Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Meramees Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 867 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 867 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
10.0

The best hostel in Cairo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
9.1

Great location. Close to good food and the Egyptian Museum. Staff was very helpful, and definitely great value for your money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Somos estudiantes en italia y quisimos pasar una semana en el Cairo.Estuvimos viendo las opciones en hostel world y decimos optar Meramees Hostal por que los comentarios eran muy interesantes. Les recomendamos tomato la option del taxi desde el aeropuerto al hostal porque es la opcion mas comoda y economica. Cuando llegamos al hostal la reception fue excelente la gente aca es demasiado formal principalmente ahmed&migo. Las habitaciones son muy limpias y comodas. Los comentarios no se equivocaron

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
7.1

My time in Cairo has been very good. The hostel is ok even if it is located in a building which would need some maintenance. Overall a very good experience as the staff has been just great doing their best to make my staying as much comfortable as possible. I'd rather stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel. Incredible value for money. Guys who work there are really chilled - they were really relaxed about when i could settle my account. They arranged a driver for me for the day to go to the pyramids. Although it was slightly more expensive than if you got an uber / careem, it would still good value since the driver would wait for you at each pyramid site, and give you good advice. Location couldnt be better

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Without a doubt one of the best hostels in Cairo! The staff speaks English well and are there to help you without their own agenda, which can't be said for most hostels in Egypt. Great atmosphere, and a great place to even just spend the day or agmfternoon at after a long week of sight seeing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
6.0

Staff were really friendly and common room had all the football matches. Atmosphere totally non existent here were no card nights pub crawls or anything like that despite it being fully booked the hostel was like a ghost town. I was also 'upgraded' to a single room that stank of mould and the ceiling was covered in damp. I got bitten by some insect either from the old almost grey matress or an insect that flew in in the night. Definite potential, great value and nice staff but dirty, so is Cairo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
9.1

I had a great time at Meramees Hostel. The staff are particularly helpful. They helped me arrange train tickets to Luxor and a guide for the sights there. Could I have found that cheaper than I paid? Probably. But if you're pressed for time and don't mind paying a bit extra (really not huge amounts), the help they provide is worth it. Staff members are also quick to talk with guests on a friendly level. Ahmed, Lobna, and Mohammed all made my stay very memorable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
9.1

Great place to stay, the staff is very friendly and helpful! The tours are great (a little bit overpriced, but you get the best experience).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
10.0

We had a great stay at Meramees Hostel! Great staff, super friendly, helpful with info about travelling throughout the country, accommodating also (they switched our reservation to fit our needs). Wifi is good, breakfast is great (coffee, tea, eggs, cheese and TONS of bread, you won't go hungry that is for sure). Would definitely recommend as a good spot to stay downtown Cairo, and walkable distance from good spots, restaurants, museum, ect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.