Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Masada Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,083 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,083 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Masada Backpacker Located at 1st Floor, No.9, Jalan Masjid Lama, Mosque Valley, Kota Kinabalu.
Masada Backpacker
Malaysia
Kota Kinabalu 88000 1st Floor, No.9, Jalan Masjid Lama, Mosque Valley
88% 1083
5.9783236 116.0766077
Masada Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
9.4

Friendly and helpful staff. Use of washing machine is a huge plus. WiFi can be slow if a lot of people are connected at once. Positive atmosphere, kept very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • paulabernasor
  • Philippines, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Nov 2016
7.7

The staff were nice and the place was well worth the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
9.1

Next to bus stop and 15mins to biggest mall Multiple clean bathrooms Friendly staff Free breakfast with variety choices Lockers in room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Oct 2016
7.7

Beds were comfy and the wifi was really good. Rooms had AC and showers/toilets really clean. The staff were very friendly and breakfast is provided. We were in a private room so didn't really meet anyone else, although I think there were some other people in the hostel. If you want to socialise and meet people, you could try being in a dorm. If not, this hostel is the perfect place to stop over and have some down time before moving somewhere else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
8.3

As the boards in the hostel mention...its a backpacking hostel, not the Hilton. With that being said it was clean and comfortable. Bunk beds, lockers for valuables and shelves for you baha. Shared toilet and bathrooms. Free breakfast consisting of bread, jam, butter, coffee, bananas. Basic. There is a "living room" with some books, couch to chill. The hostel doesn't have a super social vibe but I ended up inviting a girl from my room out for drinks and we hung the rest of my trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
9.4

Perfect location, friendly staff, value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
10.0

Great staff and facilities. Would recommend. Also in a good location to catch the bus to Kinabalu National Park.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
5.1

The wifi does not work. There are ants everywhere and cockroaches in the bathroom. Staff is not helpful what so ever. Definitely not worth the money

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • laurenmiele
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

Hostels are limited in KK and I'm so happy I stumbled on this one. I met so many amazing people passing through who were hiking mount Kinabalu so overall I would say the atmosphere is great. The rooms are basic but the hot shower is quite nice. They have good wifi and a washing machine you can use. Convenient shops and restaurants all close by, and the airport shuttle / buses are just a couple blocks away. The staff was beyond accommodating during my stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2016
5.7

The location is a little further from major shopping mall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.