Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Matsumoto Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 273 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 273 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6
Matsumoto Backpackers Located at Shiraita 1-1-6, , Matsumoto.
Matsumoto Backpackers
Japan
Matsumoto Shiraita 1-1-6
91% 273
36.2330582 137.9622530
Matsumoto Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Absolutely excellent hostel in prime location for exploring the city of Matsumoto and surrounding area's such as the snow monkey park and Narai-Juku. Pierre our host couldn't have been more helpful....great recommendations for things to do, hot water bottles put in bed each evening, French apple tart cooked in a rice cooker (I really don't know how he managed that!) and even mending my jacket after I ripped it! Such a dude! Can't recommend this hostel highly enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Very nice facility conveniently close to Matsumoto station and within easy walking distance of all tourist sites within the city center. In the future, I would not choose to spend two nights in Matsumoto unless I were intending to hike (which was difficult for me during the winter season given that I am not interested in winter sports). Nonetheless, Matsumto is definitely worth a day or overnight trip (or longer if the city is used as a base for hiking or other activities in the Japanese alps!).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
8.6

Hosts are very knowledgeable on what to do, just ask! If you plan to come here during the winter, be prepared to bundle up, as they do not have heaters. However, they do give you a hot water bottle aka a "Yutanpo" that does keep you warm and surprisingly, kept me warm. The location is good, near Matsumoto station and other stores and restaurants. If you're interested in interacting with others, this is the place for you. Overall, a nice stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
8.9

Good staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely amazing hostel! The owner Brian is hilariously funny and really welcoming. Large rooms, comfy warm futons, toasty kotatsu, super informative staff I would recommend this place to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! We always enjoy giving tips to guests

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
10.0

perfect! really nice owner !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! You are too kind - as all Dutch are!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Oct 2016
8.3

The staff member was exceptionally helpful and gave us a lot of very uselful advice. The hostel is conveniently located and was clean and quiet enough. Would happily stay there again and happy to recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Oct 2016
8.6

Nice hostel, sleep on tatami style beds and train tracks nearby so quite noisy at night but nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
10.0

great clean friendly good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Oct 2016
8.3

A few minutes away from the train-station (right next to the tracks), this hostel offers clean traditional rooms, enough bathrooms (good shower with hot water), common-area and good staff (French and English). Wifi is stable but slow when many people are online. The staff has great info on hiking and excursions in and around Matsumoto. A good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.