Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Matsumoto Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
7.4

Good location, check in is odd; there isn't a reception or check in area. Luckily Brian was there for me and he was wonderful but I witnessed a lot of other guests struggling with the other staff during 'check in'. I was located in a separate building, there are no locks anywhere in the room or even the front door, it does looks a very safe area but not ideal for those who are safety conscious. I also got completely lost trying to find this building again as it blends in and no backpacker logos.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
8.0

A small and squeezy hostel with basic necessities, good for people who just want to bunk in for one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
7.7

The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the nearby 100YEN sushi restaurant was a highlight. The disappointing part is that there were no more double rooms in the main building by the river, so we were put in an adjacent building by a busy street with quite a bit of traffic noise. Not ideal for light sleepers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Awesome place, maybe a 5 min walk from the train station and just a short walk from whatever you would like to visit in town or even a free bike "rental" point. Had a great time there. The owners are amazing, fun to chat with and have great pointers on where to go to in town. Make sure to ask Brian for the sake brewery which is only a short bike ride away. In our case they didn't have the English speaker present but we made due, got to taste excellent sake and bought some bottles. Great vibes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

Hostel was clean, friendly and offered a comfortable night's sleep. Pierre was fantastic in helping me settle in and was really friendly to talk to. 10/10 would come back and stay in future

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2017
8.9

The temporary manager Piér is one of the best hosts I had in 6 month! A french guy, who knows exactly where to to go in Matsumoto or in the region! He took around 20min to paint me every good places in Matsumoto on the map (even spots that are not printed on the map). The facilities are traditional. Don't expect a luxury modern hostel. You sleep on a fouton on the ground, there are papet walls, no locker and sliding doors. Kitchen is nice and has everything you need. Would love to come again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
9.4

Had an awesome stay here. It's clean and comfortable, and the people are so so friendly. The location is awesome too. Would highly recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
27th May 2017
7.1

Wifi, location and staff good. We were put in a room down the road from the main part of the hostel which wasn't that clear when we booked. We were upgraded to a double room, however there was no wall between it and the lounge, just a see-through curtain which left us with no privacy and meant you could hear everything happening in the hostel (including people up at 3am). Kitchen facilities too basic to cook with. Minimal security with no locks, and front door left open during the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th May 2017
7.7

We only had a quick one night stopover in Matsumoto so the lack of facilities and security didn't bother us too much. While the place isn't spotlessly clean like most other hostels you'll find across Japan, it is cosy and the staff are friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
9.7

Had a short 1 night stay at Matsumoto Backpackers. The place was cosy and homely and I was able to have lovely interaction with my fellow travelers. Location wise it was also central and easily walkable to all the main sights. Pierre was helpful and gave me good advice for places to visit nearby. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.