Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melbourne Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 290 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 290 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

Location is very good. I came to Melbourne just for the weekends to see 12 Apostles. I was very happy with my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
9.1

It's a pretty good hostel. Location is amazing, as it's in downtown Melbourne and there are a couple of tram stops nearby. Plenty of common areas to hang out. Staff are nice and helpful. However, the free wifi is pretty bad and if you want a good one you need to pay for it. Also the shower is a little cold for some reason.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.9

I really liked staying at the Melbourne YHA. The location is perfect! Very close to the pickup location for various tours and the Southern Cross metro station. It's also close to some famous streets in the CBD. I liked how much security there was and the people who worked there were pretty friendly. However, while the shared bathrooms looked clean, I saw the cleaning lady come in and barely do any cleaning -- just empty the trash out -- so it made me question how clean it really was.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.1

Everything's great other then one thing that as the rooms are full, I will need to change to another room. I need to put the luggage in lockers first and pay for the locker fee, which is not necessary for most hostel or hostel...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2017
8.6

If your after a more sociable hostel, probably not the best to choose.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
9.7

Everything was perfect. But not enough staff at the reception for check in I was waiting for 30mins and there were 2 on but one was on the phone the whole time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
8.9

Incredible location. Walk right out the door on to the free tram. They let me change rooms when I was stuck with a bunch of real a**%&$#s. The staff seemed much better than average. Everything was close. Small kitchen and common room. Not a good place if you just hang out in the hostel all day, unless of course you never even leave your bed. Good for laundry. Really slow Wi-Fi, like most free public Wi-Fi in Australia. The best place I stayed in Australia, bar none.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
9.1

This hostel is great! One of the best I have ever stayed at, great kitchen, super clean the staff are always ready to help you. If your looking for a party hostel this is not your place though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.9

Good location and clean facilities. Communal areas modern, well equipped and spacious, helpful there are luggage storage security lockers available (at a small fee). Wifi not available in rooms and room rates quite expensive, but you are paying for the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.9

It's a great hostel, but of course, you pay a bit more for this place compared to others in the CBD. Security is tight and a card key needs to be used a few times in various places! However, you do have to pay to rent a locker for the day after checkout. This hostel is much more for slightly older travellers, so the atmosphere is a little bit calmer. Overall though, because I wanted a few good night's sleep and a place to relax before my flight home, I loved this place :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.