Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mec Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3,533 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3,533 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
Mec Hostel Located at 42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin.
Mec Hostel
Ireland
Dublin 42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1
83% 3533
53.3547650 -6.2607479
Mec Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
7.7

It was a great hostel and filled all the needs I was looking for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jselwood98
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
9.7

A nice walk in to town and everything is in walking distance, met some great people and one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.7

Incredible place. Room are big and the ensuite bathroom was always clean. Massive and well equipped kitchen. Not the closest to the City centre (compared to other hostels in town) but in 20 minutes walking you already are in temple area. Great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
10.0

By far the best hostel in Dublin! A lot of space in the room, large common areas, huge kitchen, beautiful garden, wifi working in the room, no curfew and most importantly friendly staff all over! Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
8.6

Overall a good place decently close to the city center. Not a party hostel, but a place to get a good night of sleep for pretty cheap

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
7.1

Hostel entrance toilets were dirty. Limited outlets in room. Very quiet hostel. Good location though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
8.6

The staff was really nice and helpful! The location was good, not too far away from but located in a quieter part of Dublin.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2016
8.6

Only complaint is that the lack of individual lights meant one person coming in late woke up everyone. Also, the water was hot, but really hard to control so I actually got burned in my first shower there. The beds were ok, though really creaky which disturbed sleepers. The staff also always recommended me to go to franchise-y places or Starbucks even when I specified that I was looking for places not like that. But the location was FAB and it didn't smell bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
9.1

Very nice hostel, everything was clean and nice. Large room was spacious despite 8 beds. Lockers were a bit small and old but worked if you provided your own lock. Accessible to pretty much everything in Dublin. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
8.9

The staff was super friendly and overall the experience was awesome. Mec Hostel is located on the North side of the river but so is the Guinness Storehouse. Walk to Dublin Castle and Trinity College was about 15 minutes and I would highly reccomend the Free Walking Tour at the start of your trip to Dublin because it helps to get your bearings of the city. Towel rental was cheap at €2 and they sell UK Wall adapters for only €3. Really great facility and located near a store. Worth my money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.