X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Maya village Guesthouse & Hostel Reviews

Jl. Mataram No. 29B, Kuta, Indonesia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
95 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

I booked a 3 bed room but there were only 2 beds in the room. they placed a small bed on the floor when i complained. Not my expectation when i book a 3 bed room online.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks again for coming! We very much appreciate hosting you. OK this is a great opportunity to clarify. Please to all incoming guests... IMPORTANT:PLEASE CLICK ON THE ROOM TYPE AND READ THE DESCRIPTION AS NOTED ON EACH ROOM TYPE. You will see that description for 3pax & 4pax is for 2 QUEEN BEDS in 1 room. We can also provide an extra single bed as needed for FREE. This is because this site does not have an option to write 2 double-bed room. Thank you again! :)

89%

One of the better options in Kuta, hostel prices with hotel amenities. Staff are quite nice and the location is nearer to the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very nice to meet you and host you! We very much appreciate coming and for your kind words. Thank you for pointing our our location is within WALKING DISTANCE TO KUTA BEACH. IF you know the right way to go, it takes about 10-15 minutes to walk. Or if you have a motor-scooter, which we rent directly from our reception for $6 per day, it just takes just 3-5 minutes. Our staff appreciate hearing your kind words. We all do our best t o take care of our guests. Thank you again!

97%

My friend and I both love this place very much. The staff were excellent! They always tried to help us on our requests and to all our inquiries. Strongly recommended and we will be staying with them again should we come back to Bali one day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for coming! We loved hosting you as well. We're so happy for your kind words. Our staff really enjoy interacting with and helping our guests. Hurry up and come back! :) Thank you!

83%

Good place, great people. The bathroom did smell bad, but that was only issue, u get what u pay for. Overall I was very happy for a backpacker experience and price.

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Gorgeous place to stay. We extended another night here. Wonderful staff, breakfast is yummy and rooms are perfect


94%

for its price it was fantastic, everything worked, i definetly recomd staying there


63%

This is a lovely guest house quite a walk away from Main Street and even further to the beach so going out on a night is abit scary if you aren't used to bali but still nice


86%

This is a nice, clean place. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast. Use the directions provided on hostelworld to find Maya (it's between a Mini Mart and Indomarket at No 29B on the opposite side of the street). Mataram is a busy little local street with places to try local food as well as on adjacent streets.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We liked the hostel so much that we stayed there for three nights instead of one.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Maya Guesthouse is really beautiful, our room was spacious and clean and modern. We loved eating the free breakfast out in the patio area as well, and it's super accessible to the beach and downtown. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.


89%

Lovely stay, clean comfortable. Difficult to find unless a taxi drops you very close though. We walked around for 40 minutes using the address and google maps. The written directions were the most useful in the end

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

One of the best hostels we've stayed in. As 2 girls the walk up the dark street to the hostel didn't feel particularly safe but the rooms were spotless and breakfast was delicious!


77%

Good cheap hotel close to Legian and not too far from the beach. The street that it's on has a lot of cheap Indonesian food places that are definitely worth trying too


100%

it very nice guesthouse and clean. Especially their staft really friendly. It locate at quiet street and everynight I can sleep sweetly....I 'll recommend my friend stay at here, it really value for money.


86%

very close to the centre area of Kuta & Legian and beaches. but would be better if you rent a scooter. no credit card facility at the reception, but friendly staff let me checked in first before i got my US dolar exchanged with indonesia rupiah the next day. helpful staff with daily housekeeping & 24 hours security, highly recommended if you are looking for a place to stay where is value for money.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was great value for money and the rooms were very generous with big beds, clean private ensuite sand even filtered water in the rooms. The free breakfast was very nice also. It's a 5 walk from Jl Legian, but for us this was perfect as it meant that it felt a little more local. We have already booked to stay here again soon.


94%

Brilliant rooms, very spacious and maintain very high standards. Excellent breakfast included with several options on offer.


91%

Very nice close to skygarden... Staff very nice and efficient. Feels like home.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Clean friendly place to stay however there is no atmosphere. It's set back from the main strip of kuta. This is only a ten minute walk perhaps but I wouldn't advise a group of females to go because the walk isn't safe at night. Also the walk to the beach is about 20 minutes. Be prepared to be awakened by cockerels and dogs barking. Good if you need a place to stay before/after the airport. Bad if you want to spend some time in kuta. Stay on poppies 1 or 2 if you want atmosphere

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

we loved our stay at maya guesthouse - even came back a second time. the location is very good, cause it's quiet but just a few minutes walk from the main street and the beach friendly staff and clean rooms!

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Kuta Hostels

Please give us your feedback