X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Maxim Hostel Reviews

Raday utca 34, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
341 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The hostel atmosphere is mind blowing.. value for money. I recommend to choose this hostel!!

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Felt like home


97%

From the very beginning our host was very friendly, he went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. It's a really great location with a price that you can't beat. In top of that you can also use the kitchen which really helped us.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kosovo
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Short but nice stay in the hostel. No many staff, but a very usefull e-mail from the manager before our arrival. Kitchen and bathroom are exactly the same as in an appartment... We were feeling as at home!


83%

All in all it was a very good and pleasant place to stay. We had everything we needed from the facilities and we enjoyed it. The only problem is that it was hard to make friends as there were no common rooms and the rooms were split into physically two floors.


83%

upon arrival we hadn't been emailed a code so couldn't get in. tried phoning and the guy on end of phone hung up... we waited. eventually a bypassedr let us in and we lugged ourselves the unlit stairs worried about what was before us. Fear notthough Perry answered the door a polite man who enjoys a good chat and enthusiastic traveller from his story he made us feel at home. our room possibly outdated the bed most definitely as it squeaked with even a move of the bed but all in top hosteling!


91%

Perfect value for the money. :) A hostel near the city center, few minutes walking from metro line and other public transport. Very pleasant and helpful owner, no problem in communication, free WiFi and breakfast, what else could we wish for? :) Thank you for the great stay for great money, hope we can stay again if we get back to Budapest. :)

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Maxim hostel is great, we had a nice stay and our private room was spacious and always warm. It is situated near to the main tram stops, although we mostly walked around Budapest as nothing is too far away. The shower facilities are good and so is the kitchen. George showed us in and was very friendly, and for the rest of the stay Perry helped us with everything we needed to know. Even advising us to travel to Vienna before Zagreb which we don't regret one bit.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice location, friendly staff, clean. Nothing bad to say about the place


94%

It was great staying at Maxim Hostel. Location was perfect and we had a warm welcome. The bathroom wasn't too clean, but still it was very good for this price and the spacious room.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel, location good, close to Ka;vin ter metro station,Vaci street pubs and souvenirs.On the street itself there are restaurants and fast foods, pubs and non stop stores. Very cheap, Perry, the guy working there is friendly and helpful.Only downside and complaint is that two of the private rooms (don't remember the numbers exactly) used to be one rooms which was then split by the owner in two.Problem is that the new wall is very thin, you hear everything next door.


97%

The owners are soooo nice and the beds are arranged in a really unique situation. Very unique:)

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The man at the front desk was very helpful, giving us a map and showing us where all the main attractions are in the city. The hostel is about a fifteen-minute walk from the main street downtown. The beds were pretty hard, but it was definitely a good value for the money!


94%

Great little hostel on the Pest side of the Danube. Both the owner and his assistant speak fluent English and will show you where to find pubs, free pub crawls, free walking tours, etc. Great advice. If you like to go clubbing, they had wristbands for free admission to one of the clubs downtown. The dorm was great, I really liked the loft.


100%

Excellent hostel, one of the best, where I was.


89%

Super friendly staff and overall a great place to stay. Only bad thing was the extreme heat in the dorm at night.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

For a hostel, and I've stayed at a few, this one was clean, convenient, and secure. What more could you want!


86%

Super nice atmosphere , really good price.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Super choice!


91%

Very nice people, very chill atmosphere. Come here if you want a cozy hostel. I met some good people here.


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback