X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mellow Yellow Villa Reviews

Rua Republica do Peru, 444, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

45%

Rating
266 Total Reviews
  • 44%Value For Money
  • 46%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 40%Staff
  • 36%Atmosphere
  • 46%Cleanliness
  • 44%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Not too bad. I enjoyed staying there but it was not convenient to go through the bar to get to the bathroom , the same thing for the shower. They had some work done on the property at that time. Breakfast was not as great as other hostels in the area . great location.


100%

If you are here, just extend your stay daily, because they don't have refund policy. For example if you paid more than 1 day and you changed your mind and you want to leave earlier, they don't refund you fully. The rest everything is ok.


43%

It was expensive for a dorm with no sheets and a broken bed. The staff were drunk when we arrived and the toilet/shower was downstairs through the bar passed the kitchen out the back courtyard. Photos are a sham and are not real. Stay away from this hell hole

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: On arrival and during your check in, you were informed that the hostel is do reforming especially for the new bathrooms upstairs, thus being why the back bathroom were the only available pics aren't up to date do to reforming, so if a hell hole consists of a clean place, cheap drinks in the bar, an all you can eat breakfast, safe security, a 3 block walk from the beach, free wifi, a great atmosphere, well maybe next time you should stay in Copacabana Palace Hotel, thank you

69%

The bathrooms are terribly uncomfortable we just didn´t fit in then ... and there are just 2 for everyone

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: Sorry about the bathrooms but on arrival you were told that the hostel has been reforming for the past month installing a large new bathroom up stairs for the high season, which will have bathrooms and showers for everyone in the hostel with pleanty of space, thank you

60%

!!! If you don't smoke or don't like 2nd hand smoking- DO NOT STAY HERE- you can't escape it. It's really horrendous, smoking inside and every outside area. At breakfast, pretty much in kitchen, and smelt in every room. I guess if you smoke it'd be a ok place to stay. But facilities average as doing renos which they don't say until you're there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: we are sorry about the smoking,but in the hostel smoking is only allowed in the back hallway and the areas outside no where else,the smell of smoke travels because a large majority of are guests smoke,and of course smoke sticks to clothing and among other things also,as you know most guests come back after a party and normally don`t shower. Again very sorry about the smoke but as a traveler you should get used to it due to the fact that most people who stay in hostels smoke,Thank you

100%

This is a great hostel, there were works going on when we were there last, but it was compensated for in price and staff atmosphere and understanding. Great location right down the road from the beach, great cafés just around the corner. Rooms and good with nice beds. Breakfast is very good, lots of facilities and variety. Staff were awesome here, Michael is fantastic, very helpful and great fun! Top man. Tori, Sarah and Tony were great too, so glad we met them! Would definitely recommend here!


100%

Staff will go out their way to accommodate you. Tulio, ryan, Hugh and tony are all great guys. Nice hostel, no complaints. Seems strange that rating is so low, this is a 90% hostel


66%

Was a good hostel for the price, at only 30 real. Felt a little grimey, and bathroom was a bit far from rooms, but they were doing renovations. Would stay again because of the price, but not the best hostel in the world. Hue and the German guy were very helpful and nice.


91%

Had an awesome and seamless time at Mellow Yellow. The staff and the facilities were great and very professional. The location was prime being only a couple blocks from the beach and very close to all things Copacabana.


86%

Great place to stay. Great staff and plenty of help with booking tours etc.


63%

Be able to unlock your fridge at all times (drinking water is important!)


97%

The Hostel is a place where as soon as you arrive you feel like your part of the family and they offer good tours from football which was amazing to the unforgettable Favela Funk. If you are looking for fun and excitement then stay here with the added Value of people who remember you before you leave.

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Highly recommend Mellow Yellow Villa, the staff were really helpful

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A great place to stay in Rio, has lots of things to do there and out in Rio. They call you to do things. Very nice/good stay, I recomend

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location, staff were really helpful and friendly!


60%

not as clean as expected....bathrooms too small and dirty...air conditioning turned off during the day and evening...when it was mega hot...only good things was location and the info provided re what was happening everyday for events/touristy stuff...


86%

Very good hostel with friendly helpful staff. Bar area was very well priced and general atmosphere was good with staff coming out with us on the nights. Very good location as it was so close to Copacabana beach and ended up extending our stay for an extra 4 nights. Charlie

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed here 4 nights and each night the staff organised something different every night. The hostel is located a 5 minute walk to the beach and is centrally located to bars and restauraunts in copacabana. The happy hour generally lasts more than an hour so fill your boots. The part owner Ryan is good craic to sit and have a yarn and a beer with. Cheers again.


29%

Very bad atmosphere. Fake good mood. Staff avoids speak portuguese, even when this is completely possible. They must remember that they are in Brazil.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mellow Yellow Management: in response to your review we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, considering the facts that you guys checked late at night, went straight to bed, woke up early and left that afternoon. Not giving time to even explore the atmosphere, as far as speaking portuguese all are staff speak the lag. again if you had spent time exploring the hostel you would have relized this.

100%

Nice Place i recomend


(146 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback