X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Melaleuca On Mitchell Reviews

52 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
708 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Kitchen is appauling! Rather pay more to eat out then stand in the kitchen to cook.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Party central. If it's your bag to be up most of the night, then look no further. Aside from the revellers


74%

Had a room right above the bar and music was playing loudly until very late in the night. This was annoying when having an early start for a day trip the next day.


83%

Bar is awesome. Location is awesome. Air con in room was broken and not awesome.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location right in the centre of town, staff were friendly and helpful. Only downside was the lack of an inside communal area so of you want to stay out the sun and in the cool there is nowhere but the kitchen to retreat to. Plus with a bar on site you are forced to buy alcohol from the place which can be expensive when you are backpacking.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Makeleuca was brilliant ! Great location and staff :D Ava n Pete r legends! Had so much fun n will b back 100% 👍


60%

Good place to stay if you are up for a party! Hardly anything works in the kitchen so cooking is pretty much out of the question. Some of the staff at the desk are good but mostly quite rude and unhelpful.


74%

Good hostel, got big lockers in the rooms and a pool/bar area. Kitchen fridges are normally rammed and difficult to find space and kitchen area can be a bit dirty after peak time, but the hostel do clean it daily so not really their fault. Otherwise good friendly atmosphere and right in the thick of town with a couple of minutes walk to everything you need.


74%

Not bad, Mens' bathrooms are a bit messy, poolside bar is nice.


74%

Yep an excellent location for a hostel - Do be careful leaving luggage in left luggage lockers


51%

The hostel was not very clean. Partyhostel. The double we booked had a strange smell, way to overpriced. Staff was not friendly at all. Luggage room is a Container were all the bags are in. Not very nice.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It was a decent hostel. Staff are friendly and helpful. The pool/bar area is fun and the kitchen is definitely sufficient. Bit crowded, but I think that's most large hostels. I'd stay here again.


57%

When I read the reviews I expected the worst. But at a first glance it seemed OK. It *is* a dirty place but I've heard others are even worse (YHA eg). I just saw one bug. Melaleuca IS a party hostel: Loud, busy. If you don't like this it's not for you. Atmosphere:not very "small" but rather like a mass hostel which is a bit sad. Personal: helpful. But the internet MUST be improved: It's UNACCEPTABLE that it only works in small spots (pool bar!) and even then, it's broken half of the time!

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

I stayed in room 7 on the downstairs floor. There was an issue with the air conditioner in the room. It vibrated the whole time . The noise level was continuous and very loud. We don't mind if patrons have a drink in the bar, but when they are still fumbling their way through the corridors at 3, 4 and 5 a.m. it is unreasonable to think that anyone can actually get a good nights sleep on the premises.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

I literally have no idea what you are paying $34 a night for here...no towels in dorm rooms ($10 deposit and $3 'cleaning fee!!!!'), deposit for room card, deposit for cutlery etc etc. You have to change your own sheets and when rooms are 'cleaned' they basically just change the bin bag. Atmosphere is good though, and drinks are cheap! Kitchen is a bit cramped but that can't be helped as it is such a big hostel. An improvement could be to add a lounge area indoors?

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The room stunk of cleaning fluid and smoke. The sheets smelled like BO and perfume - I'm pretty sure they hadn't been changed. It's off the room smelled of cleaning fluid because the shower had about 30 pubic hairs strewed through it. Expensive and awful.


51%

Had to pay for EVERYTHING from cutlery to wifi to leaving your bag in their storage. Its not cheap and you have to put your own bed sheets on your bunk bed and take them off when you leave, I dont know what they are being paid for!? Had to ask for soap to be put in the girls bathroom 3 times before it was. Very rowdy student party (then throw up in the communal toilet) vibe.


94%

No free wifi but it's only $4 a day - of $14 for the week.. There's a pool and plenty of party people .. No free breakfast or coffee which is strange for a hostel? Overall great location great staff.. Good rooms.. Fun atmosphere.. Excellent common area.. Would definitely stay again.


80%

It was alright. We needed somewhere to stay between our flight to Darwin and bus to Katherine the next morning. It does the job. Generally it was clean.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice pub inside!


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Darwin Hostels

Please give us your feedback