X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Matterhorn Hostel Reviews

Schluhmattstrasse 32, Zermatt, Switzerland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
537 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 56%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 49%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Good price. Good staff Can't choose temp. of shower room. No lock at shower.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

the problem it's just with the people come in... too noisy... the staff was great, the cleaning good. Need more plug for the shared room, waitress not very confortable....


83%

Three minutes walk to the Matterhorn express lift and the same time to town. Very nice staff.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

It is better to think of changing the locker in 3rd floor with a newer one. The rest are good thank you.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

It's the cheapest hostel in town, though a little bit small, there is everything you want. It's really close to the lifts station to Matterhorn, so convenient for the skiers. I have to mention that the nice staff there help me a lot.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Yue, it was a pleasure to had you with us. You are always welcome to go skiing or hiking or a walk in the city center 5 mins away. All the best Michael

77%

Friendly staff, adaquate, and cheap. You can't beat it for the price and how close it is to the ski lifts - especially in Zermatt. If your goal is to ski as cheaply as possible in Zermatt, this is the place.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alex, thank you for your rating and your comment. Also the summer time is very nice for hiking and biking and climbing. Some good events are here. The cheap price we maintain the whole year. Thanks again for staying with us. Michael

49%

No hot shower (warm) No cooking equipment No door lock Small Space Staff was nice tho


57%

Very basic hostel...place for people on a tight budget..positives: cheap, excellent location for skiers. Negatives: poor beds, matrasses, poor security since the rooms are not locked, no kitchen or microwave, no sufficient plug points to charge, bathrooms are okay..not extremely clean! a bit of a let down by Swiss standards.. Stay here if you have no other option in zermatt..


63%

The rooms were SWELTERING. It's cold outside but inside I don't want to be wearing undershirts and that's it to keep from constantly sweating. Also, there is very clearly some sort of animal living in the walls. I woke up several times in the middle of the night hearing scratching.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

don't know where to start... First a person I met there was told to leave her bags in the community room down below while she skied for her last day and car keys and wallet and everything was stolen. Hostel didn't do much to help out. Rooms are always open no locks... the lockers in the rooms are very large but the locks on them aren't very secure, showers are warm, bathrooms not too bad just have to go down to bottom floor, one electric outlet in room, good location close to ski lifts


34%

Never again


66%

Well in Zermatt there are few value for money options....this is on the main road ... but the atmosphere was a little stale and dingy... the bar was closed leaving no room for a good common lounge. Internet kept failing..


31%

It is dirty and gross. One outlet for 8 people in a room. The guy at the front desk is very rude and unwelcoming. He mocked my friend who could not speak English well. The wifi worked for maybe 1/3 of the time. Do not recommend.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

This place is old and dirty. The hostel has an "open door" philosophy, which means the doors don't lock.


74%

Not a bad place, breakfast was pretty average, needed more power points in the room and a ladder for the top bunk so people didn't have to jump or climb on chairs. Also access to the kitchen would be nice


94%

Came here to stay the night and make base while i did some hiking up the mountain. It was the perfect place! Best price in town. Super helpful and friendly staff. I also made some hiking buddies while staying here! You can get a key for your locker with a €20 deposit (that you get back when you bring the key back). Awesome place. I'd suggest it to all my friends

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great place to stay in Town, without breaking the bank. Good beds, and clean bathrooms etc. For sure the spot in Zermatt if you just need to crash, get good ideas of what to do locally and meet some folks in the process. Ill be back come ski season at some point, you bet! Thanks


71%

I stayed at this hostel twice. Would recommend it if you aren't too picky and on a budget.


54%

This place is pretty far from the center of town but it really doesn't matter since Zermatt is so small. There's nothing really wrong with the hostel. I rated it so low because they don't lock the doors and if you are in the large room they don't lock that either. The lockers are pretty big and will fit almost any bag but you have to pay for the lock; brought my own to use but it doesn't take pad locks




View all Zermatt Hostels

Please give us your feedback