Hostelworld.com

Masaya Hostel Bogotá

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 858 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 858 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Feb 2017
10.0

Very nice clean ensuite private rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment, we appreciate it. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Would happily recommend people to stay at this hostel. It's lovely and clean, dorm rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. They offer various nightly activities to join in on too. Only one issue is with the gent working behind the front desk, he came across as rude from the initial meeting and throughout the stay wanted to charge me for repairs to a locker that was already damaged when we checked in (luckily another guest came to the rescue). Would still stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for your comment, we are sorry about the problem you had with the front desk staff, it was a misunderstanding because of he understood you were reporting you broke the locker, apologize about that situation. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

Probably the best hostel I've stayed at. Maybe a little too quiet for my tastes but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
6.3

Masaya Hostel really doesn't live up to expectations. If you're looking for a decent nights sleep you won't find it here. The dorm bedrooms are damp and smelly. The bed was so uncomfortable, the bottom of the mattress (if you can call it that) touched the wooden planks, all the wood creaked every time someone moved. The door creaked so loudly every time it opened. All communal areas are right outside the dorm bedrooms. So other guests that don't respect the rules regarding noise wake you up.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment We are so sorry you had problems to sleep, we will take in mind your comment in order to improve our facilities and services. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
8.6

Great culture at the hostel. That was definitely the highlight. Great people. A couple of employees seemed a little disorganized. (There was no key available when we checked in. And the employee couldn't figure out how to open the dorm.) Facilities are good for most part. Beds are not super confortable. The bathroom situation was a little rough for men. Only 2 toilets for the whole place. But woman's had 6. Overall I would be back. Great common areas and bar. Lots of fun people and socializing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment, we are sorry you had problems getting the key of your room, we gonna verify what happened because of we always have enough keys for all the rooms. For sure you are welcome to come back anytime you want Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

19th Jan 2017
9.1

Just stayed here. A few things to add. Vivian that works at the front is AMAZING. A wealth of knowledge and super nice. She made up for what was one of the NOISIEST places I have ever stayed. I wish we could rate hostels on noise. Everytime I was grumpy from the lack of sleep from the noise Vivian brought a smile to my face. Promote her. Marty USA

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello We are sorry you had nois problems, we always try to turn off lights at 10:00 pm in order to let our guests rest well, when you do not fel confortable at nith because of the nois, please let it know to our staff so we will find a solution, although during day always you will find nois because of we have a lot of travellers daily at our hotel. Have a good day. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.1

amazing hostel! super nice stuff. it's very clean and good vibe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment, we are so happy to know you had a good time at Masaya Bogotá. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.4

Great Location, central to food and bars and staff helpful. One of the best Hostels I have experienced

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for your comment We love to know our guests have had a great time with us. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

16th Jan 2017
8.9

Hostel is so pretty and the staff are so friendly. I liked the area a lot since it is close to many attractions in candelaria. Masaya has a cute restaurant. The breakfast was good for only 8000. They offer free salsa dance lessons on tuesday and thursday. The thing I didn't like about the place was how noisy it is, literally hear everything going on outside your door. Also, if you wanted to book a tour you better hope someone else will do it with you otherwise you'll pay extra. But good overall

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks a lot for your comment, we are sorry you had nois problems, we always try to control it and turn off all lights at 10:00 pm in order to let our guests rest well, although during day always there are people in the different areas because of it is the idea of a hostel to offer some spaces where people can share between them. On the other hand we offer different tours but some of them are for minimun 2 people because of those are out of the city, thats the reason because of if your are alone you need to pay a little more to take the tour out of the city. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Best hostel! Facilities are great - always really clean, secure place with big lockers in dorms, wonderful hot showers. Really easy and fun to meet other travellers in the bar and common areas. Staff are lovely - even cooked a delicious home meal with them one night. Recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello We are so happy to read your comment, thanks a lot, is so good to know our guests have a good time with us. Vladimir, Manager Masaya Bogotá

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.