Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • beckyinguam6789
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Jun 2017
9.7

Patrick was great! He arranged for a ride from the airport for me and even had some supplies waiting on the kitchen counter that I had asked if I could find at a store nearby!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
9.7

Patrick is a great host and stayed up till late for my midnight arrival. He was kind enough to show me the entire premises despite me being late. Had a lovely experience. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
8.3

Patrick was a very welcoming host and the hostel was exactly what we needed after a 3 week campong tour. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were great. There was also a homely lounge and nice garden area with pool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome place! Super nice owner. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
9.4

Stayed in one of the private rooms. Everything was clean and functioning. Really nice outside bar and pool. Patrick is great. Location is a bit far from Joburg, but it's not too expensive to Uber out there. It is walking distance to some shops and restaurants. Quick trip to/from the airport. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
9.4

Stayed at midi for 4 days in February and was very satisfied indeed! Patrick treats every guest like family and is really helpful in getting done whatever it is you're planning in joburg. It's a bit out of the way of the tourist stuff, but nearby to the airport. Not at all a party backpackers, but a nice atmosphere, pool in bAck, satellite tv, and in site bar. Thanks Patrick for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

MBizi is really easy to access from or to the airport. The house is huge as are the rooms. Amenities were great with a pool, pool table, pool side bar, BBQ and big screen surround sound entertainment units(2). A few restaurants nearby and a shopping center. Helpful owner assists with tours and not at all pushy. Nice atmosphere. Fun for all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
9.4

This is a great relaxing spot outside of the city. It's a bit of a drive in but worth it if you're looking to relax after a long day. Patrick is a great host with a lot of knowledge of the area. He connected me with a great full day tour guide who was very personable and didn't come with all the boring everyday city tour feel. Very homey atmosphere- a pool, outside bar, and communal kitchen. There's even a few friendly animals (a bunny, rooster, and hen) enjoying the lush green of the backyard.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Feb 2017
6.3

A good place if you need to be near the airport but otherwise it is isolated and quiet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.