X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Mellow Yellow Villa Reviews

Rua Republica do Peru, 444, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
258 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

!!! If you don't smoke or don't like 2nd hand smoking- DO NOT STAY HERE- you can't escape it. It's really horrendous, smoking inside and every outside area. At breakfast, pretty much in kitchen, and smelt in every room. I guess if you smoke it'd be a ok place to stay. But facilities average as doing renos which they don't say until you're there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: we are sorry about the smoking,but in the hostel smoking is only allowed in the back hallway and the areas outside no where else,the smell of smoke travels because a large majority of are guests smoke,and of course smoke sticks to clothing and among other things also,as you know most guests come back after a party and normally don`t shower. Again very sorry about the smoke but as a traveler you should get used to it due to the fact that most people who stay in hostels smoke,Thank you

100%

This is a great hostel, there were works going on when we were there last, but it was compensated for in price and staff atmosphere and understanding. Great location right down the road from the beach, great cafés just around the corner. Rooms and good with nice beds. Breakfast is very good, lots of facilities and variety. Staff were awesome here, Michael is fantastic, very helpful and great fun! Top man. Tori, Sarah and Tony were great too, so glad we met them! Would definitely recommend here!


100%

Staff will go out their way to accommodate you. Tulio, ryan, Hugh and tony are all great guys. Nice hostel, no complaints. Seems strange that rating is so low, this is a 90% hostel


66%

Was a good hostel for the price, at only 30 real. Felt a little grimey, and bathroom was a bit far from rooms, but they were doing renovations. Would stay again because of the price, but not the best hostel in the world. Hue and the German guy were very helpful and nice.


91%

Had an awesome and seamless time at Mellow Yellow. The staff and the facilities were great and very professional. The location was prime being only a couple blocks from the beach and very close to all things Copacabana.


86%

Great place to stay. Great staff and plenty of help with booking tours etc.


63%

Be able to unlock your fridge at all times (drinking water is important!)


97%

The Hostel is a place where as soon as you arrive you feel like your part of the family and they offer good tours from football which was amazing to the unforgettable Favela Funk. If you are looking for fun and excitement then stay here with the added Value of people who remember you before you leave.

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Highly recommend Mellow Yellow Villa, the staff were really helpful

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A great place to stay in Rio, has lots of things to do there and out in Rio. They call you to do things. Very nice/good stay, I recomend

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location, staff were really helpful and friendly!


60%

not as clean as expected....bathrooms too small and dirty...air conditioning turned off during the day and evening...when it was mega hot...only good things was location and the info provided re what was happening everyday for events/touristy stuff...


86%

Very good hostel with friendly helpful staff. Bar area was very well priced and general atmosphere was good with staff coming out with us on the nights. Very good location as it was so close to Copacabana beach and ended up extending our stay for an extra 4 nights. Charlie

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed here 4 nights and each night the staff organised something different every night. The hostel is located a 5 minute walk to the beach and is centrally located to bars and restauraunts in copacabana. The happy hour generally lasts more than an hour so fill your boots. The part owner Ryan is good craic to sit and have a yarn and a beer with. Cheers again.


29%

Very bad atmosphere. Fake good mood. Staff avoids speak portuguese, even when this is completely possible. They must remember that they are in Brazil.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mellow Yellow Management: in response to your review we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, considering the facts that you guys checked late at night, went straight to bed, woke up early and left that afternoon. Not giving time to even explore the atmosphere, as far as speaking portuguese all are staff speak the lag. again if you had spent time exploring the hostel you would have relized this.

100%

Nice Place i recomend


91%

Great hostel! Really amazing breakfast, outdoor area


86%

Even though I was only stayed here for one night it was an ideal way to finish my stay in Brazil, As a solo traveller it was good to meet people and the night outs are well organised. The dorm s itself were a little dark and grungy but fine for one night. The showers were very clean and seemed new enough. Aussie Alex deserves a special mention for his relaxed manner and helpfulness. Thanks for a great stay.


80%

I've a great stay at Mellow Yeallow.. The staff is very helpful, the location is great, the breakfast is good.. The only think that the hostel can improve is more showers and more safety lookers.. But for sure I'll be there again..


94%

Great hostel to stay. Staff is very helpful. They even go with you to the favela partys . Great location shops,restaurants,stores,atm,etc. All around a family atmoshere.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(142 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback