X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mec Hostel Reviews

42 North Great Georges Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3200 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Doors are very creaky,as in wake everyone in the room creaky!


83%

excellent location. staff were nice enough but some could be a bit rude. toilets and showers are clean but there are only 2 of each per floor.


100%

We spend 4 days in this hostel and it was great ! The staff is really nice, the rooms are secure (magnetic card to open the room and locker inside). Our 4 beds room was clean and comfortable. We even played ping-pong, pool and baby-foot. All that at 5 min walk from O'Connel street.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff and great location: a haven of peace in the midst of a lively neighbourhood!


94%

I enjoyed this hostel. There was a friendly international backpacker crowd and a nice atmosphere. Victor at the front desk was very helpful. Loved the garden!

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It's really quite with good people, excellent to rest and everything is near

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It doesn't have the "real" hostel atmosphere, but it's clean, close to center and quiet

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed in one of the apartments and it was brilliant. Absolutly amazing, very central, spacious, mostly clean and just perfect for a long weekend with the girls... will hopefully come back soon.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, on a quiet street just off the Main Street O'Connell. Beautiful building with huge windows, and kept quite clean. Very nice kitchen with all the facilities. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

At we arrive, the staff don't explain us that the room card be changed every day at the morning. We have 89 up stair to our room :(


80%

Good value of the money!


97%

Hand dryer not working in toilet No hook on back of door for bag/coat in toilet. Only 2 toilets & showers on my floor? Mattress very uncomfortable

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

My favorite hostel---and I've stayed in many! Showers and bathrooms very clean (and dry!!), and the rooms are nice and open. A beautiful old building with big windows. Excellent security. This is where I will stay in Dublin from now on.


94%

We stayed in a private room, which was actually an apartment, complete with a kitchen, spiral staircase and loft. It was an amazing value for the price.

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Very well located, big and clean.


100%

Friendly staff on arrival. Great location and for a city hostel was good. Had lockers for our stuff and bought a lock of reception.


86%

It was really nice, the staff was friendly. The only thing is there are lots of stairs. Sometimes one of the toilets was not


77%

need more electrical outlets in the rooms. rooms eg a poorly insulated acoustcally.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Unique hostel, with basement as kitchen. Cooking facilities available. 15mins walk from The bridge to Trinity College.


83%

Sometimes the washrooms were GREAT and at other times (9-11am) they weren't all that clean. Besides that, it is an awesome hostel in a good location.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(130 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback