Hostelworld.com

Memory Guesthouse JB

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
Memory Guesthouse JB Located at 2H Jalan Inche Besar Zubaidah Off Lorong 4, Jalan Yahya Awal, Johor Bahru.
Memory Guesthouse JB
Malaysia
Johor Bahru 80100 2H Jalan Inche Besar Zubaidah Off Lorong 4, Jalan Yahya Awal
87% 105
1.4663430 103.7510740
Memory Guesthouse JB
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th May 2016
7.1

Not a bad word can be said about Roger or his cats. He is there for all his guests and his cats will probably check up on you in the night too. The main dorm is essentially two rows of cot-like beds in a long room which you access directly from the front door - which I'm not entirely sure is ever locked. As such security was lacking although you do get a bedside locker. Towels are free of charge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
10.0

The story begins with an old man and his two cats. Roger took over this hostel about eight months ago and wow, you can tell he understands the concept of hostels and travelers better than a lot of hosts. His home is your home. What JB lacks for in sights, Memory Guesthouse makes up for in that feeling of security, home, and community. I thoroughly enjoyed this little oasis in the barren desert and met many friendly travelers, which is also part of the backpacking experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

Owner was very friendly! Room was basic but cheap. We had a good stay! Would recommend. Although, it was a bit out of the way.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2016
9.7

Roger (the host) is an incredibly warm and hospitable person, who likes and cares for his guests and is a great partner for an interesting conversation. The conditions in his hostel are rather basic but everything a traveller needs is provided and the atmosphere there is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
10.0

I will definitely go back another time. I am very happy to stay in. Roger is very friendly. ^^

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2016
7.4

Kitchen equipment needs a deep clean, but the owner is new and working hard on making the place great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2016
9.7

It was great to stay at memory guets house JB. Roger much friendly, kind and very help full. i like his hospitality. Absolutly, i will recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2016
10.0

Excellent! Roger is a gem and his hostel is really friendly, for 4€ you can not beat that! Best place to chill after the craziness of Singapore!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Autumo
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
2nd Jan 2016
7.4

We loved our stay at Memory guesthouse! Roger, the owner, definitely made a huge impression on myself and my friend and his hospitality and kindness made our stay. The location is a nice walk from JB Sentral and close to a really delicious + cheap restaurant (ask Roger for the name). All in all, I would definitely stay here again if I were to go back to Johor Bahru. Thanks Roger :D

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Dec 2015
8.9

We enjoy the time in memory guesthouse.roger is one of this person, what give you the felling that you come home and he is an interesting person.when you look for a cheap and lovely hostel go there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.