X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Marlon's House Puno Reviews

Av. La Torre 449, Puno, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
353 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

We stayed here two night, one before and one after our lake titicaca tour. The room was big and bed comfy but very noisy. There was a lot of shouting and noise from the street which continued most the night. This hostel is not really for socialising. There isn't a bar that we saw but it is good as a stop over


91%

Very kind Staff, very helpful, book everything through them as they will get you a good price even for a taxi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thank you so much for visit Marlon's House Puno. We really appreciate your contribution and give us a good score, we hope you are fine and we wish you all the best for you... God bless you friends. :) :) :)

46%

Terrible location! Its on a busy street corner at a big junction, the noise late and early is ridiculous from traffic. There was no hot water and its really cold high up in the morning. The breakfast was stale bread and jam. So if all this sounds appealing this is your place. We moved after 1 night. The staff were all indifferent too, no help


69%

When I was there I think there were only a handful of other guests staying at the hostel, which is 4 floors. No real common area to hang out. Very basic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, we hope you are fine :) thank for visit Marlon's House Puno, the day that you arrived there wasn't people on dorms room :( therefore you were not possible to meet other guest, but you haven't think that all days is empty the dorm rooms. we have on the four flour a living room with big sofas games, tv DVD to see movies... well, thank again for visit our home. Have good day God bless you friend :):):)

80%

Als je nog nooit een drijvend eiland hebt gezien, ga dan naar PUNO voor 1 of 2 dagen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hallo, bedankt voor de suggestie over de eilanden in Puno en tovisit Marlon's huis Puno. hebben een goede dag :)

91%

Friendly staff. Nice middle ground between hotel and hostel with only 4 beds in the dorms. Good tv area and English language DVDs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thank for you score about Marlon's House Puno. (we also have dorm with 3 beds :) ) you will help us to improve our job :) have a good day

94%

Marlon's House is definitely a good value. It is clean, has a nice living room on the 4th floor, free tea all day long and the breakfast was good (bread, eggs, coffee, juice). Not a far walk from the center of town (10 minutes or so). Private rooms are big with comfy beds. Kitchen is on the roof and not well stocked, which is inconvenient, but everything worked. We would recommend it to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thank for you score about Marlon's House Puno and for your comment , we are happy because you help us to improve our job and we are happy also because you had a good time here. thank for visit Peru,Puno and Marlon's House :) have a good day

97%

really nice, very friedly staff, you have to walk 10 to 15 minutes to the plaza armas. You are able to book a lot of trips in the hostel, really good service.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello :) thank for you score about Marlon's House Puno and for your review, we are happy because you had a good time here have a good day

86%

Marlons house is a great wee place in Puno, its a little walk from the centre and tthe touristy streets but not far for all the ameneties you would need for a long stay. Great idea having DVDs to watch in the common area. We stayed here twice and both times had good views of the city and the lake in the distance. Wifi is great and they have a computer with good internet should you wish. Clean and cheap stay in Puno and plenty places to chill and chat to folk.


89%

Nice and clean. For the price in a dorm I really think you can't ask for more! Egg for breakfast included! The shower was very hot, eventually, but you have to wait some minutes. DO NOT BOOK the tours in the hostel. In the city you pay much less, and you get the same exact tour (we were with people who paid double the price). Don't miss the two days tour in the islands, sleeping in a local community, awesome and very real experience with people who lives there! We paid 75 sol each


74%

The main guy on reception was really helpful, good English. The best bit was that we arrived around 6am after a night bus from Cusco and we were able to check in and have a sleep before going out again. A few communal areas although we didn't use them. Plenty of blankets so didn't get cold at all. The room was pretty noisy but a good view as huge windows. If you're a light sleeper take ear plugs!

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

We only had one night in Puno but the hostel was perfect for what we needed. The staff were helpful and they made you scrambled eggs for breakfast! Only downside was that the rooms didn't have lockers to store valuables.


91%

Security was good as you have to ring the bell for entry every time. It is located around 5-7-mintue taxi ride from the bus terminal. Staff was nice and helpful. I like the common area on the 4/F as it is right outside the dorm, indoor, which allow those who wants to sleep early to stay in the room. And those want to chill out for a while right outside the room still warm and comfy without walking a long distance. It is clean. Both wifi and HOT water are very stable.


63%

Big and simple rooms. Ice cold showers. No perks but super cheap so you get what you pay for. Nice staff.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice and spacious rooms. I could imagine that in busier times an extra shared bathroom would be good (there was only one)


89%

Really nice hostel - perfect if you're looking for somewhere peaceful where you can just chill out and watch a movie. The dorms are literally just hotel rooms with 4 beds in so you've got plenty of space. The en-suite bathroom is very clean and we found that the hot water was reasonably reliable. The kitchen area could be better though, there is a staff only kitchen downstairs which I think hostel guests should be able to use. Overall a good, clean hostel which is good value for money.


83%

Hot water, wifi and breakfast all good. Engish speaking channel on the TV (most of the time).10 minute stroll to main area of restaurants and plaza. BIG supermarket nearby. Organised tours for us to Sillustani and Uros Islands. Had a room at the front which got a lot of sunshine so kept the room warm. Bit noisy but had ear plugs.


60%

Room and bed were big but unfortunately, I was bitten by bed bugs on my second night of stay. There was only one bathroom to be shared by all which can pose some problems sometimes


91%

Staff are very friendly and helpful! Nice hangout area with a decent DVD collection. Breakfast was very basic, but good value for money overall. I would recommend this place.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel had quite a hotel feel to it, and the breakfast was really good. Also, it is quite close to the central locations in the city and the staff were really nice.


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Puno Hostels

Please give us your feedback