Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Masada Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.0

Good quiet hostel, to perfect for pre or post Mt kinabalu. Staff are lovely locals, mostly women who are kind and polite. Free breakfast is the usual fare of white bread, jam, cornflakes and milk but they also serve fruit (watermelon and banana) which is very welcome. We stayed in the private rooms, very basic but comfortable. no windows.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
8.6

Masada backpacker was a great hostel, the water filter was great and the breakfast was lovely (toast and jam, with fruit). The lockers were secure and the free washing machine was an added bonus. The staff were also really helpful to my friend with reuniting her with a lost item. Thanks!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jul 2017
8.3

Nice place, clean and tidy. Friendly staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Nataschajs
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
14th Jul 2017
7.7

Great place in good location, central KK. We washed all our clothes while we were here, very nice with the free washing facilities. Bed was nice and comfy, no locks on the dorm room though, but we had lockers in the room. Breakfast nothing special, but nice coffee. Showers were nice with hot water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • M-englander7281
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2017
7.4

It's a nicer enough place but not much of a backpacker atmosphere. Would stay again but if you can get a bed at faloe hostel you would be much happier for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2017
10.0

i stayed here on and off during my month in kk...as do many other well seasoned borneo travelers that are doing research and studying there as they come in and out of the rainforest so it is an interesting conversation one can have at the breakfast table.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
8.9

Stayed during trip to climb Mt Kinabalu in a private room. Overall a very nice hostel. Decor is a bit dated but it's still clean and has everything you need. Self-serve laundry was very useful and much appreciated. We stayed in 2 different rooms, in our first room the AC was positioned awkwardly and blew freezing air directly onto our face while the second room was fine. Uber is so cheap in Malaysia that walking distance is less relevant but location was still convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
8.9

Good hostel, beds comfy, espresso machine, lots of communal space, free washing machine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd May 2017
9.7

Nice hostel. We stayed in a private room and although the AC didnt work properly the first night they were very fast to fix it the next day. The showers and toilets were very clean and staff were helpful. Around a 10 minute walk from the waterfront (although crossing the roads can be a nightmare!) and close to restaurants. The breakfast was was provided and was good :) Good wifi and nice place overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
8.9

Great place for few days or more, KK is a easy city to get to know, location a bit dodgy but not bad, within 7 min to main waterfront. Hot strong showers a major bonus, freaking expresso machine for breakie!!! Good coffee for sure! Local brew too, fresh fruit with toast/cereal...all sinks have mirror, info for buses to other places and quiet upstairs hang-out room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.