X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Melbourne International Backpackers Reviews

450 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
449 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

The whole hostel had a smell of urine and the cleanliness of the facility left a lot to be desired. My girlfriend left with a rash on her face and their seemed to be a distinct lack of interest in the well being of the guests.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

When we arrived the girl at the reception look quite uninterrested. In the third floor four out of eight womens toilets were out of order which doesnt look good for the hostel.


83%

Breakfast's awesome, kitchen always spotless, great location, great prices - Irish dude from the reception is very grumpy all the time. Also it's very loud at nights.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a good stay. Spacious rooms, spacious lockers, amazing breakfast. Clean facilities you can use even after check out which is helpful when you have to catch a late flight,bus etc. Easy access to everywhere,tram,aldi just across the street. Only weired thing:you have to buy your own mug. It's only $1,but still... Would recommand this place and definately come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for you great comments, we are very happy to hear you had a good stay with us. Happy travels MIB Staff and Management

77%

nice hostel, for guests who just wanna stay a couple of nights in Melbourne City and do some party

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. Glad you had a good stay with us Happy Travels MIB Staff

80%

Very good value for money. They have free breakfast: toasts, spreads and pancakes (get there early if you don't want to queue to prepare your pancakes). The location is really good, you can walk to all the main attractions of the CBD. The room that I stayed in was facing the street and was very noisy from early in the morning, so if you sleep lightly, try to avoid them. The staff was friendly and helpful (though I didn't interact much with them). I would provably stay there again.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are happy to hear you had a good stay with us and enjoyed your time in Melboune Happy Travels MIB Staff

54%

The location and staff are OK, however when I tried to print several things for a job interview there were a lot of issues and it took over an hour to rectify. Also my room was shut down due to a bed bug infestation and no one told me, so I stayed for another night before being moved to a six bed dorm when i had paid for a four bed dorm. I also had to heat treat all my clothes and waste another few hours on that. I was not offered a refund or anything for my inconvenience.


94%

Great breakfast if you get up early, free wifi if you and discount if you stay 7 nights. Clean toilets and showers as well as the room we stayed in. As soon as the staff saw that the kitchen was dirty they cleaned it :) Maybe not a hostel to meet people because it is huge and you feel a bit lost. But if you stay there a couple of days you will meet really nice guys :)


83%

Nice hostel though it's big! Met some nice people here and felt all safe and comfortable! I liked the big lockers in the rooms, the facilities (never have to wait for a shower unless the cleaning is on) and the location. Aldi close by! Had a great time in the mib!


83%

So noisy could not sleep


86%

Very good location, staff (the only receptionist i met) was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very big (stayed in a 6-dorm, beds were comfy, it was a bit smelly though and only one wallfan which resulted in a boiling room! A bit pricy but you do get free breakfast (pancakes included!!!) which was a bonus. Only stayed for one night, would def stay there again.


91%

It's a big hostel, but still with a nice atmosphere! Easy to meet new people. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Free breakfast is only between strict hours in the morning, so party animals and long sleepers won't get any. Would definitely recommend this place.


83%

Rooms were clean and spacious with lockers, bathrooms had loads of toilets and showers and staff were lovely but common room is just one big hectic kitchen and any time you need to speak to the lovely staff you have to queue for 5 - 10 minutes. Good price though so would stay again...


77%

It's a very clean hostel! And they offer free breakfast where you can make your own pancakes or have some cereal and toast. Good hostel with a good location. The staff in the reception wasn't the happiest though.


80%

Great location in the centre of Melbourne, friendly staff and good atmosphere

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The Hostel is very big and anonymeous. For some days of staying it is ok. Free breakfast included:) at the Weekends very loud.


66%

Bit pricey for what you get, this is a mid-range hostel. It could do with a revamp as it looks like it hasn't had its carpets changed in a good thirty years! The staff were a bit offhand, but thats subjective. Massive pain in the bum having all the washing facilities in one area on each floor. If it's a single night stay you are after come here, long term forget it!


77%

Nice place

  • 16th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really good location, staff are friendly and helpful. Love the big kitchen which is always clean and tidy. Great bar downstairs with regular events on. Ok sized rooms and comfy beds. Would prefer there to be air-con instead of fans but the walk in fridge is good when your feeling the heat.

  • 16th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel is good but hostelworld.com service not. I booked for 12-15 not for 10-13 and when I sended you an email, didn't get an answer...

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback