Hostelworld.com

Matsumoto Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 219 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 219 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
Matsumoto Backpackers Located at Shiraita 1-1-6, , Matsumoto.
Matsumoto Backpackers
Japan
Matsumoto Shiraita 1-1-6
88% 219
36.2330582 137.9622530
Matsumoto Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Awesome place to stay and awesome staff. And Matsumoto is also a fantastic place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

AWESOME! Such kind words. We had a great time hosting you and wish you safe travels!

3rd Jun 2016
9.4

Staff were really helpful and gave great tips on Matsumoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found our hints helpful! Hope you have fun in your travels.

31st May 2016
8.9

I will start off saying that the staff at this hostel were great, very knowledgeable, and have traveled through Japan before. They were able to give great advice on where to go, eat, and the best times to go. You get a smaller locker to put your valuables, but that's about it. The location was a tad tricky to find (since I arrived late in the evening) but you will realize that the location is great and nearby attractions and activities are close by! I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for so many kind words! Glad to hear you found our advice useful! We nurture a friendly at-home atmosphere, so guests find that they don't need a large locker for all their belongings. We are lucky to have found this lovely house near the station and are glad that there is so much to do nearby!

30th Apr 2016
9.7

a very EXCELLENT place with a helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are too kind. But we humbly accept your kind compliment!!!! MBP team. P.S. You were an awesome guest!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Close to the train station (which makes it easy to find) and close to the city centre. We had delicious soba noodles and an evening onsen nearby during our one night stay. A great friendly and social atmosphere at the hostel with helpful and welcoming staff. We enjoyed the Japanese futon style shared dorm. There is train noise from the nearby tracks until about 11pm/midnight and from early on the morning so light sleepers should just be aware of that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad to hear that you love our little house near the station, with much to do nearby! We try our best to create a relaxed environment for our guests in Matsumoto. We are lucky to have a babbling river between our house and the road which helps guests to sleep like a lullaby. Thank you for your kind words!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.4

It was a great hostel to stay in. The staff were so pleasant and helpful! The only thing is I think they need a couple more showers as people were having to wait for them in the evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Such thoughtful words - we are grateful. Our two showers are sufficient until a rush of guests all needing them at the same time as you noted. Thank you.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.7

Pierre and Sam were great, providing me with all the info and even helping me plan my trip onwards. Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.4

The location is great, just by the JR station and on a quiet street. The staff is very helpful, they have a lot of information on what´s to do in the area and they even do your laundry if you need! Atmosphere is good too as the staff stays around in the evening for a chat. I strongly recommand it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
9.4

Loved it here! The staff are wonderful and friendly. Recommend 10000x !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Mar 2016
7.7

Unfortunately I only stayed 1 night, but it was a very fun experience. There were lots of opportunities to meet other guests from all over the world. The staff members were nice and helpful. The hot water bottle, to heat up the bed during winter is bonus!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.