Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melbourne Metro YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
9.4

Had a great stay with the YHA guys. Really friendly staff, easy to get around and great atmosphere. They've really made an effort to get people to talk to each other through events and fitness classes. All free which is awesome. We'll be back for sure

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2017
10.0

This hostel is so good, they have activities running every night which is a great way to meet new people, Alex the events girl was so happy and you could tell she was passionate about her job! I recommend the Pub Crawl on a Thursday was a great way to see the night life and had something for everyone! They also had free exercise classes which were fab! The staff were so friendly and welcoming on check in and happy to help when I had any questions. I loved the art work makes you feel happy🙂

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
9.7

I stayed with these guys for one night only. I had a great stay. I've never really seen a fitness element to a hostel before but this hostel has 4 classes a week. I was lucky and got to do a body combat class and a yoga class for free. They have professional teachers from outside of the hostel to teach too. Great value for money. The front desk staff were very helpful & friendly. The events girl was super friendly and made everyone feel welcome and included. Def coming back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
10.0

I was really happy with the stay at yha metro! Staff were extreamly nice and willing to help with advices! The location is awesome - only one stop away from free cbd zone. I also love the rooftop and all of the great activities going on. There was even a free bbq at the evening that i stayed there! Definitely recommended!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Jul 2017
10.0

Hostel is located in North of Melbourne but still close to the city and free tram route. The place has a great vibe and the mural on the stairwell is great. Travelling alone is not a problem as it is easy to make friends here with a range of activities available from yoga, boxing, pool comp and pub crawl. Definitely be back to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Apr 2017
5.7

No wifi in room. Only available on the ground floor. Not enough plugs in room (just two near the table for the whole dorm room, another two under a bed which were hard to use). Not enough plugs on the ground floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
8.9

Location is one and a half Melbourne block away from public transport (say half km) - a tram which is two stops from the edge of the CBD. However that half km has little shelter from rain and during my stay it rained heavily enough on of my walks back from the tram which left my shirt drenched and some water got into my backpack. It was a hassle to access the shared bathroom because one had to use the door lock card particularly as I had medicines which needed access to a tap and sink.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bestmic5124
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Apr 2017
6.3

The wifi is very slow and poor reception in room...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Apr 2017
6.0

I didn't like this hostel. The atmosphere was not great. The staff weren't very friendly at all, i actually felt quite uneasy from first checking in! The actual room was ok. Good layout. My reading light didn't work but would have been good otherwise. Showers were fine as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Mar 2017
6.9

Pros: -Friendly staff -Nice rooftop with a good view of the city skyline -Big lockers -Plenty of showers and toilets -Loads of hobs in the kitchen -Big laundry room, $3 washer $1 dryer -Friendly atmosphere Cons: -Dirty kitchen with people not washing their stuff -Toilets feel rank and the light goes off after five minutes so not helpful if in there for a while -Room key cards don't always work so might not be able to access your room -Small rooms with hardly any plug sockets

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×