X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Marie-Anns Houseboat/Deo Volente Reviews

Dijksgracht 7, 1019 BT, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
300 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The place is nice, clean and close to city centre. Owner is friendly and very positive!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Location is pretty central - 10mins to Centraal, 25 to Dam Square. Jeff is lovely. The houseboat is clean and cosy, and staying on it was quite a novelty. However (and perhaps we should have anticipated this!), while the area the houseboat is in is quiet, it is certainly not quiet sharing the houseboat with other guests. Inevitably, the living space is very small and the walls are very thin. You might as well be sharing one giant bed and it was all a bit awkward. Otherwise, great and recommended


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

The house was clean, with everything we needed (soap, toilet paper, toothpaste and even pasta). Coffee, tea and cocoa aplenty as well as everything needed to cook. Jeff was very kind and helpful, beyond the call of duty. Very patient and professional. (small) negatives: 1. It was a bit hard to find the first time we arrived to amsterdam. 2. It's about 10 mintues from the central train station. some might prefer a more central location. Next time in Amsterdam, this is my 1st choice. A++++++++++


86%

Rad people. If you`re looking for a more quiet experience than a hostel at nearly hostel prizes, this is a good bet.

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The price is too high for a familiy - there should be a discount for children or a longer stay .... Three plates for 4 persons, that doesn´t work well. It´s not acceptable, to expect a question for those things from guests. WLAN is great :-)

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

A lovely hostel, nr the station (but you can hardly hear the trains), Dam square about a 15 minute walk away. Unlimited free tea and coffee was great, and the fridge for drinks was a great touch (1 euro each). The bathroom could have been a little cleaner, but mostly it was fine. Staff were friendly when we saw them. As this hostel has only 2 bedrooms, it would be perfect for a group of 4. Our stay was only tainted by an amorous French couple - the walls are rather thin! Otherwise, brilliant.

  • 1st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay in a great location. Just a short walk from the station and to Amsterdam centre. Only two rooms, so particularly good if you're travelling in a group of 4 as you have the boat to yourselves! I would stay here again without a doubt.


80%

Owner Jeff is one cool dude. Just to prove it, he never mentioned a check out time, leaving us to stay in bed till 2pm of day we were leaving. This hostel is more of an apartment-style houseboat. It only has two beds. I booked this for two couples, alas, my friends cancelled so it was just my girlfriend and I. However, we had the place to ourselves and it has everything you need plus excellent security. Safe and the boat door locks from inside.


83%

We stayed 2 nights, lovely boat and lovely staff - Bathroom and bedroom are OK and there is a kitchen if you want to make your own food -

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We were very happy to find this nice place. It was all inside and clean and uncomplicated. Very beautiful. Only the mouse on the computer doesn´t work. Peanuts... greetings, Helga and Günther, Dez. 2012

  • 26th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Has everything you need, kitchen, shower; tv, friendly staff, smoking indoors, speakers, all on the coziest houseboat! The perfect place to relax and cook dinner in after a day in the city. It's a little far of a walk to the city center, but a perfect distance if you rent bikes (I would recommend using Discount Bike Rentals for good service and rates). We had a wonderful time on this houseboat; there isnt one thing to complain about, it completed our stay in Amsterdam.


97%

The only trouble we had was finding the hostel on our first night there. We we're in the right part of town but on the wrong side of the water. The hostel itself was great, very helpful and accommodating owner.


89%

We came to Amsterdam just for a short weekend trip. We arrived very late, but that was no problem. Jef was really nice and friendly. The houseboat is very clean and cosy, and it has everything that you need (Towels, Kitchen, Coffee and Tea, PC/Wifi, a Minibar (beer and soft drinks were available for one Euro:-) ) ! The only thing you have to know is that this hostel is more like a shared appartment!! We would recommend Marie-Anns Houseboat


91%

There was nothing to critisize. Everything was perfect and I liked the color combination.


97%

brilliant clean excellent accommodation deceptively spacious don't be put off by the fact it's a boat it's a quirk not a flaw couldn't recommend highly enough manageable 15 minute walk from dam square just means you get to experience more of the city A*********

  • 4th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent. A real find. Very close to the center, for the quality of services offered it's hard to believe this is listed as a hostel. The true quality of this boat wasn't apparent till we stayed on another on the last night with far poorer facilities and very stuffy room conditions. I thoroughly recommend Marie-Anns Houseboat.

  • 3rd Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It was so quiet I felt bad for the folks still sleeping as I showered.


89%

This boat is a great place to stay, family like atmosphere and the staff is really helpful! We had a perfect time!


100%

Marie-Anns was great ! the location is only minutes from the train station and is very central to everything you will want to see int he city, and the experience was amazing.. how many people get to stay on a house boat! it is quiet and private (what we wanted) Marie Ann and her husband are very nice and were a pleasure to talk to. Will definately stay here again!


89%

This was a great little find. The owners were lovely and very helpful. Luckily for us, the Gay Pride Festival was on while we were there and the houseboat was a great location for this event. Amsterdam is quite small so you can pretty much walk anywhere very easily. Also, very close to the train station.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(246 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback