X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Melbourne International Backpackers Reviews

450 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
453 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

The whole hostel had a smell of urine and the cleanliness of the facility left a lot to be desired. My girlfriend left with a rash on her face and their seemed to be a distinct lack of interest in the well being of the guests.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave as a review The staff are completely baffled by your review as we are often told that our hostel cleanliness is fantastic. Our staff work hard to provide clean rooms, bathrooms and common areas for everyone to enjoy. We have had guest in the past that are sensitive to the starch used by the professional linen cleaning company we use. In these cases we just provide in-house machine washed sheets for them to us. Happy Travels MIB Staff and Management

83%

It's very central but because of that it's loud quite often. The atmosphere in the kitchen/ coucharea is very relaxed and friendly and you get free breakfast every morning :)


60%

When we arrived the girl at the reception look quite uninterrested. In the third floor four out of eight womens toilets were out of order which doesnt look good for the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review as we appreciate all feedback. We apologies if the staff member was not more interested in you arrival but we really are happy to have any travelers visiting Melbourne come stay at our hostel. Any issues in the bathrooms are reported daily by our cleaning staff and repairs done as soon as possible to provide full service for our guests. Happy Travels MIB Staff and Management

83%

Breakfast's awesome, kitchen always spotless, great location, great prices - Irish dude from the reception is very grumpy all the time. Also it's very loud at nights.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a good stay. Spacious rooms, spacious lockers, amazing breakfast. Clean facilities you can use even after check out which is helpful when you have to catch a late flight,bus etc. Easy access to everywhere,tram,aldi just across the street. Only weired thing:you have to buy your own mug. It's only $1,but still... Would recommand this place and definately come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for you great comments, we are very happy to hear you had a good stay with us. Happy travels MIB Staff and Management

77%

nice hostel, for guests who just wanna stay a couple of nights in Melbourne City and do some party

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. Glad you had a good stay with us Happy Travels MIB Staff

80%

Very good value for money. They have free breakfast: toasts, spreads and pancakes (get there early if you don't want to queue to prepare your pancakes). The location is really good, you can walk to all the main attractions of the CBD. The room that I stayed in was facing the street and was very noisy from early in the morning, so if you sleep lightly, try to avoid them. The staff was friendly and helpful (though I didn't interact much with them). I would provably stay there again.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are happy to hear you had a good stay with us and enjoyed your time in Melboune Happy Travels MIB Staff

54%

The location and staff are OK, however when I tried to print several things for a job interview there were a lot of issues and it took over an hour to rectify. Also my room was shut down due to a bed bug infestation and no one told me, so I stayed for another night before being moved to a six bed dorm when i had paid for a four bed dorm. I also had to heat treat all my clothes and waste another few hours on that. I was not offered a refund or anything for my inconvenience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately bed bugs is a real problem in the hotel and hostel industry. We take the treatment of bed bugs seriously, so when it is identified that it has been brought into out hostel we actively treat the problem, with a great cost to us, so it is not spread to another hostel or cause guests any more problems in the future. We apologies that this affected you stay. All staff involved said that you were really great about the inconvenience, which we appreciate. MIB Management

94%

Great breakfast if you get up early, free wifi if you and discount if you stay 7 nights. Clean toilets and showers as well as the room we stayed in. As soon as the staff saw that the kitchen was dirty they cleaned it :) Maybe not a hostel to meet people because it is huge and you feel a bit lost. But if you stay there a couple of days you will meet really nice guys :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for great review. We are so pleased you had a good time in our hostel and in Melbourne. Happy Travels MIB Staff and Management

83%

Nice hostel though it's big! Met some nice people here and felt all safe and comfortable! I liked the big lockers in the rooms, the facilities (never have to wait for a shower unless the cleaning is on) and the location. Aldi close by! Had a great time in the mib!


83%

So noisy could not sleep

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. If you ever have a noisy room or if another guest is been loud and keeping you awake, come see reception as soon as possible. You pay for a room to be able to sleep, so we will do what ever we can to resolve the situation including moving you to a new room. Happy Travels MIB Staff and Management

86%

Very good location, staff (the only receptionist i met) was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very big (stayed in a 6-dorm, beds were comfy, it was a bit smelly though and only one wallfan which resulted in a boiling room! A bit pricy but you do get free breakfast (pancakes included!!!) which was a bonus. Only stayed for one night, would def stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you awesome review! We are so happy you had a good stay and would love to see you again Happy Travels MIB Staff and Management

91%

It's a big hostel, but still with a nice atmosphere! Easy to meet new people. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Free breakfast is only between strict hours in the morning, so party animals and long sleepers won't get any. Would definitely recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you amazing review! Our breakfast is between 7.30 and 9.30am so if you’re a party animal its best to stay up all night so you don’t miss out on breakfast : ) Best of luck with you travels MIB Staff and Management

83%

Rooms were clean and spacious with lockers, bathrooms had loads of toilets and showers and staff were lovely but common room is just one big hectic kitchen and any time you need to speak to the lovely staff you have to queue for 5 - 10 minutes. Good price though so would stay again...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you awesome review! Our staff are in high demand at times, but when its your turn at the desk we try to answer or give information to all guest questions as best as possible which can take a bit of time some times : ) Good luck with you adventures. MIB Staff

77%

It's a very clean hostel! And they offer free breakfast where you can make your own pancakes or have some cereal and toast. Good hostel with a good location. The staff in the reception wasn't the happiest though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you fantastic review! Our cleaning staff takes real pride in providing a clean hostel and our reception staff work hard to try providing a clean kitchen for every guest to use. We also love the pancakes for breakfast too. I want to apologies if staff were not the happiest as it gets a little overwhelming when its so busy and there is so much to do. Happy Travels MIB Management

80%

Great location in the centre of Melbourne, friendly staff and good atmosphere

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you wonderful review! We are so please to hear you had a great stay with us and wish you all the best with you travels MIB Staff and Management

80%

The Hostel is very big and anonymeous. For some days of staying it is ok. Free breakfast included:) at the Weekends very loud.


66%

Bit pricey for what you get, this is a mid-range hostel. It could do with a revamp as it looks like it hasn't had its carpets changed in a good thirty years! The staff were a bit offhand, but thats subjective. Massive pain in the bum having all the washing facilities in one area on each floor. If it's a single night stay you are after come here, long term forget it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. MIB focuses on offering some of the cheapest accommodation rates in Melbourne while offering clean rooms and great value for short and long term stay. Each of our 3 floors of accommodation has large separate male and female bathrooms to accommodate the needs of the guests. Unfortunately to keep these great rates and provide excellent value we could not do major renovation projects without rising our prices. Happy Travels MIB Staff

77%

Nice place

  • 16th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really good location, staff are friendly and helpful. Love the big kitchen which is always clean and tidy. Great bar downstairs with regular events on. Ok sized rooms and comfy beds. Would prefer there to be air-con instead of fans but the walk in fridge is good when your feeling the heat.

  • 16th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback