Hostelworld.com

Mec Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 3,479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 3,479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Mec Hostel Located at 42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin.
Mec Hostel
Ireland
Dublin 42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1
81% 3479
53.3547650 -6.2607479
Mec Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Apr 2016
9.4

It was all fine. Yet I will return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2016
6.6

Mec hostel is a very basic hostel. It has nice sized beds and ok bath rooms, you need to keep pressing in the shower button which is annoying and it dosent really get hot. Also i noticed that it kind of smelled like dirt while i was there. This is not at all a party hostel but would recommend for people needed a relaxing night too sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
8.9

Big kitchen, free football table and ping pong. Bad coffee.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
9.4

good service at night too and good bed for the price. clean but old so not looking clean really...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Apr 2016
10.0

Really liked this Hostel, couldn't rate atmosphere as I arrived very late at night and left very early the next morning. A lovely spacious room, very clean, staff friendly. Would use this hostel again...I've had to fill in all the questions after all. For the short time I was there I felt very comfortable and at home

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
8.3

very helpful staff! Showers need you to push button often.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
17th Mar 2016
7.7

Good location, friendly staff. The place is quite huge, though, to get around and the wifi doesn't work that well in all areas.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
10.0

I had a wonderful stay. Staff are very nice, rooms are big, wifi is fast, toilets are clean, reception is always open. There could be more hooks for stuff in the showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
10.0

We stayed in MEC Hostel for two nights as a stag group of 14. Not one of us had a single complaint about the place. The bathroom and kitchen were immaculate and the games lounge is terrific. The staff made it very easy for our group to check in despite arriving at separate times and the 24h manned front desk is a great touch. I can't recommend this hostel highly enough for anyone looking for a fantastic, affordable hostel just 10 minutes walk away from the centre of Dublin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
3.7

I think the building needs some reforms.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.