Hostelworld.com

Maverick City Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
10.0

That was great! Its like a hotel! Ive been to several type of rooms. Im sure it is the best place!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.7

Everything was modern and immaculate. The curtained off beds are a good idea. The bathrooms were a bit meh though. Staff were great and friendly. It would be good if the hostel could get more solid information on transport from BUD-Belgrade and maybe post it on a wall somewhere? No one seemed to know much about this route and I kept getting told different things like "there is no direct train" even though I ended up taking a direct train after doing my own enquiries.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Highly recommended, great location and atmosphere. The staff are incredibly helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
10.0

Fantastic place, The location in Budapest.. I will be back to Budapest and I will stay at this place again..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.4

Overall we were very happy. Our room (the twin) was high quality but the walls very thin and we could hear everyone talking on the stairs at night. We slept ok in spite of that. Might be noisy in high season with many partygoing guests ;) The breakfast offered in the nextdoor fancy restaurant was (on weekdays) not good value for money, as we thought it was a buffet (only weekends?). The socalled croque monsieur was a very boooing toast, and we would suggest eating breakfast in a cafe nearby. ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry for the discomfort. We have asked our receptionists to ask all guests to follow our house rules on keeping calm after 10pm. The reastaurant is ran by a separate company, but we will ask them to modify the breakfast if possible.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.6

Common areas small but comfortable; kitchen and bar aren't terribly exciting or lend themselves to socializing with new people. The beds are very clean as was the entire room. The bathrooms were tidy and had the essentials but would have really appreciated either a cubby, bench or shelf in the shower to keep stuff as it ended up getting soaked as the shower heads leak terribly in weird directions. Staff were competent but not overly friendly or welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.6

Great location to the city centre, and transport. Close to pubs and night life. Comfy beds and relatively clean bathrooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
10.0

10* The staff is very helpful and fast to respond when fixing sth is needed, facilities are great and daily cleaned. Beds in the dorms are comfortable, and have curtains, small light and 2 plugs, also spacious lockers, just make sure you bring your padlock. There is a restaurant/bar linked to the hostel in the ground floor, perfect for hanging out or socializing with other guests and not to mention that the food is delicious, yet not to noisy to interfere with guests' rest. We'll be back! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
8.6

Great hostel, perfectly located, fair priced. The dorm beds in POD-Style allows to take some sleep, even if the surrounding isn't quiet. The kitchen is a cool place, additionally the free coffee & tea. Generally, the hostel in general is really clean. But: The dorm beds seems difficult to clean. The sheets itself were very clean, but there were lots of hairs around the mattress - not just around my bed. Especially on the upper bunk beds. If you put your mobile or any other stuff there.. not nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comment! We have asked the housekeepers to pay more attention to clean the dorm beds and rooms better! Hope to host you here again!

  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
8.9

Very clean and spacious room. The breakfast was only 5euro with tea/coffee/juice which was really good. Staff were helpful with printing our ticket for the parliament visit and booking a restaurant over a phone. The location is great as the place is right next to Szimpla and some great street food places such as Bors. The only thing that wasn't that great was WIFI as it was rather slow and kept disconnecting and each time you entered the building you had to sign up again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will try to do our best to fix the problem with the wifi! The message has been already forwarded to the managers. Hope to see you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.