Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Matsumoto Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
Matsumoto Backpackers Located at Shiraita 1-1-6, , Matsumoto.
Matsumoto Backpackers
Japan
Matsumoto Shiraita 1-1-6
89% 245
36.2330582 137.9622530
Matsumoto Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

The location is convenient and the staff (native English speaker) was nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jasonbrown8191
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

Great little hostel near the station and right by the river. Very friendly owner from Ireland. Not far to the castle or the centre, plenty of places to eat nearby. It's nice to sleep on the floor Japanese style. It is near the railway bridge so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel. Pierre, the hostel manager is really awesome and always willing to give you tips, directions and instructions about all the attractions in and arround Matsumoto. He even has great food recommendations! We went on a few great hikes based on his advice. The hostel is also awesome for meeting people. Highly recommended if you want to meet cool people and hike around Matsumoto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
8.3

The staff is great, very helpful and welcoming. They know the area as well and will help you to organize your hikes. The building is an old Japanese house, adapted into a hostel. The shower was clearly a room split in two, kind of small and the hot water is not stable. Beds are actually futons on tatami, not bunker beds, comfortable. Cleanliness is slightly lacking because other guests not always clean after themselves, so you might get a greasy table or a spilled toilet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Sep 2016
7.1

It's hard to judge because everything in Japan is so expensive but paying $41 to sleep on the floor just felt wrong! The location is good because it's very close to the station but other than that it's just a house with some rooms. It is what it is.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
10.0

Nice guy and great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you! Thank you for choosing MBP!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice staff! Based close to the castle and station. Facility itself has room for improvement

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for your kind comments. We are only a 5 minute walk from restaurants, shops and stations so never far from anything you might need. Standard bathroom and kitchen facilities are provided. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks from all at MBP!

17th Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel, where you get to sleep in futons in a tatami room. The staff is super nice, helps with everything and very welcoming. Their recommendations were always on point. They made me want to stay some extra days in Matsumoto. I will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for such a positive review! We are delighted you enjoyed staying here in our cozy Japanese style accommodation. We love to help and try to answer all questions as best we can. We also have plenty of suggestions for day trips! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

7th Jul 2016
9.7

This was my second time in Matsumoto, and first time at MBP. I chose MBP this go around due to its great location, and that alone made a significant improvement to the trip over the last one. No more far walks to the station! The atmosphere was killer at this place. The layout really encourages people to hangout in the common room, and I therefore would say this is the most social and welcoming hostel I've been to. But that doesn't mean it's loud! Not enough characters left-but highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you for such a glowing review! We are delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere here at MBP. We aim to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We love to engage with our guests and often join in on conversations in the common area. Thanks again for staying with us from all here at MBP!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.9

If you can resign a little bit on comfort, you'll experience one of the best atmospheres a Backpackers can have! Great staff, creating a very familiar atmosphere. I absolutely enjoyed the stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for such kind words! We are always happy to hear that guest feel comfortable here at MBP and enjoy the atmosphere and their stay. We love to engage with our guests and often join in the conversations in the common area. Thanks again from all here at MBP!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.