X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Maxim Hostel Reviews

Raday utca 34, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
359 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel!

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

George is very helpful and easy to talk to!

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Our group was lucky enough to stay in the apartment owned by George which was in a great location and great value for money! George is a great host and I have no doubt if I ever find myself back in Budapest I'll be booking with him!


100%

Thank you very much!

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

George is a very nice guy. First day there was a little misunderstanding about the room, but after that everything was great. I think this the best value for money in Budapest

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff attention is great... to improve the number of toilets/showers vs the amount of people in the place


97%

George is awesome! The hostel is really nicely located and quiet. Only complaint was the mattress...but would definitely stay there again!


83%

the apartment was very big and spacious and the host very friendly. Kitchen lacked facilities and there was very little atmosphere (no real shared spaces) and empty.


91%

Good location area. It's only 15 min walking to the center. There's no reception but eventually you will meet George (the person in charge), he's really nice and very helpful. He explained us the city and recommended us places to go. He can print boarding passes for you. Coffee, tea, milk, cereals and washing machine for free. The only bad thing was apparently the shutters were just broken and the sun woke us up very early as the room has a huge window. Good security. I highly recommend it.


89%

The value for money is pretty good. The owner is friendly and willing to help. There is always a good answer for the questions. The hostel has a kitchen and it's really useful. I thought before i go there, that i'm gonna take metro for the city center but for young people it's easy to walk to many touristic destinations. There were just some tiny details maybe to complain but i recommend this hostel for sure. Facilities are pretty good.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

For 7€ per night you can't omplain about anything. The only l drawback is that there is one shower for approx. 14 people.


94%

The hostel atmosphere is mind blowing.. value for money. I recommend to choose this hostel!!

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Felt like home


97%

From the very beginning our host was very friendly, he went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. It's a really great location with a price that you can't beat. In top of that you can also use the kitchen which really helped us.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kosovo
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The host George is super friendly and helpful. The hostel has a very bohemian feel to it which is nice but also means you can't expect pristine floor cleanliness or perfect rooms. My room was sharing a blind with the next room for instance. But if you're a traveller after a comfortable bed, a great location and a lovely host, then you'll be fine.


80%

Short but nice stay in the hostel. No many staff, but a very usefull e-mail from the manager before our arrival. Kitchen and bathroom are exactly the same as in an appartment... We were feeling as at home!


83%

All in all it was a very good and pleasant place to stay. We had everything we needed from the facilities and we enjoyed it. The only problem is that it was hard to make friends as there were no common rooms and the rooms were split into physically two floors.


83%

upon arrival we hadn't been emailed a code so couldn't get in. tried phoning and the guy on end of phone hung up... we waited. eventually a bypassedr let us in and we lugged ourselves the unlit stairs worried about what was before us. Fear notthough Perry answered the door a polite man who enjoys a good chat and enthusiastic traveller from his story he made us feel at home. our room possibly outdated the bed most definitely as it squeaked with even a move of the bed but all in top hosteling!


91%

Perfect value for the money. :) A hostel near the city center, few minutes walking from metro line and other public transport. Very pleasant and helpful owner, no problem in communication, free WiFi and breakfast, what else could we wish for? :) Thank you for the great stay for great money, hope we can stay again if we get back to Budapest. :)

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Maxim hostel is great, we had a nice stay and our private room was spacious and always warm. It is situated near to the main tram stops, although we mostly walked around Budapest as nothing is too far away. The shower facilities are good and so is the kitchen. George showed us in and was very friendly, and for the rest of the stay Perry helped us with everything we needed to know. Even advising us to travel to Vienna before Zagreb which we don't regret one bit.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback