X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mellow Yellow Villa Reviews

Rua Republica do Peru, 444, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
256 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It was a fun exciting place to stay with a good Party atmosphere. However some staff were quite useless especially one of the girls who is there to just drink every night and not ableto do her job or know anything you ask her. Also forgetting to put out breakfast so for my whole stay I only got the breakfast I paid for once, which was good when I had it! Other than that it's a good hostel to stay in.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

One of the better hostels to stay at in Rio. Just a concern that the staff never knew which beds were occupied and by whom (but in fairness this was during WC month), some people staying at the back packers never had breakfast, once it was finished, there wasn't any additional breakfast made for people who never received any, hostel can work on this. Wifi was good, bathroom facilities too, rooms very spacious. Would return and recommend.


66%

This hostel is in a great location and has the potential to be great except a lot of poor staffing and their actions really let it down. There were a few double booked beds, had to really hassle one staff member for toilet paper and if you weren't first in for breakfast you missed out. The atmosphere was good of a night time at the bar and the drinks were cheap, could use a bit more variety. There was one staff member who really made my trip though, very helpful and knowledgeable, Ekky.


77%

Hostel is close to the copacabana beach and in a good central location. I stayed here for four nights and had a great time. Staff are really lovely and very helpful. This can be a party hostel if you want it to be, however if you want a quiet early night just bring ear plugs and you'll be fine. Breakfast is ok, got to get up early and on time of serving otherwise you'll miss out. Would recommend.


71%

Problems with breakfast and breakfast times. Staff was very stubborn to provide some more breakfast if everything was eaten before the end time. Also breakfast times switched from day to day, looked very random. So it said 9-11am but when we got there at 10.30am we were told that the breakfast time was from 8.30-10.30....

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: Upon all arrivals, during all check in's the information of the hostel is told to you, including what time breakfast was, which is 8:30 - 10:30, the time has never changed .

20%

We lived in an 8 pers. dorm, but the first night, there was 9, who slept there! WTF? The breakfast was an hour late! Small and dirty kitchen. Our bed was cleaned and stuff put away, because the staff don't know where people sleep. Smoke gets easily into the rooms from the bar area. A lot of noise. Nice bathrooms + breakfast + location. DON'T EVER STAY HERE!! The staff is the most ruthless and ignorant people ever, except one britsh guy. We didn't get one good night out of our 4 nights!


94%

I have stayed in many hostels in Rio and this is by far one of the best!


83%

Very hot room.


100%

Had a great time at the hostel, the bar is by far the best thing going there cheap drinks and it stays open till late in case your to lazy to go out, and in the morning the breakfast saves you all u can eat buffet by far best breakfast ive had at a hostel, also the wrist band for security great idea in case u get lost and forget the address not to mention hote is just 3 blocks from the beach, will for sure recommend this place to other

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very happy to have made your stay at Mellow Yellow Villa so great, hope to see you back again soon

20%

We booked by Hostelworld. When we arrived a blond girl who was very rude and didn't know how to do her job, told us that the hostel was full and that it was not her problem if we had payed a reservation by hostelworld. Then she gave as a few Reales (the money back from the reservation charge) and asked us to go away. We didn't find a place to sleep so we had to go to the airport to spent the night. NEVER SEEN something like thisThe WORST experience i had in a hostel in all my life. A REAL SHAME.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello we are sorry about the mess up, as we have been full to capacity nearly everyday this high season,and have had some over bookings, we returned your reservation money and we never asked you to go away, the receptionist tried to find a hostel for you to stay, you diddnt want to stay at the hostels we found for you again very sorry about the mix up.



View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback