Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mec Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3,582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3,582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Mec Hostel Located at 42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin.
Mec Hostel
Ireland
Dublin 42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1
83% 3582
53.3547650 -6.2607479
Mec Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
10.0

We had a fabulous time time at this hostel, it's great for groups because everything is supersized - huge lounges, huge kitchen, rooms with space to move around, big smoking garden. Staff are friendly and there was always somebody available. Comfort and cleanliness are what is to be expected from a hostel type accomodation, no surprises here, it's not the Hilton.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2016
6.9

Good location, right by O'connell street and walking distance to Temple Bar, Trinity College and train stations. Dorm room was spacious but there were not enough lockers in the room as well as outlets. Showers on each floor were alright, having to press the button every couple minutes to shower was tedious. The basement showers were the best in the hostel as they were newer and more spacious. Wifi was spotty throughout the hostel. Quiet atmosphere in hostel but worth the price for its location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
10.0

Extremely convenient location... friendly staff that got to know me after a few days and we're always willing to help or chat... clean, make your own bed, pretty comfy.. gets hot but it's a hostel with 16 people. Lockers were nice too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Sep 2016
7.4

Having to get the card pass coded every day was a hassle, if you had a shower after 10am and forgot you needed it coded, you were locked out. The atmosphere was boring, but it was a 10-15 min stroll to the pumping temple bar. Not good for solo travelers but would be ideal for a group

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
7th Sep 2016
10.0

The rooms are nice and spacious and the beds are comfortable. They have a fully equipped kitchen and plenty of stove tops and benches so that's a huge plus for me. They also have lots of games and things to pass time if you ever get bored :D I would definitely recommend staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Gambia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
10.0

in Dublin, for this price it doesn't get better than this

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
10.0

brilliant centrally located hostel with informative staff and extensive facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
6.3

Very well located, it tales only 15 mins. to the main city attractions. The building looks nice although it needs to be refurbished. Our double ensuite room was Big but not clean enough. The bed was ok but not the sleep you're dreaming of. Kitchen stuff wasn't clean, the bathroom floor was bit sticky, and there we're a couple of massive Spider webs. Not a bad experience if your main goal is to be close to the city center.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
6.3

Nicely located, able to walk most places from the Hostel. The rooms and common areas were very clean. With the exception of the young man from Venezuela the front desk staff were not friendly and left much to be desired. The ambiance was dull and boring. Absolutely, no effort put into making this place visually pleasing and a fun place to congregate and meet other people. The steps to the rooms were many and long. Security sucked. Night staff asleep at desk. Would not stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
4.3

Would not recommend staying here. For a backpacker traveling alone there was no atmospher, was very hard to meet people. There are no lockers in the room. Every morning you have to change your room key (which is good for security reasons) but on my first day the staff failed to tell me so I was locked outta my room day 2. The hostel provides you with a bed to sleep, that's all this place is good for.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.