X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mavi Onur Guesthouse Reviews

Kucuk ayasofya mah. Aksakal sok. No:28 sultanahmet, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
97 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel is small, isn't like those big ones, but the staffs are really nice and friendly and the rooms are clean, it's really worthy for the price, and also the location is good, too, only 5 minuets walk to the blue mosque, I enjoyed my stay here.

  • 3rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

The manager Ilker is a genuinely respectful and helpful man. I felt very at home, and the dorm upstairs is very comfortable, clean and atmospheric. The lighting is particularly beautiful. With breakfast included it's very good value and i'd thoroughly recommend staying.

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel and staff were so friendly and helpful. The dorm room was very clean and spacious BUT there were security cameras in the dorm room which felt unnecessary and intrusive - we had to go downstairs to the bathroom to change etc. Also the dorm needs air conditioning! It was so hot we had to sleep with all the windows open which meant lots and lots of insects.


86%

Great location. Sea views from the dorm terrace and very close to the big sights. Lots of stairs to get up to the dorm though. The bathroom is unfortunate


91%

Hostel was is a good location, very close to all the main tourist attractions in Istanbul. The room was clean and well maintained. Security is excellent because the doors have good locks on them and there is no way to get in to the areas with the rooms without passing the person at the front desk. The owner was friendly and helpful, he gave us information about Istanbul and the best ways to travel to Goreme.


89%

Great value for money and very helpful staff. Enjoyed ourselves thoroughly


80%

The owner is quite the good guy. Makes you feel very welcome as "my friend". Get it all done in the space they have and it's nice to be a little bit away from the myriad of hostels on nearby streets.


91%

This is in a great location with friendly staff. The security is very good. This hotel is clean and basic with a good breakfast and I would come back and recommend to friends. Thanks guys for a good visit and helpful information

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Very good hotel, inexpensive and well located in the centre of Sultanmhet, and attentive staff. Recomended.

  • 2nd Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice hostel and helpful people. The breakfast was the best i ever had in a hostel. It is a small hostel which is really near to the important sightseeing places.


100%

Hostel location was fantastic, so close to Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and so on, as well as close to some good bars! Room was very good... staff were lovely, reccommended me lots of great things to do and see. The breakfast was amazing :) will be back soon!


63%

poor internet signal, no hot water sometimes, but helpful staff


91%

Mavi Onurs guesthouse is an excellent choice if you want to live in a place with a very warm and homely atmosphere. The staff there is so kind and when I was there I felt that I could ask them about anything. The location is perfect and from the balcony at the roof you can have a wonderful view of the sea and surrounding buildings. The kitchen, where the breakfast is served, is a good place to meet and share experiences with other guests.

  • 23rd Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A superb base for exploring Istanbul from, make sure you take full advantage of the generous breakfast (and the availability of the kithcen throughout the day if you can't quite face another kebap), and pick Ilkur's brains if you need any ideas for what to do once you've blitzed the major attractions.


49%

This is a four-storey, narrow building that calls itself a guesthouse and hostel. The rooms are clean, breakfast good - although the advertised terrace no longer exists - and the owner is charming and helpful. But... The front door is locked. A surly youth in reception sleeps on a sofa and eats at the computer. He never smiles. He never offers a welcome. It is like finding a tramp has taken residence. The place smells of his food. And then there is the steep, narrow spiral staircase.

  • 3rd Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay in Sultanahmet area, very close to main tourist attractions and to public transport (trams). simple room but it was all I needed, nice breakfast in the morning, the owner will answer any question you ask about Istanbul :)


100%

Very good hostel.

  • 25th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We really spent a good moment ın Mavı onur guesthouse, even if it was just for one night. Onur knows very well hıs country and has very good advıces. Thanks a lot!

  • 24th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The guy, who manages the hostel is kind, has a good English and understand this business very well, but besides that the place is not where anyone wants to spend more time than sleeping. The bathroom is under any expectation:small, it stinks and dirty. The place needs a renovation! The Turkish type of breakfast was good!


83%

Ilker is the most welcoming host I've ever met, very friendly and very helpful. We only wish the other guy had made at least some efforts to seem nice too. Very nice breakfast in the morning. The street is a bit too noisy but the AC worked very well. Well situated.

  • 9th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(78 results)


View all Istanbul Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback