X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Marmara Guesthouse Reviews

15 / 2 Sultanahmet, Akbiyik Caddesi Terbiyik Sokak, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
449 Total Reviews
  • 98%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It was a lovely stay at Marmara Guesthouse. It surely gives you the best value for money with warm hospitality that you could ever wish for. The breakfast was lavish.


94%

Even though our flight was delayed from Paris and we arrived very late in Instanbul, the staff was on hand and very accommodating. The room itself was comfortable, with a quaint little couryard and the breakfast was excellent, though it was a bit too windy to enjoy eating it on the terrace. The staff were also quite knowledgable about nearby tourist sites and how to use the public transit system. Wish we could have spent a few more nights at Marmara Guesthouse!

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a 5 minute walk from Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. I was not prepared for the gorgeous, spotless rooms in this place. Four-poster bed, brocaded bedding, large bathroom. Then there's the marvelous patio area that looks out over the Mediterranean. The breakfast was stellar with freshly squeezed juices and a large buffet of dishes. The staff was so kind particularly the morning crew.


94%

We loved staying there. It was good value: we had everything we needed and the location was very close to the main places we wanted to visit. We enjoyed chatting with other guests and staff over breakfast. It was quiet at night.


100%

Great place to stay with awesome staff, excellent location, exceptional comfort and cleanliness, and What a BKFT!!

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a great place to stay, close to the old section and easy access to the tram for other areas. The best part of our stay is the staff--helpful, friendly and accommodating! Thanks Marmara!

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you very much everyone - you are all marvellous. You were so helpful, you made our stay so personal, your breakfasts were utterly delicious (and we are missing them and that lovely terrace overlooking the sea!) and we felt that we were among friends. Our rooms were beautiful - we loved the wall hangings and the four-poster beds - and we wished we had shower rooms at home like yours! And everything was so clean.

  • 30th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very very comfortable & charming accommodations, charming atmospher , clean and well run guesthouse. Elife and her staff are warm, helpful & professional. Rooftop open garden patio & enclosed dinning, where a fresh & delicious breakfast is served, available in the evening for guests.

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Really helpful staff nothing was too much trouble eg booking best seats possible for a show. We had a lovey room upstairs and the breakfast was fantastic

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff very helpful in confirming pickups etc for our next trip. Location was close to lots of good restsurants

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Fantastic location, lovely staff, massive and comprehensive breakfast included. Modest but comfy room. Only drawback was strong smell of mildew in bathroom. It looked and felt clean, but smelled. (Room 302) Still, this was a great place to stay and a great value! Staff was so helpful, and the terrace overlooking the Bosphorus was wonderful. If you have trouble with stairs this place is not a good pick. Breakfast is on the 4th floor terrace, no elevator, steep stairs.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It was more than I hoped for, from gorgeous breakfasts on the roof terrace overlooking the Bosphorous, to friendly chats with guests and staff alike, to say nothing of the proximity of the historic center

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Marmara-- the staff was so friendly and so helpful; breakfast was AMAZING beyond words. Everything about my stay was perfect!

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback