X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mayflower Hotel Reviews

975 Bush St, San Francisco, California, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
257 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Individual no-frills property, well located offering good value for money.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The Mayflower is a great place to stay with lots of charm. The room was very clean; the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again when visiting San Francisco.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The Mayflower was ok but I have issue with the 15 percent deposit that was not a booking fee according to the bill. The deposit was not recognized by the hotel. They said that it was a booking fee. I felt like I was cheated even though it was not a large amount. I will never book through Hostelworld again.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic warm welcome from very friendly staff who looked after us for the whole stay. They even arranged an early breakfast when we had an early starting tour. Rooms were a good size with walk in closets, kitchenette etc. no safe in the room but everything else was perfect. Great hotel with good links for local shopping and transport for fishermans wharf.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good value hotel in great SFO location ie. most areas are reachable on foot

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

to get only an easy english breakfast was unusual for us. the only airconditioning was a ventilator

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We really liked this hotel. The (cottage) room was really lovely. The one let-down was the breakfast. I had requested a gluten free breakfast and the desk staff told me that there would be GF bread, however the wait staff told me that there wasn't any. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay.

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

really friendly and helpful staff. large room with lots of storage space. microwave and fridge in room but no coffee facilities or safe. breakfast included, basic but nice. I would stay here again.

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Th Mayflower was obvioulsy lovely in its day and could be now but its former glory is oveshadowed by cheap maintenance and furnishings e.g. yellow and brown sheets under a flowery 70s bed cover, plastic flowers in the glorious old foyer, cracked sink (not original) in the bathroom with purple towels.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The receptionists are great. The rooms are beautiful. The amenities are lovely.

  • 18th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent Hostel in well maintained old hotel. Excellent breakfast by wonderful manager wih homemade egg/ham foods and scones. Outstanding location. Clean and excellent value


89%

It might be good to clean up after some washing solution is used in the bathing tub that leaves strange colors. But anyway, I had a great stay and can definitely recommend you further

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

This is a very pleasant hotel. It is definitely old-style, and this is a plus (of course if you like it). Old style, but beautifully kept, it appeared that it had just been repainted. Very nice decorations and paintings on the walls add to the atmosphere. Staff is great, very friendly and helpful. Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere among the guests as well, quite different from the hectic character of most city hotels. I liked it, and will definitely consider going back in some future occasion

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Good staff, good breakfast, free wifi, good location.

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The rooms were rather dated although we expected that from reading others reviews. Clean rooms. Breakfast had limited choice.Friendly staff keen to assist in familiarising us with the area.

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great old hotel and one of the best locations

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very central, easy to walk everywhere, lots of little supermarkets around and laundries. Nice atmosphere and good breakfast. Very friendly welcome from staff.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The hotel & rooms were super clean & the staff friendly & helpful.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback