Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Matsumoto Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
10.0

It's a very nice place to stay. Brian was very helpful and informative right from the beginning, and had made our short stay very enjoyable. I highly recommended to stay here when you visited Matsumoto. Cheers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
9.1

Great place to stay, friendly people, small and intimate, a stone's throw away from the main sites in Matsumoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Quaint, traditional Japanese style house with friendly and accommodating staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
7.1

Location is not amazing, a bit of a dreadful street, but the keeper of the guesthouse is cool and the place is not far from the castle. Showers are not great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
10.0

Thanks Brian for being such a hospitable host and offering such clean, cozy lodging with such helpful recommendations. I appreciated you and your staff's attentiveness and welcoming atmosphere. I would love to stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Mar 2017
8.6

Brian, the host of Matsumoto Backpackers, is a really great guy! Do spend time talking to him about how he met his wife and decided to settle down in Matsumoto :) Apart from a very cosy hostel and clean rooms, he also provides an area map as well as recommendations to nearby onsens, restaurants and night activity hotspots. The futons were also very comfortable! Way to go Brian!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.1

Charming little hostel. Brian gave us a warm and friendly welcome, and his restaurant tips were spot on! These were the most comfortable futons we slept on in Japan. Room was a bit chilly - heater worked well but is smelly. Our stay was a bit marred by noise at night - guests in the next room were playing cards v. loudly until 4 AM. Would have been nice to have had contact info for Brian so he could have dealt with that rather than us getting up three times to ask for quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.6

A really great little hostel set in a traditional Japanese house with tatami rooms. Good location close to the railway station, facilities were all good, nothing missing in my view. The guy running the place at the time, Pierre, was really great - eager to help out, sits and chats with guests in the evening and makes everyone feel really welcome. It was pretty chilly in winter but there are heaters which do the job. The hot water bottle placed in your bed in the afternoon is a nice touch!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Matsumoto packers was perfect for us. Close to the station as well as a short walk to most attractions including the castle. Small little place where all rooms were very clean and comfy. Host was awesome, not only filling up a hot water bottle each night in Winter but gave great insight to the local attractions. We stayed an extra night which he made sure there was plenty for us to do the next day. Definitely recommend for others and would go back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Absolutely excellent hostel in prime location for exploring the city of Matsumoto and surrounding area's such as the snow monkey park and Narai-Juku. Pierre our host couldn't have been more helpful....great recommendations for things to do, hot water bottles put in bed each evening, French apple tart cooked in a rice cooker (I really don't know how he managed that!) and even mending my jacket after I ripped it! Such a dude! Can't recommend this hostel highly enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.