Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Maverick Hostel & Ensuites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1894 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1894 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.1

The Maverick was a great hostel, I love the location and old feeling of the building. The bed were not the best but okay, no A/c but get there early and grab a fan. Staff were helpful and knowledgeable and just really nice! They really don't have an atmosphere because of the set up but I was fine with that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jul 2017
9.7

Great apartment 10-15 minute walk from sites, baths, Jewish quarter, etc. The room was clean and quiet. The staff is very helpful. No a/c, so if it's going to be hot, plan ahead.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
8.6

Pretty nice place. Some air conditioner in the room would be great, because in the summer leaving the window open means a lot of flies coming in. It would be nice if one could pay with card too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Jul 2017
8.9

great location. fairly clean. private room was nice (aircon, fan, clean spacious bathroom, blackout blinds) but 10 bed dorm (i stayed in both) has no air-conditioning and not enough fans. also lots of mosquitoes at night. 24 hour check-in. Worse thing is they don't take cards and depending what time you arrive, often don't have change for large cash notes (which is all that ATMs give you).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
9.7

Great place. Overall (of 3 different hostels in various countries) this was our favorite. The location was perfect. The room was nice and the common areas were clean. We very much appreciated the fan in the room, since none of our other hostels had one. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Overall we'd definitely return if we visit Budapest again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jun 2017
9.4

Great place to stay as long as you prefer a quieter scene. Def not a party hostel but I loved the comfortable beds, friendly staff, spacious rooms, and large bathrooms. Staying next to a metro station and in front of a bus station was very convenient!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2017
8.9

Great place, central location, wonderful staff. Unfortunately because it is an old building, it can succumb to heat problems quite quickly that require a good amount of fans to keep it from heating up too much. There was an order for more fans at the time of my stay however it didn't arrive in time so it was a bit difficult to sleep comfortably. With the exception of the heat, the quarters provide a nice place to stay with many spas and facilities nearby. It was a nice stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2017
9.4

This hostel is in an excellent location, with many bathrooms so access to the toilet or shower is great. Kept very clean and it was a quiet hostel. The only downside was that there aren't bunk beds, so you are sleeping in single beds next to randomers. Other than that perfect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2017
10.0

Absolutely amazing private room, it was like our very own apartment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • karleemill4130
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2017
9.4

Perfect hostel right in the middle of budapest city!! Staff are excellent and super helpful. Common room with computers and staff will print tickets etc for you! Rooms are great dorm rooms! Only one small negative is no aircon but fans are all we needed in june for our stay! Would defiantly stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! Our hostel is located in a heritage protected building, unfortunately we are not allowed to install AC. Hope to see you at the Maverick again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.