Hostelworld.com

Melaleuca On Mitchell

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 963 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 963 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5
Melaleuca On Mitchell Located at 52 Mitchell Street, , Darwin.
Melaleuca On Mitchell
Australia
Darwin Northern Territory 0800 52 Mitchell Street
72% 963
-12.4629931 130.8397381
Melaleuca On Mitchell
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.7

Facilities are clean enough, beds are comfy and rooms are air-conditioned well (a MUST in Darwin!). Very loud/party-ish atmosphere, with the bar next to the outdoor pool. Great if you enjoy meeting other young travellers and drinking. Not so great if you are looking for a quiet night's sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2016
5.4

Very rude/ unhelpful staff and security, dirty rooms (loads of old food & unwashed dishes on top of the lockers in the room- didn't belong to any of the current guests), loud music by the pool- great at times but there was no respite from it- no quiet area what so ever, not even the rooms. No air con/ fans in the bathrooms, by the end of the day it was horrendously hot in there. Positives.. Location was great for bars and shops and it was probably the best hostel mattress I've slept on!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • kaleigh_miles
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
8.0

The hostel is really good, everything is clean but my clothes were stolen when I washed them and hung them out to dry. Only had one item left on the line and there's no cctv so nothing could be done. Staff did try to help as best as possible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th May 2016
6.6

Would probably stay here again due to the location and friendly staff. The hostel facilitates a large drinking culture so I wouldn't recommend staying here if you don't enjoy going to parties. Security was okay, lockers in the room, bed was comfortable, location great. Pretty average hostel although slightly overpriced - rubbish showers and wifi not included

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
6.0

I stayed on a Friday and there was music all day playing in the common area. There was no quiet place to chill other than my room. The bed in my room was rusting and my bathroom wasn't very clean. Overall I feel I could have had a private room for a cheaper price given the services provided.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
8.6

I loved staying here as a solo backpacker as it was so easy to meet people in the pool bar. They had some good events each week and the drinks are pretty cheap. In terms of the rooms, the beds are really comfy, each person in the room has a massive locker for their things and they seemed to be clean all round. The bathrooms could do with a massive update though and the showers were like a trickle. However, the location and atmosphere was amazing and I met some great people in the bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
5.7

I didn't enjoy my stay here. The showers didn't fully work and there was no hot water- not a massive problem because it's so hot in Darwin. There were ants in my room which was off putting. The staff were not helpful and most didn't have a clue what they were doing. It is a party hostel so if loud music and partying isn't your style it's not a hostel for you. The free burger/pizza/food nights were great though and it is in a great location. You can ask for late check out too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Apr 2016
7.1

Bad showers and a common room with an Ac would be good,also inside of the kitchen it's always really warm. The rooms were simple but nice and with an aircone, which you definitely need.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.4

I enjoyed my stay staff were very helpful location is great stayed in my own ensuite room with a double bed would stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
9.1

Great pool and bar! Didn't like having to put a deposit down for dishes, and the bathrooms could uses a solid once-over... but besides that everything was awesome, met the most new friends of any hostel I've been at so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.