Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Meiai Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Meiai Hostel Located at Rua Guilhermina Guinle 127, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro.
Meiai Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22270-060 Rua Guilhermina Guinle 127, Botafogo
84% 114
-22.9510233 -43.1884360
Meiai Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th May 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel, staff and veryyyyyyyyyyyyy clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
4.3

I felt that this was an unfriendly hostel and very difficult to meet new people. I felt very much like an outsider at this hostel. Aside from one employee, I felt that the staff was a bit cold. They certainly didn't go out of their way to ensure that my experience in Rio and at the hostel was enjoyable. I am so lucky that I had friends in Rio, otherwise I would have had a very lonely time. There is NO kitchen. You can't even fill up your own water bottle. There are many rules at the hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Apr 2016
5.7

Staff was not in particular friendly and attentive. One female receptionist was nice though. My "Welcome" After a Long Travel day The Male receptionist was "why didnt you answer our Mail?" (Which I by the way did) what a nice start! Rooms Are ok and clean, somehow Atmosphere is missing and you Do Not get to Know other travellers as easily as in other hostels. Wouldn't stay there again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
7.7

The hostel is easy to find from the metro at Botafoga. The staff were lovely - really chatty and helpful, and the majority spoke good English. I was travelling alone and found the hostel quite quiet - I had hoped to meet a few other travellers, but unfortunately not.The beds were clean, but I'd recommend using your own towel; theirs weren't dirty but old and didn't dry very well. They had a computer available. And breakfast was fresh fruit, coffee and juice - very fresh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • baezclaraj3723
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2016
10.0

we absolutely loved the hostel. the staff was super helpful and friendly. my sister and I decided to do a suite and it was so worth the extra money. the food in the restaurant portion of the hostel was good and affordable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
10th Feb 2016
7.7

Staff were nice and happy to help. Breakfast was basic but standard in Brazil and nice. Not much atmosphere. Found it hard to interact with other travellers but carnival had just ended so maybe everyone was just exhausted. Overall I was happy staying here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Feb 2016
10.0

The room was unpleasantly cold at night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st Feb 2016
8.0

Great location with lots of cheap bars and restaurants around. Wifi wasn't the best. Breakfast was nice with lots of fruit. Good communal area upstairs with cable TV and computer. Small under bed lockers. Only thing was the AC could be turned on and off whenever so we had people turning it off in the middle of the night which got annoying. No common kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2016
6.6

There's no kitchen :(; and this is no good for the atmosphere The other things are ok

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.