Hostelworld.com

Melbourne Central YHA

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
9.1

This hostel is great! One of the best I have ever stayed at, great kitchen, super clean the staff are always ready to help you. If your looking for a party hostel this is not your place though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.9

Good location and clean facilities. Communal areas modern, well equipped and spacious, helpful there are luggage storage security lockers available (at a small fee). Wifi not available in rooms and room rates quite expensive, but you are paying for the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.9

It's a great hostel, but of course, you pay a bit more for this place compared to others in the CBD. Security is tight and a card key needs to be used a few times in various places! However, you do have to pay to rent a locker for the day after checkout. This hostel is much more for slightly older travellers, so the atmosphere is a little bit calmer. Overall though, because I wanted a few good night's sleep and a place to relax before my flight home, I loved this place :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Dec 2016
7.7

Hostel overall is really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.3

Good location, need bigger lockers and brighter room colours

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Dec 2016
9.1

Nice hostel to stay at the heart of Melbourne. Clean, cozy, and just behind the tram stop in which you can take the Melbourne city circle tram. Surrounded by minimarkets and restaurants, with only few minutes walk from many city attractions. Staffs are very welcome to help. The only downside, no free luggage room for you to drop your luggage before check-in/after check-out. But there are lockers which can easily be rented at much cheaper rate than lockers provided in the Southern Cross station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
7.7

The location is good, and rooms are nice and clean. I don't like that u have to pay for the lockers, the atmosphere is not so good. If you travel alone, don't stay there!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Dec 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I have stayed in during my travels. The facilities were great and always clean, the staff were really friendly and the organised activities were a really great way to meet other solo travellers. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Nov 2016
6.0

Disappointing. As many other people have mentioned, the hostel's right next to a main road and not remotely insulated from the traffic noise outside. Staff weren't really bothered either and showers weren't great either. Also, the breakfast is really overpriced for what you get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.0

I enjoyed my stay at the YHA. The staff are ftiendly, there's a good stmosphere and the hostel has a good choice of activities during the week. I had a pleasant stay and the hostel is in a good location, however there was a lot of noise from the street below the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.