Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge Located at 288 Trichardt Road, Parkdene, Boksburg, Johannesburg.
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
South Africa
Johannesburg Gauteng 1459 288 Trichardt Road, Parkdene, Boksburg
90% 418
-26.2325312 28.2573080
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Dec 2016
7.7

Stayed for a night before my flight home. Was close to the airport but pretty far from the city center. Very quiet place, it wasn't peak season so there was only a few other people there and left early the next day. Wifi was pretty good. Breakfast was a piece of bread with butter so not really breakfast per se. Towels are for rent and there was never soap in the bathroom which made it feel dirty. Basic hostel for a quick overnight.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • twinsmalls
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
9.4

Patrick is awesome. Highly recommend this place. Felt safe walking and jogging in the area. Stores, pubs, and a neat park were all walking distance from the hostel. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Nov 2016
7.7

Only stayed one night. Upgraded to better room which was lovely and clean. Bit disappointed the swimming pool was pretty dirty when I arrived. Make sure you double check the airport shuttle price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
8.6

Owner Opearator Patrick is an excellent host of this charming lodge which is his ancestral home converted to a hostel, suitable for both backpackers and families. Recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Oct 2016
10.0

Great place, breakfast was awesome and huge, views the best in town, lovely staff, great place to be!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
10.0

Patrick is a great guy! I landed at 4am and he had a driver set to pick me up at 430. I got to the hostel and he was there early to shake my hand and introduce himself. He set up a tour of Joburg for me same day that left at 9am. He also set up my commute from Joburg to Pretoria. I highly recommend staying with Patrick and Mbizi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Oct 2016
10.0

It was a perfect place to stop for the first few days in South Africa. Real close to supermarkets, airport and highways to get into Jo'burg. Facilities and atmosphere are great and Patrick was an awesome host, very chilled and accommodating and more than happy to help with the rest of our trip. Big thumbs up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Oct 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Stayed on a couple of different occasions. Airport pickup and drop off is great. Beds are excellent. NO BUNKS! Huge kitchen with all the conveniences you might need. Drinks available on site. Supermarket is walkable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Sep 2016
10.0

Great Experience, Patrick is awesome made me feel at home and very helpful with questions I had. By way awesome bar !!!! Definitely going to go back in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
6.3

Far away from town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.