Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melaleuca On Mitchell

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,045 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,045 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1
Melaleuca On Mitchell Located at 52 Mitchell Street, , Darwin.
Melaleuca On Mitchell
Australia
Darwin Northern Territory 0800 52 Mitchell Street
74% 1045
-12.4629931 130.8397381
Melaleuca On Mitchell
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
8.9

This was the only hostel I stayed in during my time in Darwin. It's 4$ a day for wifi which can be kind of in and out depending on the time of day you are trying to use it. The kitchen was clean and has lots of utensils, toasters and pans to use. If you want to go to bed early you can w/out a noise problem which is a major benefit but can also stay up late if you please. I was traveling by myself and found it more on the difficult side to meet people but that could have been due to the "slo

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
5.4

Rooms were way too cold!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for giving the time to leave a review! We are more than happy giving out extra sheets for your warmth and we can slightly adjust the air conditioning settings depending on what room. We are now in the build up to the wet with sultry, heavy air outside constantly - air conditioning does have to be on to maintain a clean and safe sleeping environment. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia. :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice hostel. The rooms are ok and the pool area make it a stand out. Good location right on Mitchell Street & a 10-15 minute walk to the lovely Waterfront Precint. Showers were nice ane clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It sounds like you had a great time exploring the northern capital. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2016
8.6

Decent place. Great location, clean linen. Three pools and a bar with decent prices. Air conditioning which is a must in Darwin.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there thank you for your review! All the best with your travels and hopefully we'll be seeing you again.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Oct 2016
9.1

We really enjoyed our stay here, we had initial problems with our room but this was quickly sorted by the staff. Rooms were small and fairly clean but had good sized lockers. Quite a big hostel but never had problems waiting for showers. The kitchen wasn't that nice, was extremely hot and quite cramped and not the cleanest but still usable. Overall a fine hostel for a stopover and would stay again if we came back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thank you for your review! Yes we are aware of the heat in the kitchen - unfortunately the climate here does not help! We have fitted a replacement extractor fan which should alleviate the problem. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Sep 2016
6.3

Best of a bad bunch. Not much choice in Darwin. Pros - pool, all girls dorm on the top floor away from music, security guard after 10pm, big lockers and key card for room. Cons - female staff are plain rude. Expensive, deposit for cuttlery.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are saddened and sorry to hear that our female staff were rude. Rest assured we have passed on this feedback to all staff and given extra training in customer service. Regarding the cutlery deposit... we do have to take a bond for this as people like to take it away camping and not returning it putting us at a loss. $10 which is well under the real cost of $22.40. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia!

  • fbiava
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
6.6

I've stayed in many hostels in my 8 years in Australia, including awesome party hostels like giligans in Cairns, where u can party but still have reasonable good sleep. The staff was great-despite not having real control on number of ppl in rooms. Cleanness & safety were terrible, with worst guests ever. There was a group of british girls taking many bedrooms on 3rd floor leaving dirty tampons on food plates around beds &more,u couldn't walk in the rooms! Defo party hostel, but a disgusting one!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Sep 2016
9.4

Really good! Just stayed a few night but overall it was a great experience. We were there coincidentally during footy finals, which meant a lot of drunk males at the bar. Overall good vibes, although could have done without seeing some guys junk out by the pool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Sep 2016
7.4

Nice location. Clean facilities. Uncomfortable double bed And STAFFs... are just so indifferent. Actually the most unprofessional receptionests I have seen in Australia. Why do you hire that kind of people? They were chatting when I got there and also chatting for a while even though I was standing with my luggage just in front of them around my counter. Seriously???? Please change your attitude. It is your work not coffee house. Housekeeping staffs were all nice. It is just receptionists.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
8.9

An okay backpackers, exactly what you'd expect. In a prime location but meant it was loud all night long. There was shouting and sirens outdoors and slamming doors, lights on and off indoors. A very bad nights sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.