Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge Located at 288 Trichardt Road, Parkdene, Boksburg, Johannesburg.
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
South Africa
Johannesburg Gauteng 1459 288 Trichardt Road, Parkdene, Boksburg
91% 429
-26.2325312 28.2573080
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Jan 2017
9.4

Excellent place to stay, Patrick is the best host ever. The neighbourhood feels very safe and the place is very clean and nice. Ask for the tours, I took the one day tour with Yabu and it was amazing, Yabu really knows the city and its history.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Dec 2016
9.4

Great place, cool people, some chill chickens, awesome owner, and a clean pool. The location just seems to be fairly bad, but i'm no expert on JoBurg.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.4

The owner Patrick is fantastic and willing to help you with any of your travel plans. I would definitely recommend staying here even if your in Joburg for just a night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Dec 2016
10.0

Loved Mbizi backpackers! Seriously it felt like coming home... peaceful, safe, great vibe and a lovely private room. Patrick was such an awsome men, friendly and experienced. We would definitely come back here if I would travel true Johannesburg again! About 20 min by taxi, (150rand). Big Supermarket 15 min walk, smaller shops, ATM, bar, Chinese take away about 5 min walk from the hostel. Definitely recommend Mbizi backpackers!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay, the owner is extremely helpful and friendly. Anytime again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sunny_israni
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Dec 2016
7.7

Although the hostel is very neat and Patrick is very helpful, the location of the hostel is not at all favorable for anything and taking a cab to anywhere is expensive if you're not closer to the city centre. There were only 2-3 other people in the hostel when I stayed there for 3 nights, so it felt very dim without any people around. I would highly recommend any hostel closer to the city centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2016
7.7

Stayed for a night before my flight home. Was close to the airport but pretty far from the city center. Very quiet place, it wasn't peak season so there was only a few other people there and left early the next day. Wifi was pretty good. Breakfast was a piece of bread with butter so not really breakfast per se. Towels are for rent and there was never soap in the bathroom which made it feel dirty. Basic hostel for a quick overnight.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.3

Good location for layover from the airport but a fair distance from the city centre, Soweto and the apartheid museum so factor in taxi fares. The owner is lovely and super helpful. Was pretty quiet when I visited but has a lovely outdoor pool area which would be good for meeting people during busier periods

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mattroake4325
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Other reviews highlight the help that Patrick has given in travel planning. This is why I came to Mbizi, and this is why I'm more than satisfied with my stay. I came into South Africa with a "go with the flow" attitude, open to anything, and Patrick proved to be wealth of information and assistance in determining how we would handle our travels. I owe the entire month I was in South Africa to Patrick and his assistance. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Thanks Patrick for a lovely stay. Comfy beds, and great common areas giving the hostel a nice relaxed vibe. Breakfast is a bonus and I like that I can help myself to it when I want it. ATM, restaurants and supermarket a short walk away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.