X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mellow Yellow Villa Reviews

Rua Republica do Peru, 444, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

51%

Rating
286 Total Reviews
  • 56%Value For Money
  • 47%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 45%Staff
  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 38%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

A little pricy for what was offered. Quite often there was not enough breakfast - and what there was, was average at best. Thought it would be a more happening hostel - would be hesitant to recommend it again.

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The receptionist wasn't very interested in helping us. And said she wasn't google maps and normally we would be charged for this, which isn't true. I thought we could ask for for help by the staff but apparently not. The rooms were good but I didn't think the atmosphere was that good

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

You cant pay with credit card or thats what the owner of the hostel said!! she was very furious because i first contact with her, and then i booked by hostelworld. She speaks just english and is always in bad mood. Is very expensive for what they offer. The breakfast was quiet good, the atmosphere very poor. The bathrooms were not very clean. And the staff doesnt seem organized. The only good thing is the location, 3/4 blocks from the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: Yes you can pay with credit card just in this case, you wanted to each pay with credit card for a 30 reais bill, when it cleary states 50 reais or more, compared to other hostels Mellow Yellow Villa Is fairly priced considering it is located 3 blocks form the copacabana beach, the atmosphere might have been more entertaining if you guys had not stayed in your rooms drinking your own drinks, which is clearly in violation of the hostel rules.

43%

This is by far the worst hostel ive ever stayed at. Unlike what they state in their information section, no maps were provided let alone any helpful information. Staff were very friendly but not at all trained and facilities were below average. Although location was excellent. I would not reccommend staying here.

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but if you had clearly looked at the reception wall of information, there is information on buses, tours, hostel information, a weekly schedule of things to do, sites to book plane and bus reservations and YES a large map of Rio de Janeiro.

89%

Not too bad. I enjoyed staying there but it was not convenient to go through the bar to get to the bathroom , the same thing for the shower. They had some work done on the property at that time. Breakfast was not as great as other hostels in the area . great location.


100%

If you are here, just extend your stay daily, because they don't have refund policy. For example if you paid more than 1 day and you changed your mind and you want to leave earlier, they don't refund you fully. The rest everything is ok.


43%

It was expensive for a dorm with no sheets and a broken bed. The staff were drunk when we arrived and the toilet/shower was downstairs through the bar passed the kitchen out the back courtyard. Photos are a sham and are not real. Stay away from this hell hole

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: On arrival and during your check in, you were informed that the hostel is do reforming especially for the new bathrooms upstairs, thus being why the back bathroom were the only available pics aren't up to date do to reforming, so if a hell hole consists of a clean place, cheap drinks in the bar, an all you can eat breakfast, safe security, a 3 block walk from the beach, free wifi, a great atmosphere, well maybe next time you should stay in Copacabana Palace Hotel, thank you

69%

The bathrooms are terribly uncomfortable we just didn´t fit in then ... and there are just 2 for everyone

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: Sorry about the bathrooms but on arrival you were told that the hostel has been reforming for the past month installing a large new bathroom up stairs for the high season, which will have bathrooms and showers for everyone in the hostel with pleanty of space, thank you

60%

!!! If you don't smoke or don't like 2nd hand smoking- DO NOT STAY HERE- you can't escape it. It's really horrendous, smoking inside and every outside area. At breakfast, pretty much in kitchen, and smelt in every room. I guess if you smoke it'd be a ok place to stay. But facilities average as doing renos which they don't say until you're there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: we are sorry about the smoking,but in the hostel smoking is only allowed in the back hallway and the areas outside no where else,the smell of smoke travels because a large majority of are guests smoke,and of course smoke sticks to clothing and among other things also,as you know most guests come back after a party and normally don`t shower. Again very sorry about the smoke but as a traveler you should get used to it due to the fact that most people who stay in hostels smoke,Thank you

100%

This is a great hostel, there were works going on when we were there last, but it was compensated for in price and staff atmosphere and understanding. Great location right down the road from the beach, great cafés just around the corner. Rooms and good with nice beds. Breakfast is very good, lots of facilities and variety. Staff were awesome here, Michael is fantastic, very helpful and great fun! Top man. Tori, Sarah and Tony were great too, so glad we met them! Would definitely recommend here!


100%

Staff will go out their way to accommodate you. Tulio, ryan, Hugh and tony are all great guys. Nice hostel, no complaints. Seems strange that rating is so low, this is a 90% hostel


66%

Was a good hostel for the price, at only 30 real. Felt a little grimey, and bathroom was a bit far from rooms, but they were doing renovations. Would stay again because of the price, but not the best hostel in the world. Hue and the German guy were very helpful and nice.


91%

Had an awesome and seamless time at Mellow Yellow. The staff and the facilities were great and very professional. The location was prime being only a couple blocks from the beach and very close to all things Copacabana.


86%

Great place to stay. Great staff and plenty of help with booking tours etc.


63%

Be able to unlock your fridge at all times (drinking water is important!)


97%

The Hostel is a place where as soon as you arrive you feel like your part of the family and they offer good tours from football which was amazing to the unforgettable Favela Funk. If you are looking for fun and excitement then stay here with the added Value of people who remember you before you leave.

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Highly recommend Mellow Yellow Villa, the staff were really helpful

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A great place to stay in Rio, has lots of things to do there and out in Rio. They call you to do things. Very nice/good stay, I recomend

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location, staff were really helpful and friendly!


60%

not as clean as expected....bathrooms too small and dirty...air conditioning turned off during the day and evening...when it was mega hot...only good things was location and the info provided re what was happening everyday for events/touristy stuff...


(150 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback