Hostelworld.com

Matsumoto Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 202 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 202 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2
Matsumoto Backpackers Located at Shiraita 1-1-6, , Matsumoto.
Matsumoto Backpackers
Japan
Matsumoto Shiraita 1-1-6
88% 202
36.2330582 137.9622530
Matsumoto Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.4

It was a great hostel to stay in. The staff were so pleasant and helpful! The only thing is I think they need a couple more showers as people were having to wait for them in the evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.7

Pierre and Sam were great, providing me with all the info and even helping me plan my trip onwards. Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.4

The location is great, just by the JR station and on a quiet street. The staff is very helpful, they have a lot of information on what´s to do in the area and they even do your laundry if you need! Atmosphere is good too as the staff stays around in the evening for a chat. I strongly recommand it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
9.4

Loved it here! The staff are wonderful and friendly. Recommend 10000x !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Mar 2016
7.7

Unfortunately I only stayed 1 night, but it was a very fun experience. There were lots of opportunities to meet other guests from all over the world. The staff members were nice and helpful. The hot water bottle, to heat up the bed during winter is bonus!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Mar 2016
8.6

Really really great location. 5 mins walk from the JR stn. Pierre was really helpful, dishing out loads of information such as the free bike rental from the watch musuem. Most importantany, he was very sincere and we felt really welcomed at his place. Highly recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2016
8.9

If you want a place that lets you live like a local without actually living with any Japanese, this is a good place for it. It's basically a small house and the dorms are rooms with futons. There is little privacy so if you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you. I liked being close to the river and and within walking distance of all the local sightseeing places. The staff were pleasant and had lots of tips. It's definitely a place I'd go back to, but not long term.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2016
8.0

Friendly hostel in a traditional house by the river. You can hear everything that happens in the next room though! Staff were excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2016
10.0

Such an amazing stay in Matsumoto, made possible by the warm atmosphere and helpful advice from the staff !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2016
8.6

Moreso someone's house than a hostel, I really enjoyed the family-like feel. I was in and out pretty quickly, but I think this hostel would be perfect for solo travelers looking to make friends. Really close to everything. Be warned: if you're a light sleeper, pray that the people in the dorm room next to you are quiet. The rooms are separated by a wall, but there's a cutout at the top that lets sounds travel through (almost like you're in the same room). Still a great place though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.