X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Media Luna Hostel Reviews

Centro, cll Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
361 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The most expensive hostel we stayed in in Colombia, with no free breakfast, no changing of sheets and crappy wifi. It's a party hostel, with a great party on Wednesdays (roof terrace) which makes it worthwhile. So it depends what you are looking for I guess.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

If you like partying more than sleeping then this is your place! I like a party myself but i didn't think the balance was right for me in Media Luna. Impossible to have a early night with all the noise and people walking in and out of the room. Did like the relaxed pool area.


80%

This hostel is in a great location in the backpacker area, a short work to the old town, as are many other options. The rooms are spacious and bright with big lockers and they all overlook the communal area and pool which is good. Bathrooms and showers are good enough, with big mirrors in the sink area. The rooms are very overpriced however and incredibly hot with just one or two small fans for 6 people. There are a lot of hostels for $3 - 7 less nearby.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I love this hostel! The staff were great and very accommodating, the beds were comfortable, and the location was perfect.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Had a good time at Luna Media. The rooms were clean and the overall experience was good. If you do not want to party I would recommend staying somewhere else but if you want to meet people and have a good time then this is your spot

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Some janitors were not very friendly

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a good hostel but I arrived on "party night" and it was much too noisy. I moved to a quieter hostel the next day.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

I would be nice if there were some more space for the luggage, there is just a small locker, where it doesn't fit a hand baggage (55 x 40 x 23cm).


80%

If you want to party and have a good time this is the right place, if you are looking for place to keep calm and rest try to find an other place.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing places! Great location, great people, great sraff! Definitely best places in the Calle Media Luna. I will comeback to this places with a bunch of friends for have funn.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

You need to sort out the rooms next too the bathrooms at night if someone turns the light on then the rooms next to it are fully lit up for the whole night. Maybe try a sensor so we don't have to sleep with a light in your face.. Epic hostel though but could use with better security in the rooms as anyone can go into any room


54%

Concrete beds made the beds feel like prison cells. Dirty showers, lots of light and noise from next door rooms, and lack of privacy or lounge space. Cut my booking short - couldn't leave fast enough.


69%

The hostel had a good part atmosphere, but overall I would probably not stay here again. The staff were not particularly helpful and past 11pm there is no where but the room or party terrace to hang out.


91%

If you are looking for a tidy, quiet and cheap hostel this one isn't for you. But if you are looking for a place with a great atmosphere where it's very easy to meet new people and to just hang out or party, this is the one and only hostel to be. Great pool, Bar, Rooftop terrace, free parties and towels and funny, friendly staff!


80%

You either hate it or love it. We loved it! Great people, great location and the Wednesday party is the best! The showers could be improved: they are cold, dirty and there is hardly any water coming out of the tap.


100%

Best hostel I've stayed in!! The party on Wednesday was incredible and the rooftop. The staff were really kind and helpful. Everything was kept clean. I got a room with a fan which was fine, I slept great. I was on a top bunk and felt perfectly safe. The music stops at 11 every night and everyone goes up to the bar so I was able to crash on Thursday night. There's lockers and no one's allowed in without a wristband so all safe. Great vibe. Absolutely loved it! Will definitely go back!!!

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This is a good hostel. If you don't like high bunks make sure you get in early as they have no barriers and are high! But staff were really helpful and friendly and it's clean. Also the Wednesday party's wicked up on the roof.


69%

This is a party hostel, so if you want to go to bed early don't stay here. Music from the bar upstairs stays on till 3 am. The rooms are okay but the one i stayed in had a smell to it. The beds are comfortable, not enough outlets in the room and the lockers are small. There is no key to the rooms and sine the room is by the pool anyone can walk in to your room. There are only fans in the rooms so it can get pretty hot. The bathrooms were clean and staff were helpful.


83%

Great party on Wednesdays! One important remark however is that Media Luna bracelets were being sold for 5000COP on the street, granting anyone access to the hostel('s unlocked dorm rooms)


57%

Media Luna is an okay hostel if not for a few things. The people at reception aren't the most helpful, in fact some are rude. If you're planning on attempting to get any sleep at all book elsewhere- they blast music until 3am every night making it nearly impossible. If I visit Cartagena again I'll definitely book elsewhere.


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback