Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Media Luna Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.3
Media Luna Hostel Located at Centro, cll Media Luna, , Cartagena.
Media Luna Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 57 Centro, cll Media Luna
73% 573
10.4220387 -75.5448889
Media Luna Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
6.3

We are two chilean friends travelling around Colombia. We were surprised to find a "gringo atmosphere" at Media Luna Hostel, way more than we wanted. I mean, we are in Latin America and we are interested in having local experiences. They also have a slogan with "the real backpackers hostel", which is not coherent with their prices, especially when you compare it with all the hostels around (almost the double).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.3

We stayed in a dorm with one single ceiling fan which was super weak and therefore it was crazily hot in there. The beds were comfy though. The pool was a big plus and so was the rooftop party on Wednesday night (even though we had to queue up forever to get to the top). Extremely negative was that they fumigated every room without informing the guests upfront and suddenly you couldn't go back to the room for 1hr or so. Also the bathrooms were closed for 10+ hrs and there was no water at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
2.3

YOU SHOULD NOT GO THERE - discusting hostel, nothing clear, bathrooms showers toilets kitche rooms - parties are not that well - robberies IN the hostal maybe from the staff or from other travelers but i don t think so that much... Better try other ones !!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.9

Media Luna is a great hostel! We stayed in both the shared dormitory as well as a private room. We found the private room with a personal shower, fan, space, etc. to be extremely worth the extra cost. Beware of the hot rooms without AC! There are also extremely loud parties on Wednesday nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.9

Stayed there because they claim to be a party hostel but the bars only open 1 night a week. Was very little atmosphere and the pool was out of order. The rooms were unbearably hot without a/c, you definitely need to spend extra for a room with a/c or you won't sleep. Having said all that the location was great and the one night they had a party in the hostel it was good fun. It felt like this place earnt a reputation and is now happy to sit back and put in no effort to keep it good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jul 2016
4.6

This hostel was a terrible disappointment! I emailed ahead for an AC room, but when we got there they told us no. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was unbearably hot. The pool was broken, the "bar" was out of service, and the showers and bathrooms were gross. The staff was rude at night when we wanted to come back from the bars and they turned away one of our roommates who then had to go buy a room at another hostel. This is NOT a party hostel.... The workers at night were a complete buzz kill

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
8.0

We enjoyed our stay in a private room. The atmosphere is great and the Wednesday night party is a must! The staff could have been more friendly/helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
9.7

It's my second time in this hostel and I love it!!!!!!! Had the best time ever😄😄😄 The staff are great specially Oscar😊 He is so happy and friendly, muchas gracias Oscar!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
8.6

Cartagena is unfathomably hot. It is a brilliant city - crammed with history and a stella party scene - but make no mistake: air conditioning is a MUST. Media Luna has great facilities and the party was sick-AF but invest in the AC or you will be moist-AF.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
8.0

The hostel is really well located, manly if you want to party. Otherwise I would sau it is pretty loudy. I wont sleep before 2/3am if you are bad handling noise. The staff is friendly, very prestative. If you are thinking about getting a ensuite room, because of the bathroom, I must warn you, those roons haven't got aircondition inside and Cartagena is pretty hot and umid. So is a way better share toillet and take the roons with AC. Also the roons don't have keys and the lockers are damaged.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.