Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Meramees Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jun 2017
10.0

Great hostel in downtown Cairo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
8.0

The staff was great! I loved that they have their own drivers which you can hire. It was really nice to have a balcony which overlooked streets. The location is good because its walking distance to several stores and restaurants. The building is not very nice or clean but my room (I got a private) was very, very clean and good sized. The common area was cool, it had a TV and balcony which was nice. Bathrooms were also decent. Only thing is that its located RIGHT NEXT DOOR to a mosque.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2017
7.7

We only stayed one night. It was okay for the night (a double private room). We didn't get to check the breakfast but the person at the desk was very kind. Watch out if you're claustrophobic or afraid of elevators for lots and lots of stairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved this place! Great friendly staff and an awesome location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Exactly what I hoped for. Awesome room had more than was advertised, might even call it luxurious. Beautiful old building right in downtown Cairo, so close to the cool stuff. 5 minute walk to the museum. Nice common room and little balcony, and all totally secure. Security cameras have every angle on the front. Migu was nice and helpful, they know the good deals at the nice spots. Ended up staying longer, would definitely stay here again, glad I booked this with hostelworld so I could review!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
10.0

Great staff and very close to the center of the city, the room and bathrooms were clean and made up for us when we arrived, really accommodating and helpful staff that helped us find where we needed to go and gave us great advice against the tourist traps and all for an amazingly price, would absolutely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
10.0

Very velana and comfortable hostel, very helpful and courteous staff. The tours to the pyramids and Luxor arranged by hostel were great too. Everything was at Meramees from the start. I highly recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
8.6

Really glad to have stayed 4 times at this hostel (Luxor, Aswan, Herghuda and Alexandria in between). The staff is welcoming, understanding and professional. 24/24 reception. The common room is spacious, good beds, clean linen, fridge and a/c at the rooms. Thank you guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • RyanJ15
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th May 2017
10.0

Couldn't have picked a better a hostel to stay in in Cairo. All of the staff made it feel like a home far away from home, especially Migo! There airport pickup service is great. They can also arrange great tours of things around the area with awesome trustworthy people who speak great English. The rooms are spacious and the air conditioning is as good as it gets. The location is very convenient and never did I once feel unsafe. I'm glad I chose to spend my time in Cairo at the Meramees hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
3.4

The shower was clogged and room was a bit dirty. The 3day tour was the worst thing I ever experienced in my life. All three of us got food poisoning and were unhappy with the trip. Will never be back to Egypt and will warn!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.