Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Masada Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Feb 2017
8.3

Great place to stay, I came and went 3 different times, and kept checking back in. They held my luggage while climbing the mountain. Everything is clean, beds are comfortable. Good location to explore the city!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
8.0

We really enjoyed our stay! Staff cleanliness were very good so much so we stayed 2 extra nights!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Jan 2017
6.3

The hostel is pretty comfortable and definitely clean. However, location wise it's a little further than the main happening streets. The roads are a little dark and quiet. Traveling sole and being a female, I had to have my guards up. Just in case.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.6

We stayed here for the remained of our time in Kota Kinabalu, as it was situated in the city and makes it easy to get around. The hostel is clean and tidy and there is always a member of staff around if you need any help. The facilities here were good especially on days when we were not too busy, they have access to computers and TV, where you can watch a selection of movies. The breakfast in the morning was basic but it is what you make it, they also have coffee and water available for guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
9.1

Had a good stay. Staff very friendly, good location (15 minute walk to jetty, night market, etc. Nothing fancy, but good for the price. Only complaint was the wifi was spotty, however I was unable to find good wifi anywhere in Borneo : )

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
9.4

I think this is a brilliant hostel. The location is great. The beds are very comfortable, they give you two pillows! Nice sized lockers. Multiple showers and toilets. Great breakfast! Wifi was lightning fast and they have a washing machine thanks free for you to use!!! I have been to hostels all over earth and that is a first for me.. My only complaint would be that the showers have hot water heaters but don't work. I am coming back from the jungle to stay again tomorrow night. 👍🏽

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
10.0

The people were great, always there to answer questions or assist! Laundry is free, just need your own powder! And the air con, a blessing in Asia!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Dec 2016
9.7

Good location and nice rooms. Atmosphere was a bit quiet when I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2016
9.7

Enjoyed my stay here. Helpful staff. Good breakfast. Laundry machine available at no cost. Clean and secure. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
6.6

Dorms on the ground floor have no windows which is quite claustrophobic. Besides, they lead to the common area and entrance which means that they get quite a bit of noise from people checking in late or early in the morning. Would not recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.