X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mayflower Hotel Reviews

975 Bush St, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
390 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very nice surprise, great value, wonderful staff.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Ideal accommodation for visiting San Francisco. The recently updated rooms are very tastefully done and the whole hotel has a wonderful atmosphere. If the proprietors have any influence over the car park recommended, their policy of charging on the day rate needs to be reconsidered. It is unfair to charge full days on late arrival and early departure. Otherwise our experience of the staff at the main desk were extremely helpful and knowledgeable .

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

There is "Shabby Chic" & plain shabby, this hotel falls into he latter

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

An older hotel, 1920's , well maintained and very clean. The hotel a distinct old world charm. Desk staff were always very friendly and helpful. The room included fridge and microwave - very useful, and the continental breakfast was fine. The location on Bush street was only 2 or 3 blocks from the Cable Car lines - very convenient and also we used 47 bus on Van Ness a few times - only 4 or 5 blocks away. Compared to the prices of other hotels in San Francisco, very good value. Recommended!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The hotel was conveniently located, it was clean and the breakfast they provided was quite good, in comparison with the typical continental breakfast. The garage they have in the hotel is not big enough for cars of a large size, such as a Ford Expedition or similar. You will need to park the car in a nearby garage, that is located in another street, it is about a 5 to 10 minute walk, and the daily cost of the garage is 42 dollars, so be prepared. No A/C in the room but the temp was ok.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Choose this place for my 2nd trip to San Francisco and I am completely happy with it. It's off the main union square circuit so the streets aren't as busy. It isn't luxury but it's comfortable and clean. It has parking and a decent free breakfast. Something you don't find in many hotels in this city. Would stay here again.


86%

Absolutely wonderful thank you would recommend to a friend staff wonderfully. Location sort of far away from peri 39 main active area in san Francisco however overall great place to stay. A little old but is quaint

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Knowing its history the hotel looks great. Very warm & welcoming. The room was clean and well maintained. Comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, nice shower, kitchenette. Yay! Another plus is the free use of the computer with internet access. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Breakfast is included and rather good & varied. Do toast the bagels though! Location is convenient: walking distance to most places. SF hotels are incredibly expensive, so all in all I think it's good value for money.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location, clean and many amenities close by such as grocery stores, restaurants and a laundry. Would totally recommend.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Considering there were 4 adults in one room with two queen beds, we never felt cramped. Plenty of space. Breakfast was basic but substantial. Nothing fancy but plenty to help your self. Staff were really helpfull. Good location, bit of a walk to most of the touristy sites, but always a pleasant walk showing off many of San Francisco's different neighbourhoods. Would stay there again :)

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location and plenty of character, let down only by a poor breakfast offering - a load of different types of (tasty) bread, plus a few slices of cheese do not constitute a "continental breakfast", and most had run out if you weren't down early.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved this place so much, we wanted to move in! It was like having our own San Francisco studio apartment. The neighborhood was safe and provided easy access to many attractions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Such lovely people at the hotel, offered help where ever they could. Room was amazing and very clean. Location was perfect as it was central to all activities.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello from the Mayflower Hotel, Thank you for the very positive comments, we really appreciate them as we try out best to keep the place ship shape and try to see that our guests are comfortable.

66%

Staff at the reception was very helpful - especially the lady with the grey hair. Our bathroom was actually not nice - with a hole around the shower head and just old and not maintained. We had to move the bed as something had fallen down. It was obvious that the room hadn't been cleaned properly for a long time. We loved the location and the breakfast was fine. I am not sure if we would recommend the hotel.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The location was perfect. We left our car in the parking and spend the time in San Francisco walking around. Just 5-10 minutes from Union Square and a 45 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf. It was perfect. The room was big and clean - a lovely stay :)

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

WiFi didn't work :(

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We enjoyed our stay at the Mayflower and would definitely stay there again. The staff were friendly and helpful, the location was good and the room was clean. It is a little noisy at night since it is in the city and there were quite a few sirens, but we live in a city and are used to it. Definitely a good place for the price.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

great place for families to stay, nice area of San Francisco, felt very safe, clean and quiet. rooms are big but quite dated -comparing the price with other available hotels in the area though this was absolutely fine. easy walk into the centre of town.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Good value hotel in a central location. Our room was large and fairly well equipped for a 3 star hotel. The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. WiFi signal was patchy - possibly need a more powerful router. Only real issue was the breakfast room, which really isn't big enough to cater for all guests. But the ability to take food back to rooms sort of made up for that. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Overall a good choice if you want a no-frills, convenient hotel in San Fran.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(39 results)


View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback