Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Media Luna Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Sep 2017
7.1

Nice hostel that might have gotten a little too big and therefore impersonal. I didn't get an introduction from the staff during check-in and therefore didn't know there was breakfast included until some other traveler told me the next day. Also, soap and paper at the bathrooms weren't filled up even after asking for it. Music started playing really loud at 10am on sunday so everyone woke up even with earplugs. A/C let's you freeze at night. Besides that it's a nice hostel to socialize.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2017
5.7

Media Luna was an okay place to stay. I knew that it was more of a party Hostel, but I was surprised how well they managed to separated the parties from the rooms. The location is good, you're close to many spots. Also, the pool is a plus. However: most employees speak very little English, the rooms are very simple, there are no lockers for your luggage, lockers for valuables did not seem very trustworthy, the restrooms not well kept. In total: they could do much better, I would not stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
6.0

The hostel is in a good location and facilities looks good. The staff was very rood and not friendly. On wanesday and Friday because of the rooftop party the price for drink go more then double of the regular price. They asked my friends to change beds 4 times in the same day. Extremely unorganized.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Aug 2017
7.4

Where to begin... PROS: Well it's a mad fun party hostel and great if u want to meet other people and go out etc. It's got a pool which is needed as Cartagena is really hot and humid. There's chess, a TV Room, pool table and ping pong. CONS: There is no opportunity to recover the music at the bar gets turned on at 9am full blast so prepare for little sleep. Also from 9am until 7pm there is no air con anywhere in hostel. Dudes literally stand at the front door all day hassle you for drugs etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jordee_g90
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
30th Aug 2017
8.0

Stay here if you want to party. Wed nights get crazy and is fun but not well organised. They don't let you onto the rooftop until really late and keep you squished in the sweaty bar for too long. The bunks are super high up and some dont have railings. The showers aren't great, one was missing the head and another flooded and drowned your feet in less than a minute. The staff are fun but can be too chill and are always slow. I did have fun though. It's an alright place if you're not fussy!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.6

Great location, right around the corner from plaza Trinidad which is a must see in the evening where all the locals gather. Buy some beers and take it all in. The hostel has a pool which is a major plus in the humidity. I wouldn't call this hostel a huge party hostel but it does have a upstairs bar with a DJ...be warned that some of the dorms are next to this so if you don't want to party until 3am perhaps ask to be situated at the other side of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dmitriygolos
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2017
5.7

The staff and employees here are great. However, whoever is in charge of management needs a reality check. Just about everything was broken. The ladders on the beds were falling off, the wifi was down half of the time, one of the doors fell down, and no paper towels. This to me is a sign of poor management, and possibly owners that are not invested enough into their hostel. I did like the top floor lounge area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
6.6

Despite booking on hostel world they not overbooked many of us on Wednesday night meaning we had to go to the hostel opposite (which was also nice)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Aug 2017
9.4

Really good location with spacious dorms that had big beds. The pool is great to cool off in and there is good air conditioning in all rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
4.3

Staying at this hostel ruined my experience of Cartagena: If you happen to be that kind crazy person who enjoys doing some absurd stuff like reading a book or sleeping a siesta during the hot afternoons, run away from this place. The "chill-out vibe" referred in the description is nothing other than a teenage-party-hard vibe. Oh, and the kitchen is literally closed during the day so you can´ t cook your lunch there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×