X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mayflower Hotel Reviews

975 Bush St, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
307 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The location was perfect. We left our car in the parking and spend the time in San Francisco walking around. Just 5-10 minutes from Union Square and a 45 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf. It was perfect. The room was big and clean - a lovely stay :)

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

WiFi didn't work :(

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We enjoyed our stay at the Mayflower and would definitely stay there again. The staff were friendly and helpful, the location was good and the room was clean. It is a little noisy at night since it is in the city and there were quite a few sirens, but we live in a city and are used to it. Definitely a good place for the price.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Good value hotel in a central location. Our room was large and fairly well equipped for a 3 star hotel. The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. WiFi signal was patchy - possibly need a more powerful router. Only real issue was the breakfast room, which really isn't big enough to cater for all guests. But the ability to take food back to rooms sort of made up for that. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Overall a good choice if you want a no-frills, convenient hotel in San Fran.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Hotel of character and history, very helpful reception staff. Clean room and comfortable. If breakfast means alot to you, you will be disappointed, intermittant quality and quantity, get there early or everything is gone and the diningroom staff pretend not to speak english when asked where the food is. Close to Chinatown which is nice, walking distance of Fishermans Wharf but not with a suitcase. Very nice Deli next door, food, beer, water etc.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

We enjoyed our stay here, liked the "old world" feel and the staff were helpful and friendly. Only complaint would be the lack of tea/coffee making, ie kettle, in the room, as there was a fridge and microwave this seems a shame. Coming from England we like boiling water for a tea! Otherwise all good.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great staff very helpful. The hotel was clean and altho tired and in need of a spruce up with a coat of paint it was perfectly adequate and welcoming after a day out sightseeing.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice basic but clean rooms. Safe in room would be nice if possible but overall enjoyed our stay. Didn't try breakfast but nice to have that option.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hotel, nice staff, excellent location. A good choice for vacationers. Our fire alarm went off twice (both while showering) and should be fixed immediately.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

As others have mentioned, it is an older hotel and the rooms are plain but clean with excellent free Wi-Fi in a very good location--a few blocks from shopping and two blocks to beautiful St. Katherine's Cathedral. The staff is excellent--I left my phone battery in the room and the maids found it and they are mailing it back to me free of charge.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Generally great people who were willing to assist and provide information. Very quaint hotel with some old world charm but with modern additions. Wifi in room was about the only complaint...it was really poor in our rom...but this is nothing really when you can get connected in so many places throughout the city. Driveway to the carpark is super narrow but you are forewarned on this. We managed to squeeze our mustang (recent model) down and into the car park. Off street parking essential.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

It reminded us of a European Hotel and or a Bed and Breakfast.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

I love staying in this place. The one issue I had with the place previously was fixed this time. My only regret was that I couldn't stay longer. It's got a comfy old world SF feel, refurbished. Necessary amenities. I haven't really found that in any other hotel I've stayed in in SF.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A great place to stay. Very large comfortable room, bed was fantastic! Superbly clean and a lovely quiet location. Sea not too far away. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast included, which was lovely.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Would greatly appreciate the hotel serving HOT breakfast. The carpet in the closet in our hotel room smelt of soaked urine!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

never stayed at

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Whether you are pleased or disappointed depends on expectations. A location in the "heart of things" with great access to public transportaion" GREAT Old, quaint and vintage Hotel - GREAT Helpful front desk staff GREAT. Updated linens - NO Bring Fabreeze or you can buy some right next door at a welle stocked market. My favorite thing was those old timey elevators with the "cage" doors. Kid would love it.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Safety deposit boxes in rooms would have been appreciated but not a big problem. Hotel is only a short walk (Uphill) from Powell street station so is ideal for getting the BART from the airport. Breakfast was good and an added bonus when trying to save money on a trip however get down there well before 9 as a lot of the food will be gone!

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were super nice and helped us a lot. Nice little hotel, feels like home, although the wifi is a bit disappointing.


69%

Individual no-frills property, well located offering good value for money.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback