Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Meramees Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 921 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 921 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
7.7

Security was excellent with cameras. Everything was always clean. Bathrooms are clean but unusual how there is no curtain, basin, or nearby drain for the shower. Water gets everywhere. Atmosphere is not great to meet other travellers but comfortable. Not located in a very safe part of Cairo. The staff were superb and were always helpful when we wanted to order food because we felt uncomfortable going out in the evening. Very close to Tahrir square and Egyptian museum though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • markmingura217987
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2017
10.0

Was picked up at the airport at 3am and given an upgraded private room for two nights at no extra charge. I was in Egypt for 7 days and the reception recommended I go on a Nile river cruise for 4 days/3 nights for $350 which was more than I planned to spend but it was definitely worth it! Included transportation/meals and guides to some temples. Definitely would not have seen as much of Egypt without it. They even took me back to the airport when I left! Meramees was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Amazing location. Very convenient. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
10.0

Really good place and incredible location. Staff is very helpful and kind. I recommended it a 100%

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Meramees was awesome. We stayed for 10 days of our 30 day stay in Egypt. Room was clean and spacious with good airconditioning. Big thanks to all the staff for their help during our stay, Ahmed, Osa, Migo, Bisho were all very friendly and there was always someone available at reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
10.0

Great hostel in downtown Cairo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
8.0

The staff was great! I loved that they have their own drivers which you can hire. It was really nice to have a balcony which overlooked streets. The location is good because its walking distance to several stores and restaurants. The building is not very nice or clean but my room (I got a private) was very, very clean and good sized. The common area was cool, it had a TV and balcony which was nice. Bathrooms were also decent. Only thing is that its located RIGHT NEXT DOOR to a mosque.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2017
7.7

We only stayed one night. It was okay for the night (a double private room). We didn't get to check the breakfast but the person at the desk was very kind. Watch out if you're claustrophobic or afraid of elevators for lots and lots of stairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved this place! Great friendly staff and an awesome location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Exactly what I hoped for. Awesome room had more than was advertised, might even call it luxurious. Beautiful old building right in downtown Cairo, so close to the cool stuff. 5 minute walk to the museum. Nice common room and little balcony, and all totally secure. Security cameras have every angle on the front. Migu was nice and helpful, they know the good deals at the nice spots. Ended up staying longer, would definitely stay here again, glad I booked this with hostelworld so I could review!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.