Hostelworld.com

Marken Gjestehus

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Feb 2017
6.0

Expected more. A homeless guy was staying in my room and aired some extraordinarily offensive views about a number of races and political subjects. Then started shouting in the middle of the night for no reason. There was nobody around to ask for help or assistance at any stage. Also renting a towel is expensive. There's no breakfast available on site which is a pain because it's a walk to anywhere to grab one. Having written all this out - I definitely wouldn't recommend this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very sorry for your negative experience with us. The man you mentioned seemed normal, well dressed and polite when checking in. As soon as we realised what had happened, we told him to leave, which he did. In cases like this, there is a phone in the reception which is directly linked to our night shift. They would have come and sorted this out right away. We will make sure information about this phone is better marked in the rooms and common spaces. Again, we are very sorry for this incidence.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

Not so much a hostel but basic hotel (says it on the door). Not atmosphere and socialization really but a safe, clean place to stay. Compared to other options in the area, I'd definitely stay here again. I was happy with my stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.1

Great location in the middle of town, good kitchen facilities, everyone was super friendly and I got a free upgrade from a 10 girl dorm to a 4 girl dorm, thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Couldn't fault it! Very close to the train station and excellent kitchen for self catering. Had a 4 bed dorm all to myself!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Can't recommend enough. Also amazing views from my room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.1

Nice location - walking distant to all attractions. Facilities are clean and well functioning. 2 supermarkets nearby allowing you to buy some food to cook in order to save money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.1

The girls at reception are so helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
7.1

Had a good time in this hostel, excellent location 5-minute walk to train and bus station, supermarket almost next door and easy to get to. Rooms were acceptable and large lockers provided which was good, negatives are there is a charge for using linen and towels (recommend you take your own). Also no alcohol in common areas which I have never experienced in any other hostel yet. Atmosphere not the best so would not recommend this hostel for a solo traveller. Thanks for an enjoyable new year!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Nov 2016
8.9

Well located between train station & city centre. Friendly staff, good security and good atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Oct 2016
9.4

The location of hostel is perfect! Everything is going well and the staff is so useful! However, in my room the middle aged Malaysian groups set alarm at 5 in the morning and kept talking and moving things for my whole period of stay. Would recommend that the hostel has age limit for youth as some people are not so considerate!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.