X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mavi Guesthouse Reviews

Ishakpasa Cad., Kutlugun Sok. No:3, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
524 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Herşey mükemmeldi zaten konum olarak çok avantajlı bir yer, İstanbula aralıkli olarak tatil amaçlı geliyoruz mavi guesthouse konaklamak için mükemmel. Avrupa daki hostel kültürünü ülkemize çok iyi adapte etmişler. Ingilizce bilen elemanlar , hostel sahibi herkes çok yardımsever. Kahvaltı olayı zaten çok güzel. Yediklerimiz kaliteli idi. Giriş çıkış saati problemi yok bu güzel . Tekrar görüşmek üzere

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Home away from home The greatest hostel I have ever been ! Amazing staff, amazing breakfast, amazing location ! And the prices are also cheap. Best location possible, with a view of Hagia Sophia and the sea from the rooftop terrace and certain rooms. If you have to go to istanbul, I assure you, Mavi Gesthouse is the hostel to go !!!!!! Always received nice smile from stuff You will make friends and have an excellent time

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely hostel! Cheap, really well located in Sultahnamet, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast. Showers are not so clean sometimes, but I would definitely stay there before. Also, the terrace is really nice, and you can get some fresh air in the HOT Istanbul.


89%

Mavi guest house was incredible! The perfect location, and friendly, helpful staff. Great atmosphere, great breakfast and easy to come and go between different sights!


83%

The location is as good as it gets. You can see the blue mosque from the roof top. Staff is friendly and Ali, the owner, is the nicest guy ever! The bathrooms can use a bit of a cleaning though.


94%

Awesome place with kind staff and an unrivaled atmosphere thanks to the different travelers and the staff, we can spend there hours and hours staying and speaking. A kind of institution in Istanbul ! The rooftop with both views on Sofia's mosq and the sea is a wonderful place ! Hope we'll come back soon !

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful. They were very kind about our disability (English speakers only).


66%

Very nice persons and good atmosphere, but the rooms are too small and too crowdy. The breakfast is nothing special and the price is must to high for the quality. We had a room with "bathroom", but we didn't dare take a shower, were afraid to be electrocuted. The place needs to be renovated and specially the electrical part. Some rooms without Windows. Compared to the rest of Turkey it's very expensive.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Super friendly and accommodating staff, excellent value for money.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The bathroom (especially the shower) was dirty. The was a bin full of trash in our bedroom,the day we arrived. 4 days later, was still full and more.. dirty!


89%

I definitely would recommend the Hostel. The location is perfect for exploring the City. And the staff is very friendly and help you all the time. You get special tips what is more worth than every clean toilette.. Anyway, also the bathrooms are clean ;) There is a room for everyone downstairs and I liked it to sit there and chat with the other guests. We changed our experience, so the also the atmosphere is nice. GO there and find it out! :)


54%

The staff is nice and the place too, but our (double) room had almost no privacy at all (on the ground floor, on one side the kitchen and the common room, on the other the window was right on the tables put outside by the hostel). The shared bathrooms, not too clean not too dirty either, were one sink in the middle of the corridor and the toilet had its window on the kitchen. The sensation is that they stuff the building with people to get as much money as they can.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, with a very welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. The location is perfect and you will enjoy the terrace on the roof, with the view on Aya Sofia ! Good breakfast too. We felt like at home there and didn't want to leave. Perfect place to stay in Istanbul !

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The greatest hostel I have ever been ! Amazing staff, amazing breakfast, amazing location ! And the prices are also cheap. If you have to go to istanbul, I assure you, Mavi Gesthouse is the hostel to go !!!!!! You will make friends and have an excellent time

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great atmosphere Lights went off too early in the 24 bed room Wonderful trust between the staff and guests (like not having to leave a deposit for a hair dryer) Maybe some rooms designated for changing More options on the breakfast You could charge so much more if you wanted to


54%

The hostel is completely open - we were not even given a key. Showers and toilets were not very nice, poorer quality than expected even in a hostel. The hostel is very cramped and there is no central area to relax in. However, breakfast every morning was delicious and the location is great if you want to be in the center of tourist activities like the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque.


60%

The staff are all lovely, but the dorm is a joke, we stayed in the 24 bed and there was no room whartsoever, i couldnt even get my bag anywhere near the bed instead i had to literrally sleep with it on the bed. The sheets all have holes in them an no plug sockets. Communal are is tiny with not enough seating and breakfast is poor. N location is the best thing about this hostel by far. No hot water.


86%

Best location possible, with a view of Hagia Sophia and the sea from the rooftop terrace and certain rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful, as well as hospitable and flexible. The large dorm was extremely crowded, but the smaller rooms were much better (you get what you pay for). Wifi worked well but didn't reach some areas upstairs, and the free breakfast was one of the best I've had.


97%

Superb! I cannot say anything bad about it. I'm pretty much sure that I will choose Mavi Guest House next time I'm in Istanbul.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff was extremely helpful. They would call for us and schedule appointments and get us the best deals. The hostel had a great location! The only downside was that it was very small and not the nicest but still worth staying there! I met great people from all over the world.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(391 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback