Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melbourne Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
Melbourne Central YHA Located at 562 Flinders Street, , Melbourne.
Melbourne Central YHA
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 562 Flinders Street
89% 229
-37.8206836 144.9556303
Melbourne Central YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed staying here. Felt very safe and comfortable. One of the more pricier hostels in Melbourne but worth it. Facilities great, great atmosphere and really helpful staff! Would deffinitely recommend :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
10.0

I arrived at 8am after a 18 hr flight. They let me in a clean three bed room at 11am which i much appreciated as i needed to sleep. The only problem was is that i am 72 yrs old and i had to be on the top bunk. It wasn't all that hard, so I really can't complain, but would have been nice to wait a little longer and get a lower bunk. The people were very friendly. Susan B. Gallagher

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.4

I found it really easy to meet people at this hostel because of the daily social events. It felt like everyone knew everyone. Staff were really friendly and helpful. It was also in a great location, very close to everything and in the free tram zone. I would definitely come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rneill0499
  • Sweden, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.4

Got to listen to a bloke talk in his sleep, and I quote: "No, let me gestate a little longer, don't feed me pudding" for an hour. 9/10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
10.0

Had a great time throughout my week long stay. The YHA is well located, with free-tram station just outside the hostel. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The evening group activities hosted by the staff really made the stay more enjoyable and gave opportunities to make new friends. The free-wifi was a huge bonus! The locker charges are a bit high, but if you carry a lock, you can just use the storage space provided below each bed. Saves a lot of money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michellechng8215
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Great place to stay in the city. Very walkable from southern cross. Tram stop right outside. Nice comfy bed, quiet environment. Stayed for one night only so didn't get to use the kitchen but it looks pretty well organized. Staff were friendly when I checked in. Slightly pricey, but I guess you pay for what you get. Would stay here again the next time I visit!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jareddouglasbarnes5690
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.3

A nice change from some of the other Aussie party hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.0

Clean and friendly hostel. Fairly expensive considering it's the middle of winter, but the location is very central. The rooms are basic but comfortable, and the wifi is pretty good!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.4

Beautiful downstairs area. I changed to booking another hostel, but after staying there one trip, I changed back. The atmosphere is so much better at Melb Central YHA

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
8.6

Location was great, a 15 min walk from Federation Square/where everyone goes for food, hang out, travel! I liked how the hostel held events, like a movie night, to help travelers meet each other! The rooms were pretty clean, the bathrooms could use a bit more cleaning throughout the day as they get really messy. Generally, the bathrooms were very nice though! If you stay less than 5 days then you don't get a towel or WiFi, so you'd have to pay for both. Front desk is great with trip planning!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.