Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melbourne Metro YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Apr 2017
5.7

No wifi in room. Only available on the ground floor. Not enough plugs in room (just two near the table for the whole dorm room, another two under a bed which were hard to use). Not enough plugs on the ground floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
8.9

Location is one and a half Melbourne block away from public transport (say half km) - a tram which is two stops from the edge of the CBD. However that half km has little shelter from rain and during my stay it rained heavily enough on of my walks back from the tram which left my shirt drenched and some water got into my backpack. It was a hassle to access the shared bathroom because one had to use the door lock card particularly as I had medicines which needed access to a tap and sink.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bestmic5124
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Apr 2017
6.3

The wifi is very slow and poor reception in room...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Apr 2017
6.0

I didn't like this hostel. The atmosphere was not great. The staff weren't very friendly at all, i actually felt quite uneasy from first checking in! The actual room was ok. Good layout. My reading light didn't work but would have been good otherwise. Showers were fine as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Mar 2017
6.9

Pros: -Friendly staff -Nice rooftop with a good view of the city skyline -Big lockers -Plenty of showers and toilets -Loads of hobs in the kitchen -Big laundry room, $3 washer $1 dryer -Friendly atmosphere Cons: -Dirty kitchen with people not washing their stuff -Toilets feel rank and the light goes off after five minutes so not helpful if in there for a while -Room key cards don't always work so might not be able to access your room -Small rooms with hardly any plug sockets

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.9

The cleaning lady throw my stuff when I'm not in the room, staff didn't react promptly after I report the case. Overall the people are nice and helpful. Good environment and good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nicholawillard5537
  • New Caledonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
8.0

Great hostel right by the markets. Staff where really helpful with requests. The only thing is that the beds make a lot of noise when you move in them

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2017
7.4

This hostel is well located in terms of being very near to trams and to the Victoria market which is great for fruit and vegetable. The 8 bed female room lacked plugs (4 in very awkward places) and was quite small which made it hot. Slightly annoying having to go down a level to be able to use the bathrooms but only a slight annoyance. Good for a short stay in Melbourne.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
7.4

Bathrooms were out of order on our floor, was really inconvenient having to walk to other floors to use the bathroom. Other than that the place is decent with a nice rooftop, good location walking distance to the city amd all trams.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
7.7

A great hostel if you prefer the quiet; away from the noise of the city and fewer groups of younger 'party travellers'. It was nice to have a big dining area and a lounge. Would have been better if there were hairdryers in the toilets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.