X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Masada Backpacker Reviews

1st Floor, No.9, Jalan Masjid Lama, Mosque Valley, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
682 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It is a very clean and pleasant accommodation, with free coffee and milo all day long. Though it was located in a small lane, sometimes it would be a little bit dangerous while walking back from downtown. If don't get outside too late it would be ok. Very quiet, and the staff are all so nice. It's a very pleasant place.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I only stayed for a short time but I really enjoyed it nonetheless. The staff were very kind in that they arranged a gluten free breakfast for me before I headed off to climb Mt Kinabalu. Thank you :)


91%

Really nice hostel if you're in KK. Good showers, comfy beds with 2 pillows! (luxury) and free tea/coffee/hot chocoloate. Also there are two computers and free wifi. Would definitely recommend.


89%

Staff really friendly and helpful, great location.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent stay and pleasant experience with the friendly staff. The blankets are super comfortable; almost like a 5-star hotel! Breakfast and coffee is superb. Would had been better if my bed would had come with a plug point for charging my phone (only realize mine was the only one without).

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

A very nice an safe place to stay at! Meet a lot of people as well, which is good since I travelled alone. Soo nice staff, they will help with everything and a bit more :)


100%

An excellent hostel, central, spotlessly clean, staff very helpful, a generous breakfast with space to relax in comfort. Highly recommended


100%

Looking forward to stay here every time i went to KK. Good place to stay.


97%

loved this hostel. great location right beside all the bus sties. very clean and comfy beds.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Clean, comfy and nice staffs, can't ask more:)


83%

I have stay in Masada backpacker hostel 2 nights 3 days. Everything was more than I expected. We can use hot water. There is no ants in room. Staffs are kind to visitors, and everyday they make up room for us. Besides, it is located near the waterfront, Sunday market and Helen beauty massage shop. I really want to recommend you this hostel if you want to stay KK in fair price!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Centrally located, near city bus terminals, good breakfast and other facilities, spotlessly clean and very helpful staff Highly recommended


86%

Nice and clean hostel. Dorm was good, had lockers and shelf for backpacks.


86%

Our stay at Masada was really good. The staff is nice and very helpful. Walking distance from the night market and from the jetty to reach the taman abdul rahman islands. Very clean and nice atmosphere.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This is a really good place to meet lots of people if you are traveling alone.


86%

Super clean hostel with a great breakfast. Staff can set up any excursions you may want. Felt safe and comfortable the whole stay. Air conditioning was super cold which was a huge plus.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is nice, and they provide a breakfast in the morning, and tea and coffee throughout the day.


97%

This is the sort of place I have in mind when I imagine a proper youth hostel. The design encourages people to socialize, the staff is trained to give the information we all need, solid breakfast, clean, etc. Highly recommend while in KK.


77%

I stayed in the six bed female dorm, simple but nice and clean with lockers. It's pretty quite but that might just be the location as well. Close to the markets and water front. I had a pair of Birkenstocks stolen from the porch within the first ten minutes of arriving but it could've easily been other guests. Everything else was good!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, best place in KK. Great location close to bus stops and waterfront. Well worth staying here plus breakfast is included!


(57 results)


View all Kota Kinabalu Hostels

Please give us your feedback