X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mayflower Hotel Reviews

975 Bush St, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
437 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Everything about our stay in SF was great and the hotel and its staff only complemented our experience. Great hotel and great value in comparison to any similarly located property. I would definitely refer anyone to them and will stay there the next time I'm in SF.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff on reception weren't very welcoming, the rooms are average.Its very 'Oldy worldly' which is nice but ruined slight by drawings on the walls. More effort needed, it was expensive for what we got, but what isn't in San Fran! The room was clean & spacious and in quite a good location

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The amount of water in the flush toilet was poor. Very compact room, but it was very easy to use and comfortable stay.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved staying st the Mayflower. Staff went above and beyond in helpfulness to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was great and the room was clean and quiet. We felt like we were living in our own home. We will definitely stay again in the future. Many international couples and families were staying there making conversation extremely enjoyable

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Awesome hotel! Some of the staff are dochey but wasn't unbearable. Love that they have parking hate that it's so inconvenient but hey it was suffice!

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A lovely, traditional hotel with very helpful staff.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The Hotel Mayflower is the perfect place to stay in San Francisco if you are on a budget! The location in Nob Hill is very central to the rest of the city and close to many modes of public transportation. Chinatown is only a short walk downhill. I stayed in a room with two friends; the room was clean, very big and had a nice kitchenette area. And breakfast was included each morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.


89%

We appreciated being let in at 6am and offered breakfast after our 24 hour flight as well as storing our luggage while we went off to see the sights.


94%

Had a great stay.


100%

I have stayed with them twice now, and both times they have been helpful and accommodating.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Thank you: For your prompt response to an email requesting a specific room location; for a minor repair of a closet light fixture; for having the room serviced at a requested time; for arranging shuttle transportation to the airport. The shower worked well but the hot water was too hot. I appreciated having a blanket on the bed instead of just a comforter as in many chain hotels.The print sheets were fun.Towels of good quality. Room baseboards and an exposed pipe were dusty; windows were dirty.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a nice experience at Mayflower hotel we love the old fashion style and the clean room with very polite and helpful staff . We definitely be back !

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Thank you for a nice stay! Very friendly and accommodating.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved the atmosphere & feel to the place. Beautiful murals painted on bedroom walls & throughout hotel. The entrance lobby is amazing + the old lifts add to the atmosphere. We stayed mid week when it was quieter but found we could hear other guests on the final night which was a Friday. Excellent breakfast; loved the choice of teas + fresh cakes. Great to find a hotel with a free car park although the entrance was rather tight for a medium sized car

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

I liked the wooden floors but the guests staying in the room above ours kept dropping things. Of course we could hear this and after a while it was quite annoying. This happened after 10pm. The washbasin pedestal in the bathroom wobbled if you leaned against it. An accident waiting to happen? An odd smell permeated the air. I mentioned to my husband who said "it just smells old".

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff provided us with a quiet room which we appreciated.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The Mayflower is an excellent stop as its value for money.The staff were helpful and accommodating every step of the way, the hotel is ideally located,the rooms were clean and spacious and the courtesy breakfast on offer was of a very good standard.The 'modern' generation might complain about the decor and wi-fi speed,but my daughter whose into all this hi-tech stuff made ample use of the facility and had no complaints.As the Americans would say GOOD 'JAAAB'!

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback