Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melaleuca On Mitchell – Darwin YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th May 2017
5.7

Two electrical outlets for a room of six people. Six beds in a room suited for four. Dirty bathrooms. A party hostel that leads to drunken roommates in your room until 4am. Would never recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • itz_rainbowbrite2149
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th May 2017
9.7

The hostel is in a perfect location on the main street. It's definitely the most happening hostel in Darwin. It's across the road from Coles with is a huge plus. Bring ur own cutlery or you'll have to rent it. The only annoying thing was the door. It's sometimes hard to open with the key card and when it closes it's so loud especially if ur bed is near by and ur trying to sleep. Wifi is $4 a day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
5.4

It's a big party hostel. The key card to the doors don't always work and I had to change room, I was told at reception just to wiggle the key and push harder. You have to pay for wifi and is the only hostel I've ever been to where you have to pay a deposit at reception for cutlery and plates. Also couldn't use my YHA membership discount as I had booked on Hostelworld which is a shame.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • paulinaschmidt
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2017
6.9

Huge Party Hostel - very impersonal. Location is perfect! Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Music at night is loud. No free wifi for non-members. Atmosphere is good if you want to party 4pm till late. Atmosphere is bad if you want to meet and get to know people to do something else than drinking. Wouldn't go there again, would rather try a smaller hostel which is more personal. More than 90 rooms are just too much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd May 2017
6.0

Brilliant location - but it's a mega party hostel. It's great for folk coming here on a boozy holiday, but not a great place to go if you're just wanting a visit and wander of the city. The girl rooms are fine and safe. Showers & toilets are good too. However, I didn't like the kitchen. Too dirty & busy. I would've loved a common area that had sofas and a place to chill out, because the only social area option is at their bar with loud music blaring with no option but to booze.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.0

Very much a party hostel. Kitchen way too hot but everythig else great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
9.4

Great hostel! It has a very nice atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
8.3

Make no mistake this is a party hostel in the middle of town. Perfect location but it does get a bit loud at night as you are right next to the party district in Darwin. Lot of fun though the bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel can't fault it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
7.7

This place had a great atmosphere, friendly staff and great facilities. The only let down was the cleanliness - the sheets were more heavily stained than you would expect even from a budget hostel, and the showers were just a tad dirtier. Regardless I would still stay here again due to the price, the location and the atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.