, rooms are a little hot due to not much air circulation and no ac great location great cooking facilities, there is only one key between all guests staying in the same room which I found a little bit annoying as when you go out you have to leave it and keep going in and asking for it again and again and if your cooking you need to hand it in in case your room mates need it which is quite bizarre but all in all it's great value for money in a great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
10.0

Excellent and not far from the centre ))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice place. Nice people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jul 2017
8.9

Very friendly and attentive staff. Great location as pretty much everything you might want to see is within reasonable walking distance walking distance (if you are the walking type). Szimpla Ruin Bar is 10 minutes walk away. There is a corner shop with a decent selection of snacks, less than a minute away. There are kitchen facilities and also washing facilities. Wifi works only on the first floor and is 'patchy'. It comes and goes in waves but is ok if you dont stream.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
6.9

The hostel was close to the metro which was very helpful and was easy to get around. This place is nothing like a commercial hostel, if that's the place you're looking for. The rooms and bathrooms were not in the best condition. This was fine for me and my boyfriend however as we don't care too much how nice the place as recent college graduates. Biggest complaint was that the rooms were insanely hot, we could hardly sleep at all. The owner is amazingly kind and helpful though!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2017
5.7

Please don't go to Maria Hostel if you respect yourself. The place looks so rundown. All the furniture looks as if it was found on the street. Location is quite bad, far from the city center. Staff is really nice though, they would help you with anything, matresses are fine. We were really unable to sleep here with temperatures up to 36 degrees and windows that couldn't open. No curtains, no bedsheets.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
9.1

Hi from Denmark to the nice hostess who made me and my friends feel really welcome in this nice student-housing-turned-hostel place even after having come back to the hostel a little bit very tipsy:-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2017
10.0

Hi again!!! :) Nice staff! The hostel is really in the center of Budapest. THANK YOU!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
8.9

Perfect location right in the centre. Really nice staff - always smiling and helpful. Stayed in a spacious dorm. It had several desks and also lockers (but almost all the keys had gone missing). I appreciated that I could store my valuables in the staff room. There were no curtains in the room and the wifi did not work at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.