X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mercaderes Backpackers Reviews

c/ Mercaderes 135-A, Cercado, Arequipa, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
311 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Cutest little dog, breakfast is on the roof top with great views of the city, also hammocks on the roof top to chill out. Great place.


91%

Great location, near the main square. The tour they offered to the Colca Canyon was really good. Would go back.


83%

The hostel is on the main pedestrianised shopping street above some stylish shops a literal stone's throw from the main square. It's very clean and spacious, with the best WiFi I've experienced in Peru so far. Could make much more of the terrace, but it's still a great place to watch the sun go down. Don't be fooled by the cute dog that runs around, it tries to hump everything that moves.


100%

I stayed in this hostel twice. Dorm room was clean, bright, with lockers. Comfortable bed and pillow. Toilets were clean. Friendly and helpful staff. I booked day tour and bus at a very last minute and they helped to arrange everything. Colca canyon day trip with them was excellent. Great breakfast with options of bread and egg or pancake. Wifi worked well. And location... very close to main square, close to supermarket, fast food chains, cafes


100%

Great location, great service, friendly staff!

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Breakfast is nice - eggs or pancakes. Upstairs terrace is a construction zone and doesn't look as though it is going to be finished anytime soon. The hostel doesn't have much vibe. Good if you just want to relax though. Unfortunately no hot water in the showers for three days we spent there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that you liked our breakfast.During those days that you were staying in our hostel,in Arequipa city the water utility authority decided to do some cleaning therefore in the whole city we didn't have water;we provided water for our hostel but the hot water was limited.We explained this to all our guests.This was temporary.The terrace is almost done we invite you to come back.Maybe you were looking for a party hostel,sorry you didn't enjoy your staying with us like most of our guests

97%

This is a great hostel for the money. The location can not be beat. It's right in the heart of the city and in a safe location. The breakfast is delicious. The staff are nice and a few English speakers that made communicating seamless. Love this place and would recommend to all!!


63%

Nice staff. Not enough lockers for people in dorm room. Everything promised to us was not actually what we got - no breakfast and everything was under construction, so there was no atmosphere. The construction was very loud.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review, in the week you were in the hostel had a super cheap promotion S/16.00 soles for the 10 beds dorm, because we were building a new room but it is true, was not included breakfast, now the dorm its normal price of S/22.0 soles and the breakfast is included(banana pancakes or scrambled eggs included juices and hot drinks),we have 12 lockers in the dorm sorry if other people use more than usual after all hostel facilities are operating normally,kitchen.games tv,wi-fi etc.

97%

Fantastic hostel! They were very accommodating and chilled out. We did a two day canyon trip and they were more then happy to let us have a shower and chill out there for a few hours before we took the night bus. Definitely would recommend.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice Hostel, and realy close to plaza de Armas!


83%

Really nice hostel, family owned, fresh pancakes for breakfast-(included)! Great location! Great view from rooftop! I feel like it's not finished, just the rooftop part, seemed unfinished! Would stay again for definite!


100%

Great hostel! We spent a week here and had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect - right in the middle of everything. A quiet hostel, the perfect place to relax and feel at home - especially on the roof top patio with hamacs and a view of mountains and volcanos. The staff is very helpful and do everything they can to make your stay pleasant. Furthermore, the hostel is clean and the breakfast is delicious - with a choice of eggs or pancakes. We definitely recommend it!




View all Arequipa Hostels

Please give us your feedback