Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Marken Gjestehus

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,589 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,589 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
Marken Gjestehus Located at Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017, Bergen.
Marken Gjestehus
Norway
Bergen Bergen Bergen Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017
88% 1589
60.3922221 5.3315663
Marken Gjestehus
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.7

Great place to stay in bergen. Walking distance to the main terminal and city centre. Had a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
9.4

This place was great! Extremely conveniently located and good value. I stayed here two nights on my way to and from the fjords. I stayed one night in a 12-person room and one night in a 4 person room. I recommend staying in a 4-person room. I docked one for security because I did see the front door open with no-one at the desk, one from facilities because they don't have quite enough venting for the showers (it was a bit muggy). But these points are small and I'd recommend staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
8.6

I liked that there were big lockers and lamps for each bed. Would have been nice to have outlets next to each bed as well. I thought the room was a little cramped for 4 people, maybe eliminate the desk area as it was just one more thing to jumble around. Linens were clean and fluffy would have liked it if beds were made prior to arrival. Staff was friendly and easy to talk to. Location was easily walkable to train station and the harbor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sisleyf
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.0

Toilets are in general not very clean. The kitchen is not very clean. There's only one computer for people to use. Sofas are a bit worn out. But the staffs were very nice. The staff allowed me to use the shower facility after I have checked out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
8.6

A very decent hostel. There wasn't a lot of space to hang out and meet the other people staying at the hostel, but other than that, it was a great place. The location is very central to everything going on in Bergen, and the staff was very helpful. I enjoyed my stay at Marken Gjestehus

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Aug 2016
4.3

Kitchen too small for so many people. Also druing room space too small.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.0

Good place to stay if there were better people in our room. We were in a 10 bed female dorm and the girl in the bunk below kept kicking under the top mattress. Seriously!? We're all backpackers, have some respect. Otherwise the hostel was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate you writing us a review and we welcome all feedback. We are happy to hear that you like our hostel, our staff and cleanliness, We are sorry to hear that your roommate was not so well behaved. Everyone staying in our dormitory rooms are adults, so one would think people would be on their best behavior. We wish to welcome you back for a good night sleep with a better bunk-mate :-)

27th Jul 2016
8.0

The location is great, and everyone was friendly. There are plenty of bathrooms available, and there is a good amount of space in the rooms. The lockers are a bit small, but otherwise good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this lovely review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish to welcome you back to Marken Gjestehus for your next visit to Bergen. Have a fantastic summer :-)

23rd Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel, great employees but it's pretty ridiculous in 2016 to have no charging outlets in the upper bunks. Four people supposed to use a floor outlet is ridiculous. Otherwise, excellent place to stay in Bergen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate you writing us a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish to welcome you back to Bergen and Marken Gjestehus and wish you a great summer :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.7

About a seven minute walk from the centre of town, close to everything really. Bryggen 10 minutes, Kode museums ( four of them) 10 minutes. Secure, friendly, helpful, clean and great value by Norwegian standards. Would highly recommend for 2-4 day visit. Enjoy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this lovely review! We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you liked the great location and our helpful staff. We hope to see you again soon :-)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.