X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mayflower Hotel Reviews

975 Bush St, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
377 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

We enjoyed our 8-night stay at the Mayflower. It was a very personal experience with a quiet room and very comfortable beds. The hotel is 80 years old which shows in some places but it does have a charm and is certainly adequate for the leisure traveller. The breakfasts were included in the room rate and the hotel even made the effort to provide "gluten-free" bread for my wife. Mayflower is about a 5-block walk to Union Square. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hotel, would definitely go again. Staff was great and so helpful! Breakfast was lovely too and the room was immense with a great view.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nothing to say, unfortunately it's impossible to go to the parking with a van, so we had to pay $120 for 3 nights in a public parking. All about the hotel was great. We'll come back (if we rent for a basic car ^^)

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location and value for money. However, the place needs a good overhaul. The lobby is so pretty but someones attempts to paint murals looks very childish and amateurish and the walls would look better left plain. The bathrooms could do with being updated and perhaps some non-slip mats could be offered for the baths as I was afraid of slipping. The staff are the strong point, helpful and friendly.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

loved the hotel I will be staying there again in december very nice great staff


100%

The Mayflower Hotel was our first stop in the US and we were pleasantly surprised to find such a nice boutique hotel in the centre of the city at such a good price. We were travelling with 4 adults and 3 children and it couldn't have been a better start. The family grocer next door was also a great spot to shop for food

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The Breakfast is very limited and should be improved even if that increases the price a bit. Keeping the Hotel in a traditional older style is ok and quite charming but things like the Lift are very fiddly and limiting when getting in and out with suitcases. That said the price is pretty good for Location. The free Wi-Fi was useful and worked well. The Bed was very comfortable. The walk in wardrobe was very big and by lessening the size of that the Bathroom could be increased to a nicer size.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Hester, Natalie and all the staff were very helpful, informative and kind. Celebrated my Birthday there and it was so nice that I might go back again! Certainly would recommend it! The old world charm added to my San Fracisco stay.


74%

This hotel is not luxurious, but it had everything we required in a decent area for a terrific rate compared to other hotels in the area. The staff could not have been better. They allowed us to check in very early (10am) and were always ready to answer any questions and give advice. We had the windows open during the day, but closed them at night. The noise was not an issue. We were on the 6th floor facing Bush St. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great...meat, cheese and eg


91%

Great location. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent value for a hotel in San Fransisco. We would certainly stay again if ever back in San Fransisco.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

There is very little parking at the hotel, but you can park in a public garage overnight for $25.00. I pay $66.00 in NYC, so that was a bargain. I was worried about the fact that the hotel does not have air conditioning. Never having visited San Francisco before, I was not familiar with the weather, and didn't realize that it doesn't get very hot. The ceiling fan did the job nicely. Would happily stay here again!

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

4 day stay, fantastic location with fantastic helpful staff. Rooms were clean and facilities perfect. Will definitely stay here on my next trip.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice surprise, great value, wonderful staff.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Ideal accommodation for visiting San Francisco. The recently updated rooms are very tastefully done and the whole hotel has a wonderful atmosphere. If the proprietors have any influence over the car park recommended, their policy of charging on the day rate needs to be reconsidered. It is unfair to charge full days on late arrival and early departure. Otherwise our experience of the staff at the main desk were extremely helpful and knowledgeable .

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

There is "Shabby Chic" & plain shabby, this hotel falls into he latter

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

An older hotel, 1920's , well maintained and very clean. The hotel a distinct old world charm. Desk staff were always very friendly and helpful. The room included fridge and microwave - very useful, and the continental breakfast was fine. The location on Bush street was only 2 or 3 blocks from the Cable Car lines - very convenient and also we used 47 bus on Van Ness a few times - only 4 or 5 blocks away. Compared to the prices of other hotels in San Francisco, very good value. Recommended!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The hotel was conveniently located, it was clean and the breakfast they provided was quite good, in comparison with the typical continental breakfast. The garage they have in the hotel is not big enough for cars of a large size, such as a Ford Expedition or similar. You will need to park the car in a nearby garage, that is located in another street, it is about a 5 to 10 minute walk, and the daily cost of the garage is 42 dollars, so be prepared. No A/C in the room but the temp was ok.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Choose this place for my 2nd trip to San Francisco and I am completely happy with it. It's off the main union square circuit so the streets aren't as busy. It isn't luxury but it's comfortable and clean. It has parking and a decent free breakfast. Something you don't find in many hotels in this city. Would stay here again.


86%

Absolutely wonderful thank you would recommend to a friend staff wonderfully. Location sort of far away from peri 39 main active area in san Francisco however overall great place to stay. A little old but is quaint

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Knowing its history the hotel looks great. Very warm & welcoming. The room was clean and well maintained. Comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, nice shower, kitchenette. Yay! Another plus is the free use of the computer with internet access. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Breakfast is included and rather good & varied. Do toast the bagels though! Location is convenient: walking distance to most places. SF hotels are incredibly expensive, so all in all I think it's good value for money.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback