X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mayflower Hotel Reviews

975 Bush St, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
361 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

loved the hotel I will be staying there again in december very nice great staff


71%

The Breakfast is very limited and should be improved even if that increases the price a bit. Keeping the Hotel in a traditional older style is ok and quite charming but things like the Lift are very fiddly and limiting when getting in and out with suitcases. That said the price is pretty good for Location. The free Wi-Fi was useful and worked well. The Bed was very comfortable. The walk in wardrobe was very big and by lessening the size of that the Bathroom could be increased to a nicer size.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

This hotel is not luxurious, but it had everything we required in a decent area for a terrific rate compared to other hotels in the area. The staff could not have been better. They allowed us to check in very early (10am) and were always ready to answer any questions and give advice. We had the windows open during the day, but closed them at night. The noise was not an issue. We were on the 6th floor facing Bush St. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great...meat, cheese and eg


100%

There is very little parking at the hotel, but you can park in a public garage overnight for $25.00. I pay $66.00 in NYC, so that was a bargain. I was worried about the fact that the hotel does not have air conditioning. Never having visited San Francisco before, I was not familiar with the weather, and didn't realize that it doesn't get very hot. The ceiling fan did the job nicely. Would happily stay here again!

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

4 day stay, fantastic location with fantastic helpful staff. Rooms were clean and facilities perfect. Will definitely stay here on my next trip.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice surprise, great value, wonderful staff.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Ideal accommodation for visiting San Francisco. The recently updated rooms are very tastefully done and the whole hotel has a wonderful atmosphere. If the proprietors have any influence over the car park recommended, their policy of charging on the day rate needs to be reconsidered. It is unfair to charge full days on late arrival and early departure. Otherwise our experience of the staff at the main desk were extremely helpful and knowledgeable .

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

There is "Shabby Chic" & plain shabby, this hotel falls into he latter

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

An older hotel, 1920's , well maintained and very clean. The hotel a distinct old world charm. Desk staff were always very friendly and helpful. The room included fridge and microwave - very useful, and the continental breakfast was fine. The location on Bush street was only 2 or 3 blocks from the Cable Car lines - very convenient and also we used 47 bus on Van Ness a few times - only 4 or 5 blocks away. Compared to the prices of other hotels in San Francisco, very good value. Recommended!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The hotel was conveniently located, it was clean and the breakfast they provided was quite good, in comparison with the typical continental breakfast. The garage they have in the hotel is not big enough for cars of a large size, such as a Ford Expedition or similar. You will need to park the car in a nearby garage, that is located in another street, it is about a 5 to 10 minute walk, and the daily cost of the garage is 42 dollars, so be prepared. No A/C in the room but the temp was ok.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Choose this place for my 2nd trip to San Francisco and I am completely happy with it. It's off the main union square circuit so the streets aren't as busy. It isn't luxury but it's comfortable and clean. It has parking and a decent free breakfast. Something you don't find in many hotels in this city. Would stay here again.


86%

Absolutely wonderful thank you would recommend to a friend staff wonderfully. Location sort of far away from peri 39 main active area in san Francisco however overall great place to stay. A little old but is quaint

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location, clean and many amenities close by such as grocery stores, restaurants and a laundry. Would totally recommend.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Considering there were 4 adults in one room with two queen beds, we never felt cramped. Plenty of space. Breakfast was basic but substantial. Nothing fancy but plenty to help your self. Staff were really helpfull. Good location, bit of a walk to most of the touristy sites, but always a pleasant walk showing off many of San Francisco's different neighbourhoods. Would stay there again :)

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location and plenty of character, let down only by a poor breakfast offering - a load of different types of (tasty) bread, plus a few slices of cheese do not constitute a "continental breakfast", and most had run out if you weren't down early.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved this place so much, we wanted to move in! It was like having our own San Francisco studio apartment. The neighborhood was safe and provided easy access to many attractions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Such lovely people at the hotel, offered help where ever they could. Room was amazing and very clean. Location was perfect as it was central to all activities.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from the Mayflower Hotel, Thank you for the very positive comments, we really appreciate them as we try out best to keep the place ship shape and try to see that our guests are comfortable.

66%

Staff at the reception was very helpful - especially the lady with the grey hair. Our bathroom was actually not nice - with a hole around the shower head and just old and not maintained. We had to move the bed as something had fallen down. It was obvious that the room hadn't been cleaned properly for a long time. We loved the location and the breakfast was fine. I am not sure if we would recommend the hotel.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The location was perfect. We left our car in the parking and spend the time in San Francisco walking around. Just 5-10 minutes from Union Square and a 45 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf. It was perfect. The room was big and clean - a lovely stay :)

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

WiFi didn't work :(

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback