X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Masada Backpacker Reviews

1st Floor, No.9, Jalan Masjid Lama, Mosque Valley, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
551 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Good location and staffs.Clean and quiet. Deserve to recommed to your friends.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The reception is 24 hour. The staff have provided extensive tour information for you to peruse and can help you with almost any issue you may have. Somehow, they provide drinks (beer) cheaper than just about any shop. I found the beds to be excellent, firm, with good pillows. I was lucky enough to sleep on a normal bed too. The common area is great and I was able to meet some really great people there. Most people go here to climb Mt Kinablu, which I am sad say is a bit of a tourist trap


100%

My wife & I love Masada, the staff were excellent and very helpful, especially Gina, special thank you to you all. Best wishes & regards. Alfred & Hilda Ong XXXXXXXXXXXX

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

It was the best hostel I have ever met. Masada had bought me a very nice trip experience. I will choose it again if I go to Kota kinabalu next time.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

地点好,市中心,干净整洁,还有可以晾衣服的地方,老板很热情,还帮忙介绍可以游览的地点,早餐虽然有点简陋,但是随意吃,挺不错的

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Perfect place! Not far from the River Front. Clean. Friendly staff!!! Would stay there again!


94%

Dislike nothing.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I received an E-mail from Masada Backpacker,told me to prepare all the things before setting off.very friendly. "we attached herewith the airport bus time table if you prefer to get here by bus at RM 5.00 per person, (you can buy your ticket at the airport bus ticket booth at the arrival hall); the bus stop is just nearby and it take about 5 minutes walk to our place only. Of course the easiest and most convenience way is by taxi at RM 30.00 per taxi, as it will drop you just in front of us. "

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

They sold beer cheaper than 7/11!


91%

I love this hostel! It was a very pleasant stay here with a big group of friends here. The place is very clean, with bed sheet changed daily! Simple breakfast included fresh cup of coffee, banana, toast with butter & jam. The atmosphere is good. Staffs always smiling :) The only thing I wish to comment is there is no separate basin for teeth brushing which could be a little inconvenient. Totally value for money!


97%

Clean place, quite convenient. 24hr staff, not exactly chatty but friendly enough. Would recommend.


97%

此次KK旅行住了4間青年旅社!就這間最好,果然大家的看法一致.非常清潔,工作人員也很熱心!在每個床位都有一個插頭這是我在其它YH沒有看到的!下次若是還有機會來KK我一定也選擇住這裡!


100%

Great Place and friendly staff!


83%

Very nice place in KK. I only stayed one night. The staff is very helpful and the atmosphere is pleasant.


100%

Feel like home.its the best hostel I have been stayed ever. Met so many cool friends. I will definitely go there again

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Very simple and straight forward Hostel. The location is good but not great with the main shopping area being about 1km from the main CBD. This 1km walk seems to be a gauntlet of taxi and buses all vying for your money. I felt that the rating this hostel has received is a little high, however I don't doubt that it is one of the better hotels in the town.


100%

Really like stay at home!Perfect!


91%

I really loved Masada and stayed on two occasions, first in the dorm and then in a private room. Staff are very welcoming

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were really friendly. I went out one night and came back home late. They were really worried about me. A small clean place with friendly staff. At the end of the day all you want is a safe place to stay :)


77%

Hostel is alright. Information how to get there could be better because there are cheaper ways than taking a taxi from the airport! During my stay there were a few families with to many kids at the hostel what I dont like to much. I prefer the cozy Backpacker atmosphere but that can be different at others times.


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Kota Kinabalu Hostels

Please give us your feedback