X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Maya Guesthouse & Hostel Reviews

Jl. Mataram No. 29B, Kuta, Indonesia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
89 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

for its price it was fantastic, everything worked, i definetly recomd staying there


63%

This is a lovely guest house quite a walk away from Main Street and even further to the beach so going out on a night is abit scary if you aren't used to bali but still nice


86%

This is a nice, clean place. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast. Use the directions provided on hostelworld to find Maya (it's between a Mini Mart and Indomarket at No 29B on the opposite side of the street). Mataram is a busy little local street with places to try local food as well as on adjacent streets.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We liked the hostel so much that we stayed there for three nights instead of one.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Maya Guesthouse is really beautiful, our room was spacious and clean and modern. We loved eating the free breakfast out in the patio area as well, and it's super accessible to the beach and downtown. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.


89%

Lovely stay, clean comfortable. Difficult to find unless a taxi drops you very close though. We walked around for 40 minutes using the address and google maps. The written directions were the most useful in the end

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

One of the best hostels we've stayed in. As 2 girls the walk up the dark street to the hostel didn't feel particularly safe but the rooms were spotless and breakfast was delicious!


77%

Good cheap hotel close to Legian and not too far from the beach. The street that it's on has a lot of cheap Indonesian food places that are definitely worth trying too


100%

it very nice guesthouse and clean. Especially their staft really friendly. It locate at quiet street and everynight I can sleep sweetly....I 'll recommend my friend stay at here, it really value for money.


86%

very close to the centre area of Kuta & Legian and beaches. but would be better if you rent a scooter. no credit card facility at the reception, but friendly staff let me checked in first before i got my US dolar exchanged with indonesia rupiah the next day. helpful staff with daily housekeeping & 24 hours security, highly recommended if you are looking for a place to stay where is value for money.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was great value for money and the rooms were very generous with big beds, clean private ensuite sand even filtered water in the rooms. The free breakfast was very nice also. It's a 5 walk from Jl Legian, but for us this was perfect as it meant that it felt a little more local. We have already booked to stay here again soon.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Brilliant rooms, very spacious and maintain very high standards. Excellent breakfast included with several options on offer.


91%

Very nice close to skygarden... Staff very nice and efficient. Feels like home.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Clean friendly place to stay however there is no atmosphere. It's set back from the main strip of kuta. This is only a ten minute walk perhaps but I wouldn't advise a group of females to go because the walk isn't safe at night. Also the walk to the beach is about 20 minutes. Be prepared to be awakened by cockerels and dogs barking. Good if you need a place to stay before/after the airport. Bad if you want to spend some time in kuta. Stay on poppies 1 or 2 if you want atmosphere

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

we loved our stay at maya guesthouse - even came back a second time. the location is very good, cause it's quiet but just a few minutes walk from the main street and the beach friendly staff and clean rooms!

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

A bit far away from the beach, but there is a lot of good places to eat in the same street. It's not too silent at nights. Good place for sleeping but not much other activities.


77%

A nice guesthouse with pretty rooms. Unfortunately it's not very close to the beach and the shopping street. To the beach you have to walk around 30 minutes which can be quite exhausting in the sun. But if you are looking for a nice and quite place to stay outside of the main tourist center it's a good choice. PS: they serve a delicious traditional breakfast!


89%

A bit away from the Kuta beach but not a problem if you plan on renting a motor bike. Welcoming staff was excellent and helped us rent motorbikes, and even a round trip to Gili Islands for after our stay (really good value, definitely recommend this). Breakfast was brought to our room every morning and they always changed the menu which was nice. Good wifi connection, a/c, and even cable tv. Would definitely stay here again


83%

When you compare to other properties in Kuta, Maya is an outstanding deal. But solely based on it's own merits Maya succeeds with an outstanding staff and is a great value. On the downside, it is very difficult to find, had the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on (by far) and I shared the bathroom with a giant cockroach for 3 days. He kept to his side, I kept to mine. All that said, in a place like Kuta, Bali I would stay at Maya again.


86%

Nice hostel that is relatively quiet, but still within walking distance of the beach and the night life.


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Kuta Hostels

Please give us your feedback