Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melbourne Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
9.1

cleans beds and bathrooms, huge kitchen to cook your meals and the most perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
6.9

Location was pretty close to shops and lots of food options near the river. There was a tram stop right across the street. The facilities were okay although not always the cleanest. Room also could have been cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th May 2017
7.1

Good location and very friendly staff. There's no free WiFi in the rooms and no breakfast. Hostel is a little bit pricey comparing to other cheaper hostels in Melbourne with more free facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
8.3

Might need to drop the Y as lots of older travellers staying when I was here. Shared 4 bed room with two 60+year old men who had nightly snoring contests. Lacked abit of atmosphere + one of the more difficult hostels that I stayed in Oz/NZ to meet people. Otherwise good facilities- has breakfast bar/cafe beside reception. 24hr check in. Free CBD tram on doorstep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

Location is very good. I came to Melbourne just for the weekends to see 12 Apostles. I was very happy with my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sinnielee
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.0

When I first walked into the room, I was greeted by a stale smell, the train noises, a rather messy room and a suspicious red stain on my bed. I also saw a mouse running into the kitchen at night and the kitchen closes at 11pm. Because some people work for accommodation, they might seem cliquish since they know each other longer than you. If these turn you off, then don't. I enjoyed myself as I didn't mind, and got to know some great people with stories to share! Initiate, and you shall get.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
9.1

It's a pretty good hostel. Location is amazing, as it's in downtown Melbourne and there are a couple of tram stops nearby. Plenty of common areas to hang out. Staff are nice and helpful. However, the free wifi is pretty bad and if you want a good one you need to pay for it. Also the shower is a little cold for some reason.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.9

I really liked staying at the Melbourne YHA. The location is perfect! Very close to the pickup location for various tours and the Southern Cross metro station. It's also close to some famous streets in the CBD. I liked how much security there was and the people who worked there were pretty friendly. However, while the shared bathrooms looked clean, I saw the cleaning lady come in and barely do any cleaning -- just empty the trash out -- so it made me question how clean it really was.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.1

Everything's great other then one thing that as the rooms are full, I will need to change to another room. I need to put the luggage in lockers first and pay for the locker fee, which is not necessary for most hostel or hostel...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2017
8.6

If your after a more sociable hostel, probably not the best to choose.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.