Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mec Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3734 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3734 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jul 2017
9.1

Nice place to camp at if visiting Dublin. Maybe little far away from the city center but that didn't really bother me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
10.0

Best hostel ping pong set up I have ever seen!!! Great staff too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
5.7

Staff were uninterested, when checking out in the morning the man was asleep behind the desk and woke up to gesture towards the pile of key cards on the desk infront of him. Shower only ran cold water and the beds were so creaky that I got no sleep due to the noise the other guests in my room made. I suppose that's what you get for 17 euro a night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
9.7

The staff was very helpful. The linen was clean and ready. The WIFI was fast. The complimentary breakfast was good. Great location. The bathroom does need checking throughout the day as it would run out of bathroom tissue and sometimes needs cleaning. Other than this, I would come back here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
8.3

The breakfast is not for free and there is no left but there is a space to put away your bicycle of you have one. The beds are clean and it is quiet hostel to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
10.0

I've been here before and it's even better now. They've put in more electric plugs in the rooms and the same breakfast that was 2 euro is now free!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
5.4

Good location and perfectly safe. Other than that pretty rough. Bathrooms were really gross. Rooms were dingy. No social aspect. If you're looking for a bed that's not too far from the bars that's cheap, I guess this works. For anything else I'd look elsewhere

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
10.0

Mec hostel is a nice place. It's clean and airy, close to all bus stops, shops and tourist attractions. Free breakfast is great, much better than I expected. Also wifi works very well and the back garden is very charming

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
7.1

Not in the best area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
8.3

Great place to stay! Really nice and spacious. Nice quiet atmosphere and literal walking distance to the shopping area! The kitchen was quite spacious and the bathrooms were as well!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.