Hostelworld.com

Mec Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 3,508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 3,508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
Mec Hostel Located at 42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin.
Mec Hostel
Ireland
Dublin 42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1
82% 3508
53.3547650 -6.2607479
Mec Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
8.9

The staff was super friendly and overall the experience was awesome. Mec Hostel is located on the North side of the river but so is the Guinness Storehouse. Walk to Dublin Castle and Trinity College was about 15 minutes and I would highly reccomend the Free Walking Tour at the start of your trip to Dublin because it helps to get your bearings of the city. Towel rental was cheap at €2 and they sell UK Wall adapters for only €3. Really great facility and located near a store. Worth my money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
7.4

Not bad accommodation for price, showers better than a lot of places I have stayed in, a little out of town as far as location but if you don't mind a bit of walking, it's no problem. Friendly staff. Lockers are small so if more than one piece of luggage, either need to leave additional in storage on ground floor or keep unsecured in room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
9.7

Really clean... Both staff and visitors friendly.. Very close to city centre. Value for money compared to places. Could do with more power outlet. But other than that can't complain

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
9.4

Recommended. Really spacious unlike most hostels. Only problem I found is the limited amount of showers, only 4 in the whole place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
9.1

Convenient, clean, secure, no problems staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.1

This was a decent hostel. Close to city centre. The wifi was good. Nothing overly amazing about it and the €2 breakfast was the type other hostels give for free.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
9.4

It was all fine. Yet I will return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.4

This hostel is located on the most beautiful little street, thats in between some questionable streets, but then in between a vibrant amazing part of Dublin. Close to everything and very secure. I loved the staff, everyone was great and friendly. I will definitely stay here again when come back to Dublin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2016
6.6

Mec hostel is a very basic hostel. It has nice sized beds and ok bath rooms, you need to keep pressing in the shower button which is annoying and it dosent really get hot. Also i noticed that it kind of smelled like dirt while i was there. This is not at all a party hostel but would recommend for people needed a relaxing night too sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
8.9

Big kitchen, free football table and ping pong. Bad coffee.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.