Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Melbourne Metro YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 186 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 186 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
Melbourne Metro YHA Located at 78 Howard Street, North Melbourne, Melbourne.
Melbourne Metro YHA
Australia
Melbourne Victoria VIC 3051 78 Howard Street, North Melbourne
79% 186
-37.8030534 144.9544286
Melbourne Metro YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
5.7

it felt like I was staying at a jail. I didn't like it

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Oct 2016
8.3

My stay at Melbourne Metro was good. The staff are always friendly and helpful especially if you want help choosing a tour or trip. The 4 bed female dorm I was in was good. The room was always clean but more plug sockets would have been great - especially in the lockers. The kitchen could have been bigger with more bench space. Dinnertime could get a bit crazy with the amount of people cooking at the same time. The showers and toilets were always clean. Overall, a good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Oct 2016
8.3

Nice Hostel. Very clean, very safe, but not much fun in terms of atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
7.4

Good location and a clean place with a lively atmosphere. Basically no plug sockets in the room so had to charge my things down stairs before I went to sleep. The pillow was like sleeping on concrete.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
7.7

Very clean; very few backpackers. 5 out of 6 people in my room were working in Melbourne. Zero atmosphere. Very very clean. Modern bathrooms. Good wifi. Seems like a good place for travelers over taken by people looking for work in Melbourne

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
8.3

Overall great place to stay. Very helpful staff and great facilities. Easy to get around town and the neighborhood of north Melbourne was lovely. The only down side was the slamming doors at night. Anytime someone would leave or enter their rooms or the restrooms the doors would slam shut. Hopefully this can be fixed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
9.4

This hostel was clean and pretty close to public transport, had good lockers in the rooms, comfy and warm beds, clean showers, strong wifi, and good kitchen facilities. The staff were super friendly and helpful, including booking airport shuttle for me and letting me borrow the hostel phone to make a local call (yay Patrick!).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Jun 2016
7.7

Nice place overall but the rooms are a bit small, and feel stuffy + there are no individual socket by the beds. The showers are a nice surprise, very clean and quite spacious. Wifi is only available on the ground floor but apparently it's common for Melbourne. The staff is really nice and helpful. The hostel is not located in the center but the area is not far and very nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel - super affordable, clean and with good facilities. Only issue was some of the hobs in the kitchen didn't work!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.