Hostelworld.com

Marken Gjestehus

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,549 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,549 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.0
Marken Gjestehus Located at Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017, Bergen.
Marken Gjestehus
Norway
Bergen Bergen Bergen Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017
90% 1549
60.3922221 5.3315663
Marken Gjestehus
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
5th Jun 2016
8.6

Superb location. Very near train and bus station. They have lockers and hair dryers too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Marken Gjestehus. We wish you a lovely summer!

2nd Jun 2016
10.0

I was just here for 1 night - arriving on the train from Oslo late in the evening & checking out early the next morning to fly home. So I really just needed a quiet, comfortable, cheap place to sleep, and Marken Gjestehus provided that. Short walk to/from the train & bus stations. Showers were nice and large enough to comfortably dry off, change clothes, etc. Tall locking cabinets were provided for each bed as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this excellent review! We wish to welcome you back to Marken Gjestehus for your next visit to Bergen. Have a great summer :)

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th May 2016
5.7

(+): Location : Just 3 mins walking from train station, which makes it very convenient for travelers who arrives the city in late evening ; Budget restaurants and supermarket nearby. It is also close to KODE, an art museum with the stunning lake nearby :) Wifi : Stable wifi Staff: Friendly and helpful :) (-): Facility : A very very busy hostel but only with limited quantity of bathrooms. Cleanliness: Dorm is a bit stinky...which makes travelers not comfortable to stay in room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback and will use this to improve our hostel and the experience of our guests. Have a great summer :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th May 2016
7.4

It was a nice, quiet and comfy stay here. However, as a solo traveller, there was no atmosphere to start any socialising. I had some mild conversations with other guests. And that was it. It's more than just a hostel, so expect groups of old people and organised tourists. Rooms and bed were clean and had great views, however, there were only a few plug sockets in awkward places. Location is very good and Bergen is beautiful. Just like the rest of Norway, everything is expensive .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review :-) we wish you a great summer holiday!

  • Amanda_kerr
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd May 2016
8.0

Decent place in a great location. I didn't spend a lot of time there to know if it was exceptionally social or not but the facilities were set up really well (lockers/outlets/number of bathrooms).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Have a great summer :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
8.6

I had a great stay at the Marken Gjestehus. The staff were brilliant and the location couldn't be better. Doesn't take long to wander around and get to know Bergen, and you're never really more than 10 minutes from the hostel. The train station is about 2 minutes away. Lots of facilities (nice kitchen/sitting area), only small issue was that there wasn't really a plug socket easily available from the top bunk where I was. But overall, a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. We wish you all the best on your future travels :)

20th May 2016
10.0

Staff were amazing and I would vote this 2016 hostel for the best in europe! I have been to 7 countries in 7 weeks and stayed at all hostels. Would recommend for all ages and genders.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this fantastic review! We wish you all the best on your future travels and welcome back to Bergen and Marken Gjestehus! :)

  • s_vetier2765
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
18th May 2016
9.7

Well located with everything you need. The rooms are a good size and there are great views. They also had the system set up well for people arriving and leaving when the reception wasn't open.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We welcome you back to Marken Gjestehus for your next visit to bergen :)

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
8.9

Well-equipped kitchen. Large dinning area with nice view of the mountain. Rooms are spacious with large individually locked storage. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sbuster
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th May 2016
9.4

The right word for this hostel is 'lovely' :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this great review. We wish you the best :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.