Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melbourne Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Melbourne Central YHA Located at 562 Flinders Street, , Melbourne.
Melbourne Central YHA
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 562 Flinders Street
89% 249
-37.8206836 144.9556303
Melbourne Central YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Nov 2016
6.0

Disappointing. As many other people have mentioned, the hostel's right next to a main road and not remotely insulated from the traffic noise outside. Staff weren't really bothered either and showers weren't great either. Also, the breakfast is really overpriced for what you get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.0

I enjoyed my stay at the YHA. The staff are ftiendly, there's a good stmosphere and the hostel has a good choice of activities during the week. I had a pleasant stay and the hostel is in a good location, however there was a lot of noise from the street below the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
9.4

Great location in the middle of the city right by the river and easy to book trips around Melbourne like Great Ocean Road. Nice lounge area if you want to chat with people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Nov 2016
9.1

Bad bed frames and uncomfortable mattresses. You also have to pay for WiFi, there is "free wifi", but it is pretty hopeless. That's the bad. Quite expensive too. Everything else is fantastic! The kitchen is amazing, the bathrooms are okay, the common area and activities are great too. A generally fantastic vibe and a great layout. Very friendly staff that help a lot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
10.0

Common area not particularly spacious, but ok. Staff helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
9.1

I stayed here for two nights and found it was perfect for me - nice and quiet, had all the amenities I needed, and was close to the city. The bathrooms were kept pretty clean and the other areas were well looked after. I found the staff pleasant too. Also really enjoyed the sweet music played in the cafe area on level one!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
10.0

Great location. Comfortable beds and really helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Oct 2016
10.0

Staff was really lovely and helpful. Rooms were clean and safe. Liked the 4 bed dorms. Kitchen area was large enough to accommodate entire hostel. Very close to free tram and main train station; right in the middle of city. Would 10 out of 10 stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
7.4

Stayed 8 nights. The best part about this place was the staff - friendly and extremely helpful. The atmosphere in the lounge area was also pretty chill. They had a great music selection and it never got too loud. There's plenty of seating and a variety of drinks and snacks to choose from. I was less than impressed by the bathrooms, dorm rooms, and the physical cleanliness in general. Elevator stank and showers kind of gross.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Oct 2016
8.9

Loved the atmosphere of this place and the location. Really good hostel, with great staff, and I love the diverse mix of people that stay here. Plenty of activities on an evening to help meet other people staying there, and a big kitchen with plenty of sinks and facilities. Only thing I noticed was toilets can be a bit dirty sometimes & I did notice a homeless guy just walk in off the street a few times (maybe why some peoples' food went missing from the fridges?!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.