Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melbourne Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
9.1

Amazing staff. So friendly and created such an awesome atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2017
8.0

The staff absolutely saved my bacon at this place. I arrived late at night about 10.30 and the guy had slept in both beds in the room as he assumed no one was coming. When I came back after a late dinner and a beer or two I asked the after hours reception bloke for some more sheets and after I explained the situation he moved me to a new clean room where I was by myself. I think he could tell I was just super tired and didn't want to have to deal with it so he just thought he would be a legend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
9.7

Perfect Hostel. Felt as though we were the only one there so if travelling alone, perhaps a bit lonely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
6.0

Warning: lots of older people

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jun 2017
7.4

We had a three person room. The lockers were underneath the beds which weren't the easiest to get to. We stayed during winter and they turn the heaters off during a certain time of day so the room can get quite chilly. The location was great though. Close to everything and right next to a train stop.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
9.1

cleans beds and bathrooms, huge kitchen to cook your meals and the most perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
6.9

Location was pretty close to shops and lots of food options near the river. There was a tram stop right across the street. The facilities were okay although not always the cleanest. Room also could have been cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th May 2017
7.1

Good location and very friendly staff. There's no free WiFi in the rooms and no breakfast. Hostel is a little bit pricey comparing to other cheaper hostels in Melbourne with more free facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
8.3

Might need to drop the Y as lots of older travellers staying when I was here. Shared 4 bed room with two 60+year old men who had nightly snoring contests. Lacked abit of atmosphere + one of the more difficult hostels that I stayed in Oz/NZ to meet people. Otherwise good facilities- has breakfast bar/cafe beside reception. 24hr check in. Free CBD tram on doorstep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

Location is very good. I came to Melbourne just for the weekends to see 12 Apostles. I was very happy with my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.