Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Meramees Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 818 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 818 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
10.0

They made us feel at home right from the beginning. What sticks out and says a lot about this place and the staff is what they told me on the first day; 'This is your new home, this is our number, call us anytime from anywhere here in Egypt. We are here for you.' That is why I come back to this place. Not to mention the facilities, excellent location and the atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
10.0

I have to say the owner is really kind. He will tell you the way to the church the halili market and how much to pay by taxi. The location is in the city center, just ten minutes’ walk to Egyptian museum. Even the bathroom is a little small, it’s clean. The breakfast is 3 pieces of bread with butter、jam and a cup of coffee.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

The Meramees Hostel and staff were definitely one of my favorite things about my trip to Egypt. The staff are friendly, welcoming, helpful and fun. The hostel has a nice social area, comfortable beds, hot showers, clean, centrally located, close to some good places to eat and offers a basic breakfast in the morning. They helped me out with booking and any information I needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
10.0

Concierge was extremely helpful and arranged everything i need with a good quality choice and price , perfect location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jan 2017
7.4

Booked a double room but got a 6 bed dorm to ourselves instead. Good location and free airport pickup was a plus. Staff were pushy with the tours that they were offering, to the point that you felt intimidated when discussing alternatives with other travellers. Definitely couldn't get unbiased advice. We booked an airport transfer at the end of our stay, another guest was going at the same time but staff insisted on charging us both the full amount for 1 car. Anything to get an extra $

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
7.7

Location of the hostel is really central. The room was a bit cold in the morning. The shared bathroom was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
7.4

Was disappointing to realise that these guys are just after your money, I found out that the other hostels and agencies have the same tours in HALF price, including airport pick up , are very pushy about the tours and one of the guys extremely pushy when asking for the money , like if you were going to run away. Rooms , breakfasts and shower nice and clean thou. I complain about the tour prices and they gave me my money back , I just want to warn other travelers , was Hard to trust these guys.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
17th Jan 2017
7.1

Location was good, walking distance from the Egyptian museum & the markets. I got weird vibes from the hostel, the female staff members were lovely but the main guys behind reception just seemed to be about the money & weren't helpful when trying to organise anything outside of the hostels profit margins. Beds had power points & bathrooms were pretty clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
8.9

Quite a nice hostel. Security is pretty good; not a place many people are just going to wander up or into and rooms lock. Location isn't great; lots to eat, Metro close and so on. Staff is very friendly. The tours are typical tourist prices, but if that's fine with you, they're happy to help book. Decent atmosphere; good conversation and place to chill. Pretty clean and saw them do a deep clean on the bathroom, so it isn't neglected. WiFi can be quite flaky, but not horrendous. Good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
9.4

This is a great place to stay within the center of Cairo, close to the museum and other attractions. Especially when using Meramees as a home base for excursions and such. The staff, and Ahmed, were very helpful in planning my trips to the pyramids, overnight in the desert and 3 night Nile cruise, and also an airport pickup from a delayed evening flight. And I was grateful to Ahmed (the driver/bodyguard/know everyone kind of man) who waited two hours outside the gate at the airport. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.