Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Matsumoto Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 318 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 318 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

Hostel was clean, friendly and offered a comfortable night's sleep. Pierre was fantastic in helping me settle in and was really friendly to talk to. 10/10 would come back and stay in future

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
8.9

The temporary manager Piér is one of the best hosts I had in 6 month! A french guy, who knows exactly where to to go in Matsumoto or in the region! He took around 20min to paint me every good places in Matsumoto on the map (even spots that are not printed on the map). The facilities are traditional. Don't expect a luxury modern hostel. You sleep on a fouton on the ground, there are papet walls, no locker and sliding doors. Kitchen is nice and has everything you need. Would love to come again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
9.4

Had an awesome stay here. It's clean and comfortable, and the people are so so friendly. The location is awesome too. Would highly recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
27th May 2017
7.1

Wifi, location and staff good. We were put in a room down the road from the main part of the hostel which wasn't that clear when we booked. We were upgraded to a double room, however there was no wall between it and the lounge, just a see-through curtain which left us with no privacy and meant you could hear everything happening in the hostel (including people up at 3am). Kitchen facilities too basic to cook with. Minimal security with no locks, and front door left open during the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th May 2017
7.7

We only had a quick one night stopover in Matsumoto so the lack of facilities and security didn't bother us too much. While the place isn't spotlessly clean like most other hostels you'll find across Japan, it is cosy and the staff are friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
9.7

Had a short 1 night stay at Matsumoto Backpackers. The place was cosy and homely and I was able to have lovely interaction with my fellow travelers. Location wise it was also central and easily walkable to all the main sights. Pierre was helpful and gave me good advice for places to visit nearby. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel, strongly recommended. It's not as perfectly pristine as places like K's House - but the homeliness more than makes up for it (and it was always really clean). Location is great, nice atmosphere for meeting other backpackers, and Pierre and Cive had some brilliant advice on the more unusual places to go in Japan. Thanks for a v good stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st May 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel. Really helpful staff that take plenty of time with you to make the most of everything. Highly recommended hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
10.0

Great stay in Matsumoto! Pierre was quite helpful with recommendations inside the city as well as day trips to take, and the hostel atmosphere was friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2017
7.4

One of the buildings has only one toilet and one shawer. Big problem every morning/ evening. Except that, great hostel! Cleen, friendly, excellent location and matsumuto is beautiful. Dont miss kamikochi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.