Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melbourne Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 221 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 221 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
Melbourne Central YHA Located at 562 Flinders Street, , Melbourne.
Melbourne Central YHA
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 562 Flinders Street
88% 221
-37.8206836 144.9556303
Melbourne Central YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • michellechng8215
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Great place to stay in the city. Very walkable from southern cross. Tram stop right outside. Nice comfy bed, quiet environment. Stayed for one night only so didn't get to use the kitchen but it looks pretty well organized. Staff were friendly when I checked in. Slightly pricey, but I guess you pay for what you get. Would stay here again the next time I visit!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jareddouglasbarnes5690
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.3

A nice change from some of the other Aussie party hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.0

Clean and friendly hostel. Fairly expensive considering it's the middle of winter, but the location is very central. The rooms are basic but comfortable, and the wifi is pretty good!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.4

Beautiful downstairs area. I changed to booking another hostel, but after staying there one trip, I changed back. The atmosphere is so much better at Melb Central YHA

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
8.6

Location was great, a 15 min walk from Federation Square/where everyone goes for food, hang out, travel! I liked how the hostel held events, like a movie night, to help travelers meet each other! The rooms were pretty clean, the bathrooms could use a bit more cleaning throughout the day as they get really messy. Generally, the bathrooms were very nice though! If you stay less than 5 days then you don't get a towel or WiFi, so you'd have to pay for both. Front desk is great with trip planning!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
8.9

Better to have a luggage storage, locker is not very useful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
4th Jun 2016
8.6

Great hostel, more of a relaxed atmosphere less party. Very clean and comfy beds. Only cons they need a bigger tv room and there was constant problems with the wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • caseyman555
  • Japan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th May 2016
9.1

Was only going to stay at this place here for one night but ended up staying 3, yha never disappoints!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
7th May 2016
10.0

Great choice - spotless four bed dorm, spotless showers and bathrooms. Lovely communal areas and a huge roof terrace. Location is so easy for the free trams and for Southern Cross station. Very good security and the usual helpful YHA staff. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
9.1

This is the first hostel I've ever stayed in (first time travelling by myself too!) and I felt very at home there. It was very well maintained, the beds were comfortable, prices reasonable, location great, and staff friendly. Though I'm not used to Melbourne, it was fairly easy to find my way around by using the hostel as a base - Federation square was just down the road, it was walking distance to two train stations and the skybus terminal, and very central to shops/restaurants/cafes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.