Hostelworld.com

Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

MBizi is really easy to access from or to the airport. The house is huge as are the rooms. Amenities were great with a pool, pool table, pool side bar, BBQ and big screen surround sound entertainment units(2). A few restaurants nearby and a shopping center. Helpful owner assists with tours and not at all pushy. Nice atmosphere. Fun for all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
9.4

This is a great relaxing spot outside of the city. It's a bit of a drive in but worth it if you're looking to relax after a long day. Patrick is a great host with a lot of knowledge of the area. He connected me with a great full day tour guide who was very personable and didn't come with all the boring everyday city tour feel. Very homey atmosphere- a pool, outside bar, and communal kitchen. There's even a few friendly animals (a bunny, rooster, and hen) enjoying the lush green of the backyard.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Feb 2017
6.3

A good place if you need to be near the airport but otherwise it is isolated and quiet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
9.1

My brother and I stayed here for one night before going on a safari to Kruger. We flew in and the proprietor arranged for airport pickup. Taxi was there waiting for us when we arrived. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Allowed us to keep one piece of luggage there during the safari even though we weren't able to stay at Mbizi again after returning to Johannesburg.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.4

Excellent place to stay, Patrick is the best host ever. The neighbourhood feels very safe and the place is very clean and nice. Ask for the tours, I took the one day tour with Yabu and it was amazing, Yabu really knows the city and its history.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Dec 2016
9.4

Great place, cool people, some chill chickens, awesome owner, and a clean pool. The location just seems to be fairly bad, but i'm no expert on JoBurg.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.4

The owner Patrick is fantastic and willing to help you with any of your travel plans. I would definitely recommend staying here even if your in Joburg for just a night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Dec 2016
10.0

Loved Mbizi backpackers! Seriously it felt like coming home... peaceful, safe, great vibe and a lovely private room. Patrick was such an awsome men, friendly and experienced. We would definitely come back here if I would travel true Johannesburg again! About 20 min by taxi, (150rand). Big Supermarket 15 min walk, smaller shops, ATM, bar, Chinese take away about 5 min walk from the hostel. Definitely recommend Mbizi backpackers!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay, the owner is extremely helpful and friendly. Anytime again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sunny_israni
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Dec 2016
7.7

Although the hostel is very neat and Patrick is very helpful, the location of the hostel is not at all favorable for anything and taking a cab to anywhere is expensive if you're not closer to the city centre. There were only 2-3 other people in the hostel when I stayed there for 3 nights, so it felt very dim without any people around. I would highly recommend any hostel closer to the city centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.