Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Martin's lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Aug 2017
8.6

We had booked a private room in the hostel but because of an issue with the room, Filipa moved us into an apartment in the center of Peniche, and we had a great time. Filipa is a great host and I'm sure staying at the hostel would have been great as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
2.0

Do not stay here!! This was a bad experience, and from what I can tell from reviews on Google, this is not the first time this has happened. Our room was "double booked" probably on purpose, and we were given a random room about an hour walk from the hostel. The whole thing felt dodgy. We had booked Martins lodge hostel, but this is not what we got. We were told on the morning of our stay and were given shady answers when I asked what was going on.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
31st Jul 2017
9.1

View is insane! From the common area in hostel and rooftop. Makes it totally worth it. Location is good too being in between the two beaches. Filipe also has her own boards and wetsuits you can use for a great price! Very chilled place with a homely feel to it, would stay again 👍🏼

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.3

Fillippa is absolutely lovely and wonderful host. The place is quite hard to find and could do with some much better directions on the site. It is a big residential apartment building so not quite a "Lodge" but the facilities are good and the rooms are fine. The key to the front door really needs to be changed as it is a mission to get into and frustrating when there is no one around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2017
9.1

Stayed for 3 nights Felipa went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and even took us out on our first night, amazing sunset view from the roof, would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
10.0

Very homely hostel. Filippa was sweet and helpful. Would return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
10.0

I loved my stay at Martin's Lodge! This was easily the best hostel I had the pleasure of staying at while on my trip through Spain and Portugal. Martin is a charmer and Filipa makes you feel right at home. I can't wait to return to Peniche and stay at Martin's Lodge again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Jul 2017
9.1

Personally felt like the hostel had a very good atmosphere! Tallest building in Peniche, so roof terrace gives a nice 360 degree view of the town. Rooms and washrooms were very clean and wifi worked great. Very close to both beaches and supermarkets! Also staff is flexible and understanding of your situation which I think is rare in many hostels. I would definitely recommend if you are staying in Peniche!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2017
10.0

Had a great time at Martin's Lodge in Peniche! Filipa was an amazing host, she took us out to beach parties, cooked us a Portuguese dinner and was always up for going out for drinks and hanging out. Loved staying at this hostel, thanks for everything Filipa :)!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samanthabeha3939
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
10.0

Hands down BEST hostel I have stayed in. The hostel owner Filipa was extremely helpful and super fun! She looked after us and went above and beyond for us! Would defitnely reccomend to stay here! Clean and tidy and everything you could ask for in a hostel! Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.