X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mellow Yellow Villa Reviews

Rua Republica do Peru, 444, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
255 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

One of the better hostels to stay at in Rio. Just a concern that the staff never knew which beds were occupied and by whom (but in fairness this was during WC month), some people staying at the back packers never had breakfast, once it was finished, there wasn't any additional breakfast made for people who never received any, hostel can work on this. Wifi was good, bathroom facilities too, rooms very spacious. Would return and recommend.


77%

Hostel is close to the copacabana beach and in a good central location. I stayed here for four nights and had a great time. Staff are really lovely and very helpful. This can be a party hostel if you want it to be, however if you want a quiet early night just bring ear plugs and you'll be fine. Breakfast is ok, got to get up early and on time of serving otherwise you'll miss out. Would recommend.


71%

Problems with breakfast and breakfast times. Staff was very stubborn to provide some more breakfast if everything was eaten before the end time. Also breakfast times switched from day to day, looked very random. So it said 9-11am but when we got there at 10.30am we were told that the breakfast time was from 8.30-10.30....

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: Upon all arrivals, during all check in's the information of the hostel is told to you, including what time breakfast was, which is 8:30 - 10:30, the time has never changed .

20%

We lived in an 8 pers. dorm, but the first night, there was 9, who slept there! WTF? The breakfast was an hour late! Small and dirty kitchen. Our bed was cleaned and stuff put away, because the staff don't know where people sleep. Smoke gets easily into the rooms from the bar area. A lot of noise. Nice bathrooms + breakfast + location. DON'T EVER STAY HERE!! The staff is the most ruthless and ignorant people ever, except one britsh guy. We didn't get one good night out of our 4 nights!


94%

I have stayed in many hostels in Rio and this is by far one of the best!


83%

Very hot room.


100%

Had a great time at the hostel, the bar is by far the best thing going there cheap drinks and it stays open till late in case your to lazy to go out, and in the morning the breakfast saves you all u can eat buffet by far best breakfast ive had at a hostel, also the wrist band for security great idea in case u get lost and forget the address not to mention hote is just 3 blocks from the beach, will for sure recommend this place to other

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very happy to have made your stay at Mellow Yellow Villa so great, hope to see you back again soon

20%

We booked by Hostelworld. When we arrived a blond girl who was very rude and didn't know how to do her job, told us that the hostel was full and that it was not her problem if we had payed a reservation by hostelworld. Then she gave as a few Reales (the money back from the reservation charge) and asked us to go away. We didn't find a place to sleep so we had to go to the airport to spent the night. NEVER SEEN something like thisThe WORST experience i had in a hostel in all my life. A REAL SHAME.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello we are sorry about the mess up, as we have been full to capacity nearly everyday this high season,and have had some over bookings, we returned your reservation money and we never asked you to go away, the receptionist tried to find a hostel for you to stay, you diddnt want to stay at the hostels we found for you again very sorry about the mix up.

97%

Had a great time at this hostel, the staff were always willing to help and would take you out at night, rooms were nice, decent breakfast, looked like new bathrooms upstairs. I would recommend this hostel to anyone, especially if you want to meet people and have a good time.

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

A little pricy for what was offered. Quite often there was not enough breakfast - and what there was, was average at best. Thought it would be a more happening hostel - would be hesitant to recommend it again.

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
57%

The receptionist wasn't very interested in helping us. And said she wasn't google maps and normally we would be charged for this, which isn't true. I thought we could ask for for help by the staff but apparently not. The rooms were good but I didn't think the atmosphere was that good

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

You cant pay with credit card or thats what the owner of the hostel said!! she was very furious because i first contact with her, and then i booked by hostelworld. She speaks just english and is always in bad mood. Is very expensive for what they offer. The breakfast was quiet good, the atmosphere very poor. The bathrooms were not very clean. And the staff doesnt seem organized. The only good thing is the location, 3/4 blocks from the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: Yes you can pay with credit card just in this case, you wanted to each pay with credit card for a 30 reais bill, when it cleary states 50 reais or more, compared to other hostels Mellow Yellow Villa Is fairly priced considering it is located 3 blocks form the copacabana beach, the atmosphere might have been more entertaining if you guys had not stayed in your rooms drinking your own drinks, which is clearly in violation of the hostel rules.

43%

This is by far the worst hostel ive ever stayed at. Unlike what they state in their information section, no maps were provided let alone any helpful information. Staff were very friendly but not at all trained and facilities were below average. Although location was excellent. I would not reccommend staying here.

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but if you had clearly looked at the reception wall of information, there is information on buses, tours, hostel information, a weekly schedule of things to do, sites to book plane and bus reservations and YES a large map of Rio de Janeiro.

89%

Not too bad. I enjoyed staying there but it was not convenient to go through the bar to get to the bathroom , the same thing for the shower. They had some work done on the property at that time. Breakfast was not as great as other hostels in the area . great location.


100%

If you are here, just extend your stay daily, because they don't have refund policy. For example if you paid more than 1 day and you changed your mind and you want to leave earlier, they don't refund you fully. The rest everything is ok.


43%

It was expensive for a dorm with no sheets and a broken bed. The staff were drunk when we arrived and the toilet/shower was downstairs through the bar passed the kitchen out the back courtyard. Photos are a sham and are not real. Stay away from this hell hole

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: On arrival and during your check in, you were informed that the hostel is do reforming especially for the new bathrooms upstairs, thus being why the back bathroom were the only available pics aren't up to date do to reforming, so if a hell hole consists of a clean place, cheap drinks in the bar, an all you can eat breakfast, safe security, a 3 block walk from the beach, free wifi, a great atmosphere, well maybe next time you should stay in Copacabana Palace Hotel, thank you

69%

The bathrooms are terribly uncomfortable we just didn´t fit in then ... and there are just 2 for everyone

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: Sorry about the bathrooms but on arrival you were told that the hostel has been reforming for the past month installing a large new bathroom up stairs for the high season, which will have bathrooms and showers for everyone in the hostel with pleanty of space, thank you

60%

!!! If you don't smoke or don't like 2nd hand smoking- DO NOT STAY HERE- you can't escape it. It's really horrendous, smoking inside and every outside area. At breakfast, pretty much in kitchen, and smelt in every room. I guess if you smoke it'd be a ok place to stay. But facilities average as doing renos which they don't say until you're there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Management: we are sorry about the smoking,but in the hostel smoking is only allowed in the back hallway and the areas outside no where else,the smell of smoke travels because a large majority of are guests smoke,and of course smoke sticks to clothing and among other things also,as you know most guests come back after a party and normally don`t shower. Again very sorry about the smoke but as a traveler you should get used to it due to the fact that most people who stay in hostels smoke,Thank you

100%

This is a great hostel, there were works going on when we were there last, but it was compensated for in price and staff atmosphere and understanding. Great location right down the road from the beach, great cafés just around the corner. Rooms and good with nice beds. Breakfast is very good, lots of facilities and variety. Staff were awesome here, Michael is fantastic, very helpful and great fun! Top man. Tori, Sarah and Tony were great too, so glad we met them! Would definitely recommend here!


100%

Staff will go out their way to accommodate you. Tulio, ryan, Hugh and tony are all great guys. Nice hostel, no complaints. Seems strange that rating is so low, this is a 90% hostel


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(139 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback