X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Maya village Guesthouse & Hostel Reviews

Jl. Mataram No. 29B, Kuta, Indonesia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
101 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The hotel is very good. A little bit far away from the beach but it doesn't matter if you rent a bike. We planned to stay there 2 nights and then look for something closer to the beach, but we found ourselves happy with the place and stayed there for the whole time. When you don't stay on the main street you get to experience more of everyday life of locals, get lower prices in the shops, less tourists and quieter atmosphere. Plus the staff and manager were vey attentive and helpful!

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Because of The Construction site right next Door, our stay was not as pleasant, as it could have been. It was noisy, and killed The atmosphere. The staff however was very helpfull, when we where robbed right outside The hotel. They gave us a new key No fuzz and changed the lock in our closet immediately. Under other circumstances it would have been a nice place to stay.

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I love staffs here - they're lovely and enthusiastic to help us. The location of this guesthouse seems to be in the middle of a small market, so we can try many local food


89%

Warm and welcoming staff, great use of amazing pool nearby. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would happily stay again.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I booked a 3 bed room but there were only 2 beds in the room. they placed a small bed on the floor when i complained. Not my expectation when i book a 3 bed room online.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks again for coming! We very much appreciate hosting you. OK this is a great opportunity to clarify. Please to all incoming guests... IMPORTANT:PLEASE CLICK ON THE ROOM TYPE AND READ THE DESCRIPTION AS NOTED ON EACH ROOM TYPE. You will see that description for 3pax & 4pax is for 2 QUEEN BEDS in 1 room. We can also provide an extra single bed as needed for FREE. This is because this site does not have an option to write 2 double-bed room. Thank you again! :)

89%

One of the better options in Kuta, hostel prices with hotel amenities. Staff are quite nice and the location is nearer to the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very nice to meet you and host you! We very much appreciate coming and for your kind words. Thank you for pointing our our location is within WALKING DISTANCE TO KUTA BEACH. IF you know the right way to go, it takes about 10-15 minutes to walk. Or if you have a motor-scooter, which we rent directly from our reception for $6 per day, it just takes just 3-5 minutes. Our staff appreciate hearing your kind words. We all do our best t o take care of our guests. Thank you again!

74%

It is a good place if you are to spend a few nights near Kuta's center. The prices are very modest. The staff will help you if you need anything such as booking trips, directions, etc. There are currently doing some construction work over there, so it does get a bit noisy sometimes. Also, there was a funny coming from the bathroom, but nothing that can ruin your stay. Just a bit far from the beach, but free breakfast is always welcomed.


97%

My friend and I both love this place very much. The staff were excellent! They always tried to help us on our requests and to all our inquiries. Strongly recommended and we will be staying with them again should we come back to Bali one day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for coming! We loved hosting you as well. We're so happy for your kind words. Our staff really enjoy interacting with and helping our guests. Hurry up and come back! :) Thank you!

83%

Good place, great people. The bathroom did smell bad, but that was only issue, u get what u pay for. Overall I was very happy for a backpacker experience and price.

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Gorgeous place to stay. We extended another night here. Wonderful staff, breakfast is yummy and rooms are perfect


94%

for its price it was fantastic, everything worked, i definetly recomd staying there


63%

This is a lovely guest house quite a walk away from Main Street and even further to the beach so going out on a night is abit scary if you aren't used to bali but still nice


86%

This is a nice, clean place. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast. Use the directions provided on hostelworld to find Maya (it's between a Mini Mart and Indomarket at No 29B on the opposite side of the street). Mataram is a busy little local street with places to try local food as well as on adjacent streets.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We liked the hostel so much that we stayed there for three nights instead of one.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Maya Guesthouse is really beautiful, our room was spacious and clean and modern. We loved eating the free breakfast out in the patio area as well, and it's super accessible to the beach and downtown. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.


89%

Lovely stay, clean comfortable. Difficult to find unless a taxi drops you very close though. We walked around for 40 minutes using the address and google maps. The written directions were the most useful in the end


89%

One of the best hostels we've stayed in. As 2 girls the walk up the dark street to the hostel didn't feel particularly safe but the rooms were spotless and breakfast was delicious!


77%

Good cheap hotel close to Legian and not too far from the beach. The street that it's on has a lot of cheap Indonesian food places that are definitely worth trying too


100%

it very nice guesthouse and clean. Especially their staft really friendly. It locate at quiet street and everynight I can sleep sweetly....I 'll recommend my friend stay at here, it really value for money.




View all Kuta Hostels

Please give us your feedback