Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Marken Gjestehus

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1652 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1652 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sebastienmouledous8607
  • France, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.6

Great location, large rooms & lockers, very clean hostel (rooms and bathrooms). The staff was nice. The only negative aspect is the fact there is no à great atmosphere, no friendly common room or bar. But I believe it is the case for all the hostels in Norway. But to conclude, I recommend this hostel in bergen!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
9.1

Set on the 4th floor of a commercial building, this hostel is only a couple of blocks from the train station in the direction of the fisherman's market. All beds include private lockers for luggage. Facilities were adequate although a bit more crammed than most. I found this hostel best suited for travelers in their 20's.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Mar 2017
8.3

I like that there are several toilets and shower rooms outside my room so if my roommates have been to bed I can do everything I need without disturbing anyone. The kitchen also has everything I need and the location is close to the city center. Overall, I have nothing to complain. Just it always depends on luck whether you will have a nice sleep. I was sharing a room with other nine girls, and they were having preparty one of the night, which made the room messy and dirty, yetnot hostel's fault

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.3

Clean and safe hostel, very well located. Beds very comfy and shower really good. Cons:not much atmosphere, no one at reception most of the time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.7

Clean and comfortable stay with homely feel. Reception hours are restricted, but manageable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
9.4

Great atmosphere and location! Lots of warm, inviting common spaces perfect for meeting other travelers or spending time with friends. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful clean rooms with large lockers. I would absolutely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.0

Good location, only a couple of minutes walk to train station or city centre. No atmosphere, like most hostels in northern Europe. No power plugs by bed which was annoying. Big lockers. Plenty of showers. They let you hang around in communal areas and store luggage after checkout

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Feb 2017
6.0

Expected more. A homeless guy was staying in my room and aired some extraordinarily offensive views about a number of races and political subjects. Then started shouting in the middle of the night for no reason. There was nobody around to ask for help or assistance at any stage. Also renting a towel is expensive. There's no breakfast available on site which is a pain because it's a walk to anywhere to grab one. Having written all this out - I definitely wouldn't recommend this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very sorry for your negative experience with us. The man you mentioned seemed normal, well dressed and polite when checking in. As soon as we realised what had happened, we told him to leave, which he did. In cases like this, there is a phone in the reception which is directly linked to our night shift. They would have come and sorted this out right away. We will make sure information about this phone is better marked in the rooms and common spaces. Again, we are very sorry for this incidence.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

Not so much a hostel but basic hotel (says it on the door). Not atmosphere and socialization really but a safe, clean place to stay. Compared to other options in the area, I'd definitely stay here again. I was happy with my stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.1

Great location in the middle of town, good kitchen facilities, everyone was super friendly and I got a free upgrade from a 10 girl dorm to a 4 girl dorm, thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.