Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melaleuca On Mitchell – Darwin YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1061 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1061 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.1

Great experience here definitely recommend it highly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.3

This was a good hostel in an ideal location. The main issue is would say is the WiFi you needed to pay for it but couldn't use it in your rooms and really could only use it in the reception area. The staff were very helpful, the place could do with a bit of a touch up but I believe that this had been started

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
10.0

from day one this hostel was FIRST CLASS in everything it did a wonderful e xperience.Tbis was my 2nd stay here and it wont be the last. Thank you to all the staff and visitors who helped tomake this a terrific tims

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel and very sociable! Cheap bar and often events (crab racing) on in the evening. very close to bars etc Stayed in a room with en suite bathroom which wasn't the cleanest/ the shower wasn't great Really good kitchen facilities!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
6.3

I was legitimately excited to stay at this hostel but that didn't last long. The night staff was rude and unhelpful (the day staff was great), internet costs money ($4/day, $14/week, I should have double checked), pool is small with no space to lounge, can't bring your own alcohol into the facility. The beds were dirty, the rooms were dirty, rubber mattresses aren't great. There were drunk locals coming into the lobby and people arguing in the hallway at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Dec 2016
6.9

Hostel ok bunk beds wasn't in great condition, staff friendly enough and bar got quite lively when we was there jugs of beer $10 which wasn't too bad. Great location for the party animals

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
6.9

It's a good hostel with a good atmosphere and most of the people staying there and staff r legends. The bars a bit pricey n u aren't allowed to bring outside alcohol. The bathrooms are alright but don't seem very clean. There r cockroaches everywhere in the hostel which is fairly disgusting. But all in all I'd still probably say it's the best hostel in Darwin. I had great fun there!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
8.9

This was the only hostel I stayed in during my time in Darwin. It's 4$ a day for wifi which can be kind of in and out depending on the time of day you are trying to use it. The kitchen was clean and has lots of utensils, toasters and pans to use. If you want to go to bed early you can w/out a noise problem which is a major benefit but can also stay up late if you please. I was traveling by myself and found it more on the difficult side to meet people but that could have been due to the "slo

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
5.4

Rooms were way too cold!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for giving the time to leave a review! We are more than happy giving out extra sheets for your warmth and we can slightly adjust the air conditioning settings depending on what room. We are now in the build up to the wet with sultry, heavy air outside constantly - air conditioning does have to be on to maintain a clean and safe sleeping environment. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia. :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice hostel. The rooms are ok and the pool area make it a stand out. Good location right on Mitchell Street & a 10-15 minute walk to the lovely Waterfront Precint. Showers were nice ane clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It sounds like you had a great time exploring the northern capital. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.