X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Maya village Guesthouse & Hostel Reviews

Jl. Mataram No. 29, Kuta, Indonesia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
158 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Convenient location and great value for the money. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We appreciated having the free breakfast and enjoyed the pretty courtyard and the cafe. New pool is almost done and will be a cool addition to the property. Great start to a fun day!


97%

We really Love Maya.Its a lovely hidden place in the middle of crazy fun Kuta center. Its got the best location, because only one street away from Legian the main street, but still with lots of great local food and an awesome large garden courtyard, really nice bamboo and flowers. Their Cafe named "Karma" is also awesome for having a beer or the free breakfast on offer.can't wait til their pool is open next month. for now we met up with other guests at their other pool closeby at the villas. yay

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Location is great and this place has potential but overall was a huge disappointment. Paid a lot to stay here for New Years over somewhere else because they advertised a pool- there is none. Or rather, the "pool" is a dirt pit labeled as under construction but it looks 8-9 months from being done at the earliest. Room was dirty, toilet was broken, breakfast was fairly mediocre. Could be great if they maintained it better and had some decent staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
1. The Pool WE ALREADY HAVE AVAILABLE for our guests, which we have had since the beginning is at our sister property (Buddha Guest Villas) 200 meters away.. It is a large pool which our guests can use anytime. And that is the pool which we advertise on hostelworld. If read the description. 2. Our NEW SWIMMING POOL, is almost finished which is on site. It is LESS THAN 1 MONTH from being finished, definitely NOT 8-9 months. How you can estimate that without knowing anything about it is surprising. 3. We apologize greatly if toilet was broken, it must be the toilet seat being loose that you are referring to. The actual toilet has never been broken. However, we will make sure it's fixed, and for breakfast try to improve. Usually we get a lot of compliments for our breakfast. 4. Thank you for your kind words about our good location and that it could be great, so many guests already say it's great, so thank you. 5. Everyone, everywhere in Bali pays a higher rate for New Years and actually everywhere is like. Our rate is actually usually the lowest. 6. We hope you'll come back soon and swim . OUR SWIMMING POOL IS ALMOST FINISHED!

83%

Lovely place to stay. When we arrived we were upgraded to a bigger room - for free. Beds, shower/bath and general room cleanliness was very good. Free breakfast in the cafe next door is included which was enjoyable - we also ate there for dinner once, good noodles! Realistically about 20 mins walk from the beach/touristy area. Very good air con. Only thing is the entrance is kind of on a building site, not a lot of noise from those guys though so we didn't mind. All in all pleasant stay :)


54%

nicest construction site i've been to.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for coming to stay with us. Not a very nice thing to say, since we are MAKING A NEW SWIMMING POOL for our guests, and all our rooms and our entire hotel is not affected by it. Only the front area, and the pool is almost finished, hopefully by the end of the year. We also have another pool available for our guests 200 meters away.

97%

Staff were excellent and well informed, really enjoyed the stay!

  • 1st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you so much for your booking and your kind review. We really appreciate it and see you upon your return. Glad you had a nice time. Our pool is almost finished, so we'll see you back, here for a swim. Sincerely, Maya Guest Services.

89%

The location was a bit far. That's all what I would complain. Otherwise good.


91%

Good value for.money. Staff able to organise stuff well. Great breakfast. Fridge was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks very much for coming to stay with us and for your kind words. We very much appreciate you and ALL out great guests from around the world. Glad you liked the free breakfast, and hope you enjoyed our new cafe and Bar. Our new swimming pool is very close to being finished, so you can use it next time! Thanks again! Maya Guest Services

89%

Only staid one night in the private rooms. Absolutely lovely. Clean and neat. Location is definitely not the best but you can easily ask the staff to rent a scooter or walk about 15 mins to get to where the clubs and beach are. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. Wonderful free breakfast in the morning. Staff again was wonderful


100%

Staff very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we had been upgraded to a bigger room, which was great and very clean. The air conditioning worked very well. It's not on the Main Street of Kuta which is nice, as it's a little quieter. The breakfast was excellent (banana porridge and fresh fruit). It's still new and once the pool has been completed it will be even better.

  • 18th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The rooms are big and nice. When I stayed they were working on expanding the building making a new big building when completed I believe it will be very nice.


83%

Really liked my stay here in Bali. It was great to start my asia journey and to ease into Indonesian life. Room was lovely, location was central and great, staff were incredibly friendly. Breakfast was also amazing, absolutely loved the banana pancake on special, you should have that every day on the breakfast menu!!!! Wonderful stay!


89%

Great stuff, possibility of arragning tour by taxi (good value for money) good food (bespide hamburgers) great amout of fruits during breakfast order your food earlier if you had for example plane- once we had been waiting for more than half an hour no pool- work in progress


100%

We loved staying at Maya. The location was perfect for walking around Kuta and Legian, close enough to the beach to walk and still quiet, clean and nice in room. We felt safe and enjoyed swimming in the pool at the pool at their other property. They're building another pool at Maya now and we hope to use it when we come back in December. Love the quiet bamboo garden courtyard and the new bar they have in front of the property.


94%

Great stuff, possibility of arragning tour by taxi (good value for money). good food (bespide hamburgers) great amout of fruits during breakfast. order your food earlier if you had for example plane- once we had been waiting for more than half an hour. no pool- work in progress


46%

In the pictures there is a pool, when we got there, the pool was still being built. Very paper thin walls and average cleanliness such as dirty floors or tiles in the bathroom. However I did enjoy the stay there, the breakfasts were really really yummy!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for coming to stay with us :) however this is incorrect. WE WRITE ON OUR HOSTELWORLD PAGE, YOU CAN USE THE SWIMMING POOL AT OUR PARTNER PROPERTIES BUDDHA VILLAS, which is just 200 meters away. And it is also true...OUR NEW SWIMMING POOL is almost done and WILL BE FINISHED NOVEMBER! We can't wait, so for future guests, see you very soon. Thank you.

91%

Excellent hotel with great value for money! We got an upgrade for free! Friendly staff and excellent location for delicious street food. We would go there again!

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff was very helpful! Location was good, to be a little bit away from all the busy shops. Balinese owned property, which is good to support! Breakfast was delicious. Good location if your looking to party - which you are if your searching in Kuta. Great staff!


80%

The guesthouse had a perfect location: very close to the city centre, but in a small street so at night it was very quiet. The only downside was that every time after my room was cleaned, I had the feeling people had gone through my stuff (eg things that were inside my toiletry bag, were suddenly lying somewhere else) Nothing was missing, but it made me feel a bit uncomfortable.


46%

The bathroom needed a revamp. I didn't enjoy shower time :( the breakfast was ok. I didn't enjoy the walk from the main strip to the place. I wouldn't have felt safe doing it alone after a night out. It was just ok.


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Kuta Hostels

Please give us your feedback