Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mec Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 3693 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 3693 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2017
6.9

Helpful staff, very good location, adequate tourist information and a good value breakfast available for 2 Euro were the positive points for the hostel. Unfortunately the shower in our room would alternate from scalding hot (too dangerous to use if you had children) to cold, whilst pulsating from a gentle spray to nothing . It was a terrible way to end the day in a cold country like Ireland. Communal showers were cold. Staff were aware of the problem but I feel it was never going to be fixed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th May 2017
9.7

Wonderful place to stay! Big, spacious kitchens, nice steam showers, and really nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
9.1

There isn't a quiet door in the place, so it's difficult to keep the noise down at night, and the neighborhood was pretty loud too. Staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the toilets had a fair amount of graffiti. Very conveniently located.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • esanchez31262751
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.3

I really nice hostel. When we were there a school group was staying also and were incredibly loud and disrespectful to sleeping hours. Other than hat the rooms are spacious and he kitchen is clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
8.0

My only complaint is that there were a lot of bugs around the hostel. I saw various bugs in the bathroom and hallways which was a little unnerving. Also, one of my friends had a problem opening her locker and the employee working the front desk came in and was extremely unhelpful. The breakfast for 2 euro was decent. Lockers are a decent size. Beds are squeaky. Location is right off of O'Connell street so you're very close to lots of good restaurants and a bus stop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.6

The location was fantastic (quiet, right down the street from the James Joyce Centre for literary nerds like me), and the staff was great. However, the facilities left a lot to be desired--there were only two toilets and two showers for an entire hall to share. Yes, there were basement bathrooms and showers, but it'd be a more convenient to have more toilets and showers. Beds were incredibly squeaky and there weren't enough plug sockets. Place is definitely not wheelchair-accessible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
9.4

Mec hostel is a friendly place. The rooms are large and beds are clean. The breakfast for 2 euro is definitely worth the price. I recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Apr 2017
7.7

The hostel is a little further from the city center then others, but it's still fine. Certainly for this price! Breakfast is available for only €2. I slept in the 16 dorm room. Really large, a lot of space and lockers in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
8.3

Difficult to find, but situated on a lovely relatively quiet street. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Sheets were not all that clean, but rooms were spacious and nice. Limited toilet/shower facilities, small mirror in each dorm, but nothing to complain about really.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
6.3

Stayed at Mec hostel for 2 nights with a group of friends. Our 4 bed mixed dorm en suite was a little bit small, needed renovation and the shower was not working properly. The room, sheets, blankets and the towel we rent were not clean as they had to be. The staff was helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.