Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Matsumoto Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
Matsumoto Backpackers Located at Shiraita 1-1-6, , Matsumoto.
Matsumoto Backpackers
Japan
Matsumoto Shiraita 1-1-6
89% 225
36.2330582 137.9622530
Matsumoto Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel, where you get to sleep in futons in a tatami room. The staff is super nice, helps with everything and very welcoming. Their recommendations were always on point. They made me want to stay some extra days in Matsumoto. I will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
9.7

This was my second time in Matsumoto, and first time at MBP. I chose MBP this go around due to its great location, and that alone made a significant improvement to the trip over the last one. No more far walks to the station! The atmosphere was killer at this place. The layout really encourages people to hangout in the common room, and I therefore would say this is the most social and welcoming hostel I've been to. But that doesn't mean it's loud! Not enough characters left-but highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.9

If you can resign a little bit on comfort, you'll experience one of the best atmospheres a Backpackers can have! Great staff, creating a very familiar atmosphere. I absolutely enjoyed the stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
9.7

Nice hostel with a feeling of home to it. Pierre was really helpful and gave us lots of tips and helped us with our laundry. Clean and nice room. Would definatly stay here if I returned to Matsumoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Awesome place to stay and awesome staff. And Matsumoto is also a fantastic place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

AWESOME! Such kind words. We had a great time hosting you and wish you safe travels!

3rd Jun 2016
9.4

Staff were really helpful and gave great tips on Matsumoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found our hints helpful! Hope you have fun in your travels.

31st May 2016
8.9

I will start off saying that the staff at this hostel were great, very knowledgeable, and have traveled through Japan before. They were able to give great advice on where to go, eat, and the best times to go. You get a smaller locker to put your valuables, but that's about it. The location was a tad tricky to find (since I arrived late in the evening) but you will realize that the location is great and nearby attractions and activities are close by! I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for so many kind words! Glad to hear you found our advice useful! We nurture a friendly at-home atmosphere, so guests find that they don't need a large locker for all their belongings. We are lucky to have found this lovely house near the station and are glad that there is so much to do nearby!

30th Apr 2016
9.7

a very EXCELLENT place with a helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are too kind. But we humbly accept your kind compliment!!!! MBP team. P.S. You were an awesome guest!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Close to the train station (which makes it easy to find) and close to the city centre. We had delicious soba noodles and an evening onsen nearby during our one night stay. A great friendly and social atmosphere at the hostel with helpful and welcoming staff. We enjoyed the Japanese futon style shared dorm. There is train noise from the nearby tracks until about 11pm/midnight and from early on the morning so light sleepers should just be aware of that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad to hear that you love our little house near the station, with much to do nearby! We try our best to create a relaxed environment for our guests in Matsumoto. We are lucky to have a babbling river between our house and the road which helps guests to sleep like a lullaby. Thank you for your kind words!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.4

It was a great hostel to stay in. The staff were so pleasant and helpful! The only thing is I think they need a couple more showers as people were having to wait for them in the evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Such thoughtful words - we are grateful. Our two showers are sufficient until a rush of guests all needing them at the same time as you noted. Thank you.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.