Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Marken Gjestehus

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,564 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,564 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
Marken Gjestehus Located at Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017, Bergen.
Marken Gjestehus
Norway
Bergen Bergen Bergen Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017
90% 1564
60.3922221 5.3315663
Marken Gjestehus
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.7

About a seven minute walk from the centre of town, close to everything really. Bryggen 10 minutes, Kode museums ( four of them) 10 minutes. Secure, friendly, helpful, clean and great value by Norwegian standards. Would highly recommend for 2-4 day visit. Enjoy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • garrettlansdown
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.1

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Great staff, very clean, comfy beds, beautiful views from the bedrooms, good wifi, my only complaint was that the bathrooms were so small that I could hardly do anything in there. The staff was very helpful with any questions or problems I had.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that you liked the cleanliness, the beautiful views and our helpful staff members. We hope to see you again soon. Have a lovely summer :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
5.1

Big lockers in rooms. Very few showers and toilets shared between the whole floor of dorms. No atmosphere, very unfriendly environment that is not ideal for solo travellers or anyone wanting to meet people. Good location near the station and ferries.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! It is unfortunate that you did not have the best experience. We have a variety of people staying with us. Sometimes it is easy to meet people here and sometimes people are outside in the city for most of their stay. We have two areas in the hostel for showers and toilets, one area further in that might not have been visible. We hope you have a great summer holiday :-)

2nd Jul 2016
10.0

Wonderful. Close to the train station, easy to find. Very kind, welcoming & professional staff. Great security, elevator enters to the front desk & big lockers. Comfortable beds, room with 4 beds just as comfortable as 10 beds. Kitchen, reading area, lots of bathrooms. Very clean & given crisp ironed sheets. Will stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this fantastic review! We appreciate the kind words and are very happy that you have enjoyed you time at our Guesthouse. We hope to see you again soon! Enjoy your summer holiday :-)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.9

The hostel was located in an excellent part of town near the historic downtown. It was a good price, and there was a full kitchen. This hostel was not extravagant but it had everything you needed. It was a good stay for a few nights. Takk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this great review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our good prices. We wish you a wonderful summer holiday :-)

24th Jun 2016
8.9

Great location between train/bus station and harbour. Clean and cosy place, well equipped and nicely decorated. Kitchen and common areas all very pleasant. Lovely old wood panelled lift to get you to reception. Represents very good value for Bergen. One small gripe: not enough power points, and those in the dorm were poorly located. Overall probably the best value accomodation in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We thank you for this lovely review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our cosy Guesthouse and our great location. We hope to see you again in Bergen :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.1

The hostel is centrally located. The staff was very friendly. The kitchen was clean and surprisingly well equipped. I can really recommend to stay there, especially if you want to cook for yourself

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We very much appreciate your lovely review! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our Guesthouse and that you would recommend it to your friends. We wish to welcome you back to stay with us for your next visit to Bergen :-)

16th Jun 2016
10.0

Great place to stay in Bergen - very close to train/bus station. Staff very helpful! Would stay here again when in Bergen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this fantastic review! It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
5th Jun 2016
8.6

Superb location. Very near train and bus station. They have lockers and hair dryers too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Marken Gjestehus. We wish you a lovely summer!

2nd Jun 2016
10.0

I was just here for 1 night - arriving on the train from Oslo late in the evening & checking out early the next morning to fly home. So I really just needed a quiet, comfortable, cheap place to sleep, and Marken Gjestehus provided that. Short walk to/from the train & bus stations. Showers were nice and large enough to comfortably dry off, change clothes, etc. Tall locking cabinets were provided for each bed as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this excellent review! We wish to welcome you back to Marken Gjestehus for your next visit to Bergen. Have a great summer :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.