X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mercaderes Backpackers Reviews

c/ Mercaderes 135-A, Cercado, Arequipa, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
326 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very well located hostel just 1 block to Plaza de Armas and in Mercaderes street which is full of stores and bars. The hostel has a very nice terrace to relax with a great view of the city. Rooms are ok, I stayed in one with curtains in each bed and with your own lamp and plug. Really a quiet hostel. I would really recommend it.


89%

Great location! From the roof terrace can you look over plaza del armas. Everything was great. Maybe the kitchen could been a bit better

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location and helpful staff. The curtains around the bed gives a feeling of privacy. Unfortunately the showers were extremely cold during my stay, but besides that everything was good! Nice breakfast too :)


97%

Great atmosphere and nice people! We booked our trip to colca canyon also at the hostel. Hot showers most of the time, good wifi. We recommend staying there ;)


80%

slow internet


77%

internet was slow and nossey because de rooms are at te enterance. Breakfast very good. No windows in the room..


94%

Loved this place. Staff are very friendly and helpful and always smiling, anything from bus tickets to tours can be arranged. It's very clean, the beds are comfy and large and have privacy curtains. Hot water was always available, breakfast was good and the view from rooftop is amazing, and there are hammocks. Location, it's right next to the mains square, close to everything yet not noisy. I highly recommend Mercaderes, one of the best hostels I have stayed in!


86%

This hostel is in a great location, really close to shops, restaurants, the Plaze de Armas and museums. It's a pretty quiet place, good for relaxing but not so much for meeting people. Showers were hot and breakfast was good. Staff were also very helpful.


91%

Great location, very helpful staff. Nice roof terrace and really good breakfast. Also cute little dog!


89%

I would stay at this hostel again. The common areas are very spacious and welcoming. I especially enjoyed the hammocks on the roof! Luggage storage was not the most secure, but my things were ok during their stay. Great location right off the Plaza de Armas.


86%

Cutest little dog, breakfast is on the roof top with great views of the city, also hammocks on the roof top to chill out. Great place.


91%

Great location, near the main square. The tour they offered to the Colca Canyon was really good. Would go back.


83%

The hostel is on the main pedestrianised shopping street above some stylish shops a literal stone's throw from the main square. It's very clean and spacious, with the best WiFi I've experienced in Peru so far. Could make much more of the terrace, but it's still a great place to watch the sun go down. Don't be fooled by the cute dog that runs around, it tries to hump everything that moves.


100%

I stayed in this hostel twice. Dorm room was clean, bright, with lockers. Comfortable bed and pillow. Toilets were clean. Friendly and helpful staff. I booked day tour and bus at a very last minute and they helped to arrange everything. Colca canyon day trip with them was excellent. Great breakfast with options of bread and egg or pancake. Wifi worked well. And location... very close to main square, close to supermarket, fast food chains, cafes


100%

Great location, great service, friendly staff!


66%

Breakfast is nice - eggs or pancakes. Upstairs terrace is a construction zone and doesn't look as though it is going to be finished anytime soon. The hostel doesn't have much vibe. Good if you just want to relax though. Unfortunately no hot water in the showers for three days we spent there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that you liked our breakfast.During those days that you were staying in our hostel,in Arequipa city the water utility authority decided to do some cleaning therefore in the whole city we didn't have water;we provided water for our hostel but the hot water was limited.We explained this to all our guests.This was temporary.The terrace is almost done we invite you to come back.Maybe you were looking for a party hostel,sorry you didn't enjoy your staying with us like most of our guests

97%

This is a great hostel for the money. The location can not be beat. It's right in the heart of the city and in a safe location. The breakfast is delicious. The staff are nice and a few English speakers that made communicating seamless. Love this place and would recommend to all!!


63%

Nice staff. Not enough lockers for people in dorm room. Everything promised to us was not actually what we got - no breakfast and everything was under construction, so there was no atmosphere. The construction was very loud.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review, in the week you were in the hostel had a super cheap promotion S/16.00 soles for the 10 beds dorm, because we were building a new room but it is true, was not included breakfast, now the dorm its normal price of S/22.0 soles and the breakfast is included(banana pancakes or scrambled eggs included juices and hot drinks),we have 12 lockers in the dorm sorry if other people use more than usual after all hostel facilities are operating normally,kitchen.games tv,wi-fi etc.

97%

Fantastic hostel! They were very accommodating and chilled out. We did a two day canyon trip and they were more then happy to let us have a shower and chill out there for a few hours before we took the night bus. Definitely would recommend.


100%

Nice Hostel, and realy close to plaza de Armas!


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Arequipa Hostels

Please give us your feedback