Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Marken Gjestehus

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
Marken Gjestehus Located at Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017, Bergen.
Marken Gjestehus
Norway
Bergen Bergen Bergen Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017
90% 1573
60.3922221 5.3315663
Marken Gjestehus
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.0

Good place to stay if there were better people in our room. We were in a 10 bed female dorm and the girl in the bunk below kept kicking under the top mattress. Seriously!? We're all backpackers, have some respect. Otherwise the hostel was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate you writing us a review and we welcome all feedback. We are happy to hear that you like our hostel, our staff and cleanliness, We are sorry to hear that your roommate was not so well behaved. Everyone staying in our dormitory rooms are adults, so one would think people would be on their best behavior. We wish to welcome you back for a good night sleep with a better bunk-mate :-)

27th Jul 2016
8.0

The location is great, and everyone was friendly. There are plenty of bathrooms available, and there is a good amount of space in the rooms. The lockers are a bit small, but otherwise good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this lovely review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish to welcome you back to Marken Gjestehus for your next visit to Bergen. Have a fantastic summer :-)

23rd Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel, great employees but it's pretty ridiculous in 2016 to have no charging outlets in the upper bunks. Four people supposed to use a floor outlet is ridiculous. Otherwise, excellent place to stay in Bergen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate you writing us a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish to welcome you back to Bergen and Marken Gjestehus and wish you a great summer :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.7

About a seven minute walk from the centre of town, close to everything really. Bryggen 10 minutes, Kode museums ( four of them) 10 minutes. Secure, friendly, helpful, clean and great value by Norwegian standards. Would highly recommend for 2-4 day visit. Enjoy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this lovely review! We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you liked the great location and our helpful staff. We hope to see you again soon :-)

  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Very nice hostel, extremely well-located in the old town of Bergen. The room was cosy and comfortable, the facilities were good, with lots of common space for guests. Would totally stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this excellent review! It is great to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay with us. We wish to welcome you back to stay with us in the future. Have a lovely summer :-)

  • garrettlansdown
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.1

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Great staff, very clean, comfy beds, beautiful views from the bedrooms, good wifi, my only complaint was that the bathrooms were so small that I could hardly do anything in there. The staff was very helpful with any questions or problems I had.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that you liked the cleanliness, the beautiful views and our helpful staff members. We hope to see you again soon. Have a lovely summer :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
5.1

Big lockers in rooms. Very few showers and toilets shared between the whole floor of dorms. No atmosphere, very unfriendly environment that is not ideal for solo travellers or anyone wanting to meet people. Good location near the station and ferries.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! It is unfortunate that you did not have the best experience. We have a variety of people staying with us. Sometimes it is easy to meet people here and sometimes people are outside in the city for most of their stay. We have two areas in the hostel for showers and toilets, one area further in that might not have been visible. We hope you have a great summer holiday :-)

2nd Jul 2016
10.0

Wonderful. Close to the train station, easy to find. Very kind, welcoming & professional staff. Great security, elevator enters to the front desk & big lockers. Comfortable beds, room with 4 beds just as comfortable as 10 beds. Kitchen, reading area, lots of bathrooms. Very clean & given crisp ironed sheets. Will stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this fantastic review! We appreciate the kind words and are very happy that you have enjoyed you time at our Guesthouse. We hope to see you again soon! Enjoy your summer holiday :-)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.9

The hostel was located in an excellent part of town near the historic downtown. It was a good price, and there was a full kitchen. This hostel was not extravagant but it had everything you needed. It was a good stay for a few nights. Takk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this great review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our good prices. We wish you a wonderful summer holiday :-)

24th Jun 2016
8.9

Great location between train/bus station and harbour. Clean and cosy place, well equipped and nicely decorated. Kitchen and common areas all very pleasant. Lovely old wood panelled lift to get you to reception. Represents very good value for Bergen. One small gripe: not enough power points, and those in the dorm were poorly located. Overall probably the best value accomodation in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We thank you for this lovely review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our cosy Guesthouse and our great location. We hope to see you again in Bergen :-)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.