Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Masaya Hostel Bogotá

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 873 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 873 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • melissatovar27
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
10.0

This hostel was one of the best I've stayed at. Such a peaceful environment yet still very good for socializing. The staff at the front desk were always so helpful when I came to them with various questions/ recommendations about the city. I will definitely stay here once again when I return to Bogota in the future. Thanks for a great stay Masaya!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Mar 2017
9.4

This is a lovely hostel & highly recommended for location, helpful staff, facilities, ambience & very good breakfast. I was however disappointed by the very central location of the more expensive double rooms, which means they can be noisy in the day & evening. Many of the rooms are tucked away at the back which is quieter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment, we are sorry you had have some noisy issues, we are working to improve it. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

12th Mar 2017
10.0

Nicest hostel in La Candelaria! Private rooms look out onto a central courtyard. Restaurant/bar gives travellers an option of staying in and relaxing. Food was excellent! There was a singer/ guitarist providing traditional entertainment the evening we were there - they were terrific! The room was large and comfortable, with a spacious modern bathroom. Staff was professional, kind, and helpful. We look forward to returning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment, we really appreciate it Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

6th Mar 2017
8.6

Good hostel, hot showers, good breakfast, dorm beds have curtains and have warm duvets. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thansk a lot for your comment Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

22nd Feb 2017
8.0

Nice place to stay, I stayed on a shared room with 4 other people, bunks were clean and comfortable, breakfast was too expensive for what they give, cereals, milk and eggs for 8,000, better just walk outside and get a real breakfast for 4,000. We went on the party bus to the Andres Carne de Rez, the location is amazing but the party bus with unlimited drink, had limited drinks, cheap Ron and aguardiente to mix with nothing else than Coca Cola, so in other words 70,000 was to expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for your comment, we recall you that ur breakfast includes cereal, milk, eggs, bread, juice, coffee, tea, chocolate and fruits for $8.000 COP. On the other hand, we will keep in mind your suggestion about the party bus to improve our offer. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.1

We were only here for 2 days so it's difficult to judge but it was perfect for our stay. The showers were lovely and warm and the forms were nice with a curtain to each bed to provide a bit of privacy. It was also a great location. Not sure about the vibe of the hostel in regards to meeting loads of people though...it just all seemed very chilled. We liked it a lot though and would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment, we always work hard to give to all our guests the best experience ever. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Feb 2017
10.0

Very nice clean ensuite private rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment, we appreciate it. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Would happily recommend people to stay at this hostel. It's lovely and clean, dorm rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. They offer various nightly activities to join in on too. Only one issue is with the gent working behind the front desk, he came across as rude from the initial meeting and throughout the stay wanted to charge me for repairs to a locker that was already damaged when we checked in (luckily another guest came to the rescue). Would still stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for your comment, we are sorry about the problem you had with the front desk staff, it was a misunderstanding because of he understood you were reporting you broke the locker, apologize about that situation. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

Probably the best hostel I've stayed at. Maybe a little too quiet for my tastes but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment, we try to have a place where everybody can enjoy but also can rest well. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
6.3

Masaya Hostel really doesn't live up to expectations. If you're looking for a decent nights sleep you won't find it here. The dorm bedrooms are damp and smelly. The bed was so uncomfortable, the bottom of the mattress (if you can call it that) touched the wooden planks, all the wood creaked every time someone moved. The door creaked so loudly every time it opened. All communal areas are right outside the dorm bedrooms. So other guests that don't respect the rules regarding noise wake you up.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment We are so sorry you had problems to sleep, we will take in mind your comment in order to improve our facilities and services. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.