Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melbourne Metro YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 197 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 197 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
Melbourne Metro YHA Located at 78 Howard Street, North Melbourne, Melbourne.
Melbourne Metro YHA
Australia
Melbourne Victoria VIC 3051 78 Howard Street, North Melbourne
79% 197
-37.8030534 144.9544286
Melbourne Metro YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
8.6

Everything was very good including cleanliness (especially), location was decent enough as long as you don't mind walking a little. The actual hostel was really good, big kitchen great facilities. The only thing in my opinion that let this hostel down was the night time staff - very abrupt, pretty rude actually! Rather than asking nicely to be a little quieter the 2 guys separately told us to shut up or we'll be kicked out!? Very very rude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
8.0

They keep prices low by having no aircons or heat. They do not provide shampoo and conditioner. They do have lockers in the room and sheets seemed clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Dec 2016
8.0

Positives - the free wifi in the common area is quick enough that you don't really need to get the extra quick wifi which you pay for. the kitchen is massive and has loads of room even during prime busy cooking times. lots of utensils and plenty of storage space. the common area is large and comfortable. bathroom and showers are big, decent temps and clean. staff are helpful Negatives - sockets in the rooms. there is only 2 and not on the side of the room as the bed. very quiet atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.1

The location is too far away from the CBD, also the bigger supermarkets like woolworth and coles are more than 1,5km away, just the expensive IGA is 10 walking minutes away. Just one lift, which is very busy all the time. The female bathroom in level one was closed, so that all girls had to get ready in the morning by using one bathroom with just 4 showers (one was closed as well!)... It was clean and the beds were really comfortable! To store your luggage you have to pay 2$.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
5.7

it felt like I was staying at a jail. I didn't like it

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Oct 2016
8.3

My stay at Melbourne Metro was good. The staff are always friendly and helpful especially if you want help choosing a tour or trip. The 4 bed female dorm I was in was good. The room was always clean but more plug sockets would have been great - especially in the lockers. The kitchen could have been bigger with more bench space. Dinnertime could get a bit crazy with the amount of people cooking at the same time. The showers and toilets were always clean. Overall, a good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Oct 2016
8.3

Nice Hostel. Very clean, very safe, but not much fun in terms of atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
7.4

Good location and a clean place with a lively atmosphere. Basically no plug sockets in the room so had to charge my things down stairs before I went to sleep. The pillow was like sleeping on concrete.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
7.7

Very clean; very few backpackers. 5 out of 6 people in my room were working in Melbourne. Zero atmosphere. Very very clean. Modern bathrooms. Good wifi. Seems like a good place for travelers over taken by people looking for work in Melbourne

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.