Hostelworld.com

Marken Gjestehus

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
Marken Gjestehus Located at Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017, Bergen.
Marken Gjestehus
Norway
Bergen Bergen Bergen Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017
91% 1525
60.3922221 5.3315663
Marken Gjestehus
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Marken was a great little hostel - it was smaller than I imagined which is a good thing because then there is less noise and chaos! the kitchen was fully stoked - I used it for multiple meals. showers and bathrooms were great. the walls were paper thin and there was nighttime construction outside so it was quite loud but I still managed to sleep! it would have been nice if the reception was open 24/7 because I had a hostel mate that decided to steal my pillow so it would have been easier to fix.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
8.0

I enjoyed my stay here overall. It's a good location but it wasn't it the cleanest (or dirtiest) I've stayed in. There was no atmosphere in the hostel but I was only there a night. The staff was very helpful over email and I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • colinwill60372500
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Apr 2016
8.9

Good hostel, but not much going on when I was there. Bergen isn't much of a backpackers destination in April. I couldn't really ask for more except other people to mingle with. Without the fjord tours, there isn't a whole lot to do unless you can afford to eat and drink a lot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
9.4

I would definitely stay here again - great central location, really friendly and helpful staff, everything you need. Rooms are basic but clean and warm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.9

Well located, near the train station and not far from the city center. We came during the opening hours at the reception but we had to walk in the hostel a little to find the person at the reception. And then we could check in. You have a big locker to put your bag and it comes with a key attached to the key to your room if you are in dorm. The kitchen was well equipped.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review! :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
7.1

The hostel was clean, comfortable and well located. But not all of the beds had powerpoints which was annoying, especially because I was on the top bunk. The limited reception hours might also be difficult for some people. The atmosphere of the hostel was also pretty dead, it wasn't a place to meet friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
9.4

A fantastic place for the money. It would have been nice to have breakfast served on site, but the options provided were pretty good, but cost extra. It wasn't far from the trains station and most of the tourist attractions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.3

Great facilities. Kitchen and bathrooms were clean, kitchen was well stocked. Nice showers. Comfortable beds in the dorms and huge lockers were a bonus. Quite a family environment so not great for socializing and the staff weren't as helpful as we would have hoped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
8.0

It is hard to find any cheap hostel in Norway so actually you don't have many choice but the hostel did it job very well. The hostel is quite big actually, like a maze! Staff was nice. Nice atmosphere. There are a place for hanging out (which is quite next to my room so it is a bit noisy) and a kitchen. I spent just one night so I don't have many things to talk about. However, good hostel in overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • perlinm
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
9.1

Only minor annoyances were A. if you want to leave your luggage at the hostel before your predecessor had checkout out (which in my case was after 12:30), you have to pick it up before 19:00, and B. using the washing machine costs an extra 65 NOK (which was not clear in advance).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.